August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hiding in Plain Sight (#HidingInPlainSight)

by SanguineTheSecond - Jam Entry

Hiding in Plain Sight is an experimental, social puzzle game where the player has to hide abstract characters in an abstract level, of which a screenshot will be uploaded to Twitter. (with your permission). Your followers will then try to find your character and yell at how much you suck at hiding things.

Notes:

Mouse to move, you have to unpack the game or you will not be able to upload the screenshot (I think).

Also, you should tweet all your screenshots with #HidingInPlainSight

Made in 1 hour with GM8.1

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#175Innovation(Jam)3.25
#462Fun(Jam)2.47
#517Overall(Jam)2.56
#550Graphics(Jam)2.27
#1563Coolness32%

Comments

Hitagi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:22pm

Awesome - I find them only 20 sec later on the screenshot - I am so bad XD The game ist superfun but too fast for me :(

dom2d says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Great idea!

mochalematazi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:57pm

This was adorable! I couldn't find anything though, it's too hard, haha. Just a note, the twitter thing might be a turn off for most people.

Catmoo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Haha I thought it was the other way round when I looked at your game first time round. It's an interesting concept though.

I was slightly disappointed though as I did a great one, but then did another one and didn't realise it overwrites the screenshot file when you do a new one .__.

Otherwise awesome idea, nice and different :)

Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:02am

5/5 for innovation, excellent idea to integrate twitter to your game.

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:08pm

Does this seriously require a twitter account? Like mochalematazi said, this is a turn off.

neekobus says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:12pm

Nice idea. You have to make a web version of this !

Puzzlem00n says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Heheh, cool. Although I'd rather you save the screenshot in a more obvious place and let me upload it myself rather than with twitpic.

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Real innovative! Like it when you interact with lots of people like that..

doonay21 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:22pm

HAHA! Very very nice idea. I could not find anything :P

Spiridios says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Odd concept. Marks for integrating social networking, though having options other than twitter would be nice.

It needs a way to place the picture early instead of requiring that I hold the mouse still until the time is up. The built-in browser you're using is kinda bad. Might be better to just open the URL for twitpic and let the player's regular browser handle that aspect.

Thanks to everyone who actually posted to twitter so that even those who don't use twitter can see that side of the game.

Almax27 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:03pm

Not using twitter =/

Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:55pm

The idea seems interesting, but the "does require twitter" is a serious turn-off :(

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]