August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


Back to Browse Entries

Network Intrusion

by vulpineblazeyt - Jam Entry

Human! We have discovered a way to Intrude upon Networks using color-matching algorithms, except we lack color vision. Please attempt to gain entry to these nodes for us, and you will be rewarded; As per your customs.
We have made the controls as simple as possible. (Extensive testing was done on a 6 year old Human) Simply click the color you wish the Home tile to be, and as more tiles are added to your blob, try and capture all Exit tiles.

WARNING: It should work on all computers other than HP Pavilions. You will need .NET Framework and Openal (Both installers included in the .zip) If it still doesn't work for you, let me know and I can try to fix it. Thank You for voting!!

Downloads and Links




tylerb1 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:55am

There's not much I can say about this. I don't see how it fits the theme, for one. Second, you didn't explain how to play very well. And third, if I just randomly click, I win every time. Very simplistic graphics, lack of audio. A lot more time probably could have gotten put into this. If you do keep working on it, since it is an interesting concept, you could definitely have a really nice game going. You definitely need to do a lot of work though.

Erhune says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:03am

I admit I didn't really "get" the goal of the game (with the theme, I'd imagine I would have to complete the level in a limited time, but it does not seem to be the case).

Also, I don't have sound even though I installed OpenAL as per the instructions.

The game might just be unfinished, or I'm missing something due to the lack of sound?

I think there could be something interesting to do with this game mechanics, for example having to capture some exit points WITHOUT capturing bombs or some negative tile.

Sinuath says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:12am

I enjoyed it, The mechanic was really cool!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:13am

I couldn't get sound to work quickly so I scrapped it, and I wanted to give it a timer/moves limit (like every 10 seconds you lost a move) but I just ran out of time... I do intend on improving it outside of LD here:

jprogman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:11am

I can't see how this fits the theme of 10 seconds. Is there a time limit for how quick I need to win? I like the concept of painting different colors to capture different areas of the screen. BUT, the game is much too easy to win as I could just click a path to the targets.

djbriandamage says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:02pm

First of all, you're awesome for including installers for the dependencies. Thank you!!

The mechanic shows real promise. I guess all that's missing is a limitation to keep you from winning every time. If you incorporated the 10 second theme I missed it - that would be a perfect way to add some tension. You could also restrict it to a certain number of moves.

In the end I honestly did like your game but I have to dock marks because I don't know how it fits the LD27 theme.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:39am

Didnt relate to the theme, but I liked the game. Very colorful and addicting. I featured this game in my compilation video of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you would like to check it out :)

brobutter says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:26am

i didn't click on the game because i don't trust the website it's hosted on

Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:19pm

I'm still working on Network Intrusion, and I threw together a googlesite for it here:

I'm not using that shady site to host anymore either...

X-0r says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:56pm

I agree to most of the above comments... There's nothing refering to 10 seconds at all, unless there was some clever out-of-the-box connection which I didn't get.
Beating the game is too easy, imo, just click the adjacent pixels again and again until you win. I believe that the other "bases" might have been supposed to take over terrain aswell, but I don't see anything on the screen doing anything :P Also, please try not to force an installer, if possible =/

You must sign in to comment.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]