August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10Life

by SkyTheCoder - Jam Entry

10Life is a quick game I coded up with a guy in a post-apocalyptic room with infinite waves of zombies coming at him. You drag from the character in the center of the screen to where you want him to go, and use a second finger to aim and shoot zombies. You start out with ten seconds to play and collect stars for ten more seconds. You get a total of 240 points for killing each zombie, and you can tell how much health a character has by their tint. The more red the less health.

Note: This app was made entirely on iPad with an awesome app called Codea, which lets you code in Lua. This is my first entry and first time exporting code from Codea, so I'm not too sure on how the download links work. I'll try my best, though.

Video: (As requested by Tork)
http://youtu.be/yHn0shhCd2o

Made by one 12-year-old in 21 hours.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#356Graphics(Jam)3.00
#380Humor(Jam)2.05
#457Audio(Jam)2.09
#501Fun(Jam)2.36
#509Theme(Jam)2.56
#509Mood(Jam)2.19
#510Innovation(Jam)2.36
#511Overall(Jam)2.59

Comments

Tork says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:01am

make a gameplay video I got no Ipad! (please)

SkyTheCoder says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:19am

I added a video to the description.

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:20am

Seems very slow paced, I don't know if that's intended. It would benefit greatly if it had a bit of music also. Cool idea to make the enemies turn red when they are almost dead.

Classic gameplay. Looks fun, but as I said it would be a bit better if it was faster and maybe more ennemies.

SkyTheCoder says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:37am

Custom sounds aren't built in to Codea yet, they're coming in the next update. Currently there's only the built-in sound() function, which uses custom wavelengths and stuff. I have no idea how to use it, but currently you can't import sound.

I was worried the characters would be too fast. Now that I look back, though, it is quite slow. And I found out about LD 27 late, and I started coding immediately. When I checked the website today it said I had about an hour and a half, and I hadn't even implemented the stars. I just had time to finish that and I posted it. If only I had more time, I would have had more enemies. Maybe I'll work on that as a separate project...

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:27am

12 years old? Great job then. Speed it up a bit and I'd love it even more.

wally2069 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:34am

Yeah, the slow character feels like a drag

Croze says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:38am

It was really just collect stars and constantly shoot the same enemy... But for 21 hours and being that young it's awesome

juaxix says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:23am

well done! add explosions ,particles and speed it up, i love it ,those little zombies look cool. max points!

Starspell says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:46pm

First off I'm looking wholly at the video since I don't own an iPad. The graphics look good but the speed of the game is incredibly slow. It also takes forever to kill enemies. The bullets also seem to be going through the enemies, which is odd... unless they were LASER BEAMS!

Well done for getting in an entry, looks pretty solid. Just a shame we can't play it for ourselves.

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:42pm

The player moves a bit slow but the graphics style is rather interesting, it's simple but looks good.

Vasileiadis says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Wow dude, when I was 12 I was.. well.. nevermind ;) What I wasn't doing though was entering game jams! Great job for a first entry!

A couple of pointers, if I may:

Faster (not harder though) gameplay, a simple silly dying animation and a repetitive background loop are easy ways to makes it more addictive!

Gameplay shouldn't be too repetitive - add different waves, a boss or whatever, they don't have to be hard to make, just make them faster, bigger, tougher - and reward more points ;)

A simple, even silly, story like "Make it to the end to save your family" can help people immerse more in the game.

Other than that, it's fun and a really great start as I see it! Keep it up :)

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:42pm

Watched the gameplay vid since no ipad so that kind of stinks! But the game seemed pretty fun would be addicting getting more time and trying to kill the zombies! There was no audio which is a downer but it seems like it has potential!

Zekyon says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:42pm

12 years old, serious? and I thinking that am special by having 15. Good job, if you practise more can do really good games :)!

Mesene says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:37pm

Keep working on it :) be proud of it

Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:24am

Sweet little game :) Congratulation !

PaperBlurt says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:54pm

I like it when people submit games that's on the "standard" platform..

gmaker says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 11:27am

cute graphics!!! really cool game!! GREAT JOB!

urth says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 2:49am

Waiting for your next LD.........

Sep 11, 2013 @ 3:49pm

"A post-apocalyptic room", hehe. :D Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]