August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

2621-0321 - Are you ready to explore a laboratory?

by Livsk - Jam Entry

You thought it was the best thing of the world... but then, something seems to happen, and now you are surrounded by destruction.

Remember the memories of when everything was perfect, and discover all the story behind the scenes by decrypting the READ.txt, which is completely in binary code!

To play, simply press SPACEBAR. Yes, that's it. The only thing you need to to is press SPACEBAR... and then escape over a bunch of rooms that, in beginning, does not seem to change a lot. But who knows what you could find beyond the first one, uh?

He's using a mask. Why? Who knows? The only thing we know is that 10 seconds are more than enough to make him "go to a better place". :)

So, try out! :D

By: Mr.Rafael and Livsk
Find us at Game Maker Brasil: http://gmbr.forumeiros.com/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#77Mood(Jam)3.57
#226Audio(Jam)3.00
#235Graphics(Jam)3.48
#393Innovation(Jam)2.72
#411Overall(Jam)2.84
#418Theme(Jam)2.83
#575Fun(Jam)2.04
#1281Coolness45%

Comments

kapoty says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:29am

I could not test the game but the images seem to be good.

pedroka says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Excellent game. Good luck!

Lukbebalduke says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:54pm

I think he need to run ! :/

ramoncb says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:52pm

simple but fun!

I'm a disaster in smash buttons xD (I just keep dying and dying)

parabens! =)

kibertoad says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:23pm

did you reference Ratman's death in portal lore, or is it just me? not very original, but the presentation was nice. would it kill you to add at least some gameplay? there isn't much immersion in this. seems like a waste of skill.

bitserum says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:25pm

Visuals and audio creates nice mood, but gameplay is lacking depth.

Arrow-x says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:06pm

the art and music make this game awsome .... game play is fun too

Arcana says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:31pm

This feels more like a visual novel or an introductory story sequence than a game. It holds a lot of promise but the gameplay is a little shallow. I was playing more to try to make sense of the narrative (the 10 second text and the flashing texts at each screen were great, immersion-wise) as well as the visuals.

I don't know what kind of game this would eventually lead to (probably a platformer?) but I think there's some cool lore potential going on here.

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Nice presentation of your idea, very orginally for me. Good job!

davisan says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:04am

Nice concept! The mood and audio was great!

gmaker says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 10:34am

awesome graphics! excellent game!! Great JOB!

jwolf says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 3:21am

Interesting and very moody piece. The limited game-play actually contributes to that.

lesterpig says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 7:56am

Nice mood ! I loved the "READ.txt" file ;)

Sep 11, 2013 @ 3:57pm

Well, obviously graphics, sound and mood are excellent. And that's about it. Still a nice experience. :) From the 100 games I've tested so far, this is definitely one I'm going to remember.

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 9:26pm

great atmosphere, very creepy. the .txt-file is a nice addition, too.

Oxygamer says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:04pm

You never win ! Hahahahah

Gidaio says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:22am

Wow. A single-button horror game done in the time of a game jam. I applaud you, sirs.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]