August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

A Maze Thing

by TeamAMazeThing - Jam Entry

Aliens are kidnapping your crew! Explore the space ship and lead them to safety! But beware, your scanners are malfunctioning and will only update your map every 10 seconds - and enemies might lurk behind every corner.

Created by Christian Reuter, Florian Mehm, Moritz Neeb, Stefan Huebecker, Viktor Wendel at the Multimedia Communications Lab (http://www.kom.tu-darmstadt.de) at TU Darmstadt. Enjoy!

------------------------------

Sources used:

Base-Mesh for victims: http://opengameart.org/content/male-human-low-poly-base-under-1000-polys - www.amon.co

Many Assets: Angry Bots Demo, Unity Technologies http://u3d.as/content/unity-technologies/angry-bots/2aL

Skybox generated using SpaceScape http://alexcpeterson.com/spacescape
A* algorithm by Aron Granberg
http://arongranberg.com/astar/

"Forgotten Victory", "Space Music Out There" and "Searching" by yd

http://opengameart.org/content/forgotten-victory

http://opengameart.org/content/space-music-out-there

http://opengameart.org/content/searching

"The Orchs are Coming" by shalpin

http://opengameart.org/content/the-orchs-are-coming

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#169Mood(Jam)3.24
#208Graphics(Jam)3.59
#215Audio(Jam)3.05
#315Innovation(Jam)2.93
#325Overall(Jam)3.04
#425Humor(Jam)1.86
#446Fun(Jam)2.52
#545Theme(Jam)2.38

Comments

juaxix says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:27am

Amazing, that's a good looking level creator. Would you like to share the script?

fgielow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:51am

I really liked the programatic approach to generate the level xD

Larzan says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:02am

Interesting idea, well made, only a bit laggy when light comes into view?

RennFarnell says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:04am

i dont know where the 10 seconds were, but i liked the game :D

RennFarnell says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:04am

oh it was the radar, ofc, yh that radar was awesome too!

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:08am

Love procedural content :)

Dry Tree says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:09am

Nice game, good work. The lighting is great and the game certainly feels moody :) I found it a bit difficult - it often felt like I was getting hit without any warning, so maybe add some sound effect for when aliens are very near and/or when you're losing health? I also had some performance issues with this - quite a choppy frame-rate on both the web player and the downloaded windows version - but I've never had problems before with other Unity games. Still, great job overall - well done

Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:15pm

as requested, here you can find the script which creates the random maze:
http://www.kom.tu-darmstadt.de/~vwendel/RandomMap.cs

However, be warned, it needs serious refactoring, right now it is pretty much spaghetti code.
I did, however, take some time to add a lot of comments in order to explain the functionality.

Basically, the script randomly places rooms in a predefined raster.
Then each room seeks its 'n' closest neighbors.
After that, links are build between neighboring rooms going from left to right.
Next, overlapping halls are replaced with crosses, tCrosses and corners based on neighboring halls.
Fianlly, an adjacency matrix is calculated for each room, cross, and tCross which is used for pathfinding later.

You can specify the number of neighbors, each room establihes a connection to. If this number is too low, it is possible that some rooms are not connected as this is not checked yet.

Mironix says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:17pm

My framerate dropped like crazy when looking at some directions. Very nice map design, and rich "world".

doonay21 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:28pm

Moody game. Music sounds great. Good job!

yagiz says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:43pm

I also had fps problems looking at ~90 degrees left from the starting rotation.

The map creation is interesting and the radar reminded me of the old AvP games, where the aliens could jump on you in between the updates.

Some notes: It took some time for me to recognize the doors (maybe something more distinct or slightly larger activation zones). And the HUD on top right did not fit with the rest of the visuals.

Good job.

imef says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:47pm

Very interresting concept! Nice use of the 10 seconds.

Split82 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:45am

Can't play this. Runs under 5 FPS on my computer :(

haloflooder says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:02am

I liked the soundtrack, it fit in nicely for a space related game. The FPS is a bit low for some reason. It could just be the web version. I also noticed the 10 seconds was the refresh rate for the mini-map. it was an interesting concept.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:13pm

Cool graphic and mood! I feel some terrible big idea!

Lidfrid says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:56pm

You spent so much effort in the generation of the room, but you didn't think about the camera. It's too fast, i can't enjoy the game because of that...

porglezomp says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:08pm

It's too laggy to play for very long for me, but I like the map generation a lot.

Codexus says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Nice graphics, I had pretty much no idea what I was doing though. There should be some indication of where I am on the minimap.

ZYXer says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:26am

Wow! Amazing graphics. First LD game where my PC can't keep up. :D The radar map which only updates every 10 seconds need some getting used to, but was a good way to integrate the theme. But overall I'm impressed!

ratking says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:37pm

The concept sounds pretty great. I just had some problems getting orientation in this space station. Due to the lags I often lost the direction I was heading to.
It would be great if the doors you can use have lights, so you needn't try them all, if you lost the orientation. An arrow for the player symbol in the minimap would be great as well.
Great atmosphere. Thrilling!

Zerot says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:27pm

A bit confusing but the visuals were nice. Some parts were lagging for me but I wouldn't dock for that. It could have just been my computer.

ratalaika says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Nice game, quite funny to play!!

Sebby says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 4:11am

Oh this looks so cool! I tried the web version first and the mouse controls were really laggy for me. I thought downloading would help but I had the same problem. :( But still really cool, I liked the idea for the theme a lot, and you all managed to get a lot done over the weekend!

cwkx says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 11:56am

Procedural 3D content is amazingly tough and hard to pull off in such a short amount of time, yet somehow you did it- congrats!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]