August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Insomniac

by AidanAK47 - Jam Entry

A Kinetic novel created using the Ren'Py visual novel engine. The music and sound effects were taken from the visual novel Umineko no naku koro ni.

This horror story involves a college student being tormented by a strange creature that sits in the corner of his room at night.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Mood(Jam)4.44
#31Audio(Jam)3.82
#155Overall(Jam)3.42
#191Fun(Jam)3.17
#287Graphics(Jam)3.28
#347Innovation(Jam)2.84
#583Theme(Jam)1.94
#1613Coolness30%

Comments

Shmarah says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:35am

Playing this at 3:00 AM was a baaaaaad idea, but proves that you have created a fantastic, horrific mood!
I suggest the usage of text tags (especially {w} and {p}) to dramatically break up your longer lines of dialogue, as well as a better point of view/scale when it comes to the graphics? Great writing!

stewthepoo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:59pm

that was amazing! the music actually made my skin crawl.

Epiphane says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:28am

Good god that was terrifying... all that ties it to the theme was 2 words in the whole game, but still. Amazing atmosphere, tension, suspense, and great music & sound. One plot hole (or maybe I overlooked an explanation?) is, why doesn't he just have somebody sleep in the room with him? I'm assuming it would still torment him, only appearing when the other person was asleep or something, but it seemed like the obvious solution to me.

Nevertheless, fantastic spooky game!

paulmcgg says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Interesting horror game, kept me engaged.

I like the shots of house, but could have been more of these, even different ones of the same place from the same POV.

I would have liked if the monster was less in your face, maybe there was something other way you could have done the art for it or meshed better with environment? Sound was well used too (that sound effect damn).

Liked hearing the character's thoughts, more of that and more unusual, atypical stuff.

AidanAK47 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:04am

@Epiphane, good point. I did think of a reason as to why he didn't tell anyone but I didn't think of countering someone being in the same room as him. I should change that after judging is over.
Though I would approach it in a different way that just having it appear when the other person is asleep. I think I will have it that he asks someone to stay in the room but it is at this point where his mentality is slightly unhinged. So rather than the person becoming scared of the thing tormenting the main character, they instead become scared of the main character standing guard with bat in hand. And then leave him to face it alone.

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:40am

scary and fun :3

Arcana says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:06am

Really nice narrative. You can actually infer a lot about the main character based on the way that he was responding to his hallucinations. The artwork, or what we saw of it, was great. I wish the "horror" was a little more abstract early on, we see that it's a bit fuzzy and faded at first before it comes into focus, but it's a bit odd when the character describes it as "a shadow" but you can clearly see a green cloak on top of a character.

I think it's reasonable that he might keep it all to himself - most reasonable people after all don't want to say "I see shadows at night and I'm scared". After all, he didn't tell his flatmate or his family about it, so it might be not his style to talk about these kinds of things to his friends. Perhaps some suggestion that he's a character who doesn't believe in any supernatural phenomena (or possibly mental disorders, though that's a little less PC) would help explain why he wouldn't tell anyone.

Good entry!

blackotus says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:55pm

I really like how moody this is!
It's a great short story, too! Very well told!

Nice work on the narrative and presentation!

Nick Cash says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:06am

A really interesting entry! I didn't know about Ren'Py; I'll have to check it out for my own projects :)

gmaker says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 10:36am

amazing game!! =) GREAT JOB!!!!

zzForrest says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 11:58pm

This game is incredible. It's strangely imersive and gets across the feeling of slowly descending into madness due to a strange shadow in the corner. The theme wasn't really implemented well, because it was only there to tell a bit more story that wasn't necessary, but fortunately this is a great game.

porglezomp says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 2:44pm

That was terrifying. I'm dissapointed that I can't rate this higher for mood, because on the scale I've been rating, this is the highest by FAR. Anyway, it doesn't seem so much like a game, I don't really control anything, but it's absolutely wonderful writing, and it wouldn't work without the images and music.

Sep 15, 2013 @ 12:31am

ok its dialog heavy and took me a long time to get through. That said the mood of the game is tremendous as is the creature

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]