August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Charge

by TeamInCharge - Jam Entry

You are bot 101

Every day you do the same boring job
Every day you make the same boring parts

But not today!

Today you are going to escape
And all your friends are coming with you

The only problem is:
Your batteries only last 10 seconds before they need to be recharged...


TeamInCharge is:
Joel van Neerbos: Programming
Arne Bezuijen: Art & Design


Special thanks to:
- Orwell's 1984 for design inspiration (look for the alternative ending if you like the book)
- Hothead's Swarm for crowd control ideas
- Delft University of Technology for providing the Unity Pro license

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#47Graphics(Jam)4.29
#62Overall(Jam)3.73
#63Innovation(Jam)3.60
#73Fun(Jam)3.53
#78Theme(Jam)3.61
#181Mood(Jam)3.21
#243Humor(Jam)2.60
#500Audio(Jam)1.53

Comments

Kikkers says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:30am

Quite a fun game, nice use of the theme. Doesn't have a high score list though, I had 10225.

Supercannon says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:30pm

Cool idea, nice visuals. Good work for a weekend!

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Thought this was excellent. Loved the art style and it was just generally a really fun game to play.

TammiLion says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:33pm

Hele mooie game. 10 seconden vind ik wel net ff wat te lastig maar uiteraard begrijpelijk vanwege het thema ^^

TailyILoveYou says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:33pm

Very creative use of the theme, with fun and simple controls. It could use some sound effects, although not sure if there are some that I had accidentally muted

anjack says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:34pm

Very cool game! The swarm control style is a really fun and interesting concept.

JALgames says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:34pm

Really fun game with very professional graphics and actionfull gameplay.

TeamAlpha says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:41pm

Very nice graphics, good job with the robots and the shadows.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:47pm

Good graphics, i missed music and sounds, the moves are too fast, but anyway i get some fun, good work!

Mesene says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:58pm

So nice! it lacks audio, but everything else is quite good :)
First LD? I hope to see more games from you

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Interesting game, reminds me of a simplified Pikmin when it comes to the controls. The graphics are charming and really well made, thought the game seemed very basic without any sound or music. The controls were smooth as well. Good job!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Super! Nice attention to detail, good work! :D

Zammy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:20pm

Really nice game. I would very much like to see it finished and polished. Keep up the good work!

udo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:23pm

This game is amazingly well done. The graphics, the concept, the gameplay itself - just very very good. Why no music, though? Or at least some sound effects? In any case, this was probably the most fun LD27 entry I played so far. Commanding the robot horde was very cool.

TeamInCharge says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:20am

Thanks for playing and for your comments! We did plan on adding sound effects and music, but we ran out of time... Next time we will give audio a higher priority :)

haxpor says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:18pm

That's funny at first I see those robots recharging battery and fell down into the hole. Polish model and art stuff. FYI: I experienced lagging every now and then when progress through the level (as I have played on web).

Almax27 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:23pm

Nice game, I really like the get cozy/spread mechanic

aayars says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:58pm

Runs too slow to play here, and the window size is larger than my screen.

Looks like it is probably a cool game, but I'll abstain from voting on this one.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Love the ctrl and alt buttons for sticking close and spreading apart. It makes for different strategies, and managing everyone. But the speed is a bit too high. I often spent time crashing into walls.
But overall, its a great concept! You should definitely take this further. If there was sounds in this, I bet it would have been fantastic. But yeah, sound's kind of a luxury in these short jams.

Oxygamer says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:11pm

So nice !!! One of the coolest game in LD. I was inspired !!!

fgielow says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Miss some points improtants, as the time i have before get without energy.
I like the graphics!
Oh, and nice use o the theme in the concept.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:41pm

I love it! Kinda reminds me of Pikmin for some reason. Anyway, great concept, good use of the theme, very nice controls and great level design! Kudos!

gmaker says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 10:14am

greate graphics and idea!! i had nice time! ) good job!

lesterpig says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 9:44am

Really nice work, but really frustrating ;)
Need some sounds :(

wilbefast says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 11:50am

Hmm... the windows is much large than my screen resolution, so I can't so the whole thing :S Also runs very slowly on my computer - Dell Vostro 1510 with 8400M graphics card, Arch Linux 64 bit.

Not currently playable for me I'm afraid :'(

TeamInCharge says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 12:05pm

Again thank you all for playing the game!

A quick note for those having issues with performance: the web version is fixed at one resolution (and your native resolution when switching to full screen) and high detail settings. however the downloadable version has resolution and detail settings so you can tweak them to match your hardware. Also we noticed that some optimus laptops don't switch to the discrete gpu with the web version, while the downloadable version runs just fine.

ZYXer says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 12:06pm

Wow, really awesome game! Nice graphics and well implemented swarm behavior. The controls are a bit hard to master, though.

01rafael says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 12:10pm

super super super! )))
funny game! you must to improve it!
thanks for web version to

Ossi says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:23pm

Great controls and use of the theme! Love the graphics and the grouping mechanics. Really wish there was sound to give it a more machine/robotic feeling as well as hearing those awesome tesla coils! Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]