August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Brainwash

by ShitAndSon - Jam Entry

Brainwash is our first game (A team of 2 french people) and we decided to make it 3D. We used Unity3D and fight a lot to make it work. It's simple but make the simple work was a challenge in itself for us (We never used Unity before). ShitAndSon reflect the composition of the team : One young programmer of 15 years old and his father of 47.
Imagine the brain of a drug addict full of pills. The game offer you the oppurtinity of being a good person by shooting the pills to give this drug addict a chance to come down. But this mad brain and every 10 seconds he will rotate in a random position changing the location of the pills.
(PS: Sorry for the web version)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#99Innovation(Jam)3.48
#176Humor(Jam)2.86
#218Graphics(Jam)3.55
#223Mood(Jam)3.11
#269Audio(Jam)2.90
#403Overall(Jam)2.86
#438Theme(Jam)2.79
#471Fun(Jam)2.45

Comments

Feysoura says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:02pm

If you use unity, why you no html?
Anyway, I really didn't know how to play it but I liked the concept!

SamC says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:05pm

nice concept but very confusing

psychomonster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:15pm

Hey this game feels like a LSD-trip. Good idea but the controlls are confusing me a little bit :)

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Trippy! The shooting could get a bit more work (I tought it wasn't firing at first), but the idea and effects are really cool.

porglezomp says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:13pm

You can have a unity game play directly in the browser by putting it in a dropbox public folder (If you want to try this, consider using my link here: http://db.tt/QSPSy2Uh), right clicking on the html and doing "Copy public link", and then using that link.

I can't get the mac version to work, but if you get an actual web build online I'd love to play this.

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:19pm

Very psychedelic.

Delca says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:30am

At first, I had trouble with shooting the pills ; I thought the biggest pair of "[]" was the zone I was shooting, while it seems to be the inner one.
Even so, the game was fun, and very disorienting indeed. Best I could do was 230 points ; I often tried to shoot pills that were out of reach.
Good work !

Laelien says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:42pm

Amongst the 2200 games submitted, I recognized yours just by the picture. Your acid trip game is just THAT awesome. And in case you're wondering, your random mouse noise fit perfectly. Nice job, both of you, for your first game :)

From the crazy-explosion-lover-dude !

RobotParking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:56pm

WHO WOULD EVER WANT TO COME DOWN? GETWASTE420SMOKEBEER/10

Cthulhu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:38pm

MegaUpload does not work for me.

ShitAndSon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:44pm

Thanks you all for your comments !
Cthulu:
I just tried Mega.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Good idea! (the mac version doesn't work for me under mountain lion)

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Interesting, but I would really suggest using simple fonts because it is very hard to read the one you are using right now.

Reicher says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:22pm

The linux version from mega doesnt work for me, cant open archive=/

PTSnoop says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:23pm

Intriguing graphical style. It wasn't all that clear what the win/lose conditions were, though - is it Game Over after a timer, or after you fail to shoot a certain number of pills?

Beerman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Sound and visuals fit together perfectly, real "bad trip" feel to this. Could do with some kind of indication of when you're firing, I'm another one who thought it wasn't working at first.

ShitAndSon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:16pm

PTSnoop :
At 1 minutes the game stop.
Reicher:
Sorry i just say to my Unity3D to build it, i think it's dont work because of the .rar (I think it's tar.gz for the linux version) i will try to archive it in tar.gz

pvwradtke says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:40am

Why the poor guys has pills inside the brain? :D Weird, but sometime this is what we need for a change :). Question: was moving around intentionally limited? Sometimes there were many pills close together, but no way to reach them.

ShitAndSon says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:15am

pvwradtke:
Infortunately that's not intentionally, the collider of the brain is quit complex and i think that's cause this problem.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:02am

210 points :D I'm not sure if I did well or not, but that was a nice experience ;)

davidwparker says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Mega didn't work for me? Maybe try uploading html version?

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:15pm

Ah web version is a download! :/

Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Really strange atmosphere.

truiton says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:46pm

Comme beaucoup de gens ici j'ai trouvé les contrôles un peu perturbants, mais sinon l'idée est très sympa et les graphismes sont trippants :D
N'hésitez pas à le développer plus, je pense qu'il y a du potentiel pour pas mal de fun ;)
(Oui, vu qu'on parle la même langue, autant l'utiliser. :p )

Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Weird

gmaker says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 10:13am

interesting concept +) but i feel like a lsd)))) great job!!!

Brejlounek says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 4:04pm

Great psychedelic sound and graphics, liked the concept. mouse look should be less limited. Oh, again, taht sound! :D

01rafael says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 12:33pm

seems like big blood vessel in psychodelic style )

Eelfroth says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:42pm

This game is pure delight.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]