August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Origami Wings

by team_cow - Jam Entry

Origami Wings is an atmospheric exploration game with a time limit. The timer resets each time you fly through a ring, extending your visit in this magical world. Choose your path carefully as you may find the rings coming few and far between.

Have a nice journey!

#Update
Thanks all for the kind words.
No content was created before the start of Ludum Dare 27.
We are glad you liked it!


//Team Cow

Markus Oljemark - Programmer
Julita Barkauskaite - Programmer
Jesper Darling Mork - Concept Artist and Musician
Anton Leirnes - Artist
Mert Fornstedt - Artist
Jakob Elldin - Technical Artist


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#27Mood(Jam)3.95
#33Graphics(Jam)4.41
#46Audio(Jam)3.70
#54Overall(Jam)3.76
#174Fun(Jam)3.23
#203Theme(Jam)3.31
#306Innovation(Jam)2.95
#378Humor(Jam)2.06

Comments

nikkesen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Wow, I love your concept! Amazing art. The mechanics are fairly smooth and intuitive. Well done.

anjack says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:27pm

Beautiful graphics and audio! I like that the rings give you a short speed boost so it's more difficult to hit the next ring if you're not lined up correctly ahead of time.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:52am

Wow this desserve much more attention. Sublime game !

Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:23am

Lovely atmosphere! I live the outline-shader, gives this a nice unique feel

Then I flew through the ground into the nirvana.

RadJor says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:26am

Beautiful game. I love some good exploration, and the colors and graphics are great. Of course colliders would be nice :P

igleyy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:36am

Amazing! If you could add collision and better control it would be awesome. Good work :).

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:37am

Love this game. So incredibly chill. The art style and level design are fantastic.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:40am

Absolutely brilliant atmosphere! So sad there had to be a time limit haha.

Zap says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:23am

Nice!
I especially like the bird model and animations, and that it gets darker as your timer reaches zero.

TeamFlare says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:29am

Beautiful style and good controlls :) Plays very smooth. Well done!

Larzan says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:30am

Wow, beatiful concept and design, love it! Although the control of the bird is a bit tedious at times.
Great game!

MatrixBai says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:36am

Really good job! Nice artwork and music.

JimMakesGames says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:40am

That was absolutely beautiful, and addictive! I loved exploring that world. The reward of getting through each ring is getting to see more of it. So good. Love it.

TammiLion says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Wow, this is gorgous. The music is this awesome lullaby. Giving this my highest rating yet ^^ I love it. Makes me dreamy. I only wish that there also were like key controls as playing on my touchpad is difficult.

ratking says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Awww, this is sooo beautiful. I love flying games. reminds me of floating through the wings in Mario 64. And here comes the shit about came constraints - they don't make most games better. So I have to train my skill to see more of the beautiful landscape ;)
I think the line shader is a bit overdone, but I love how the environment got shaded through the distance.

biscuitdough says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:57am

The game is good, but the amount of quality content makes it great, best I've played so far.

Zathalos says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:57am

Awesome game. The music and gameplay was really relaxing. The art had a nice look to it also. Good job.

BenWhi says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:59am

Really gorgeous little game! Graphics had a unique + very attractive style.

kibertoad says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:05am

made me sleepy.

M.O.U says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:07am

I just loved! With a little more visual effects ... but I know, only 3 days. Amazing, the gameplay, graphics and the feeling (the the so far). The collisor are missing i think but still is a great job!

Solifuge says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:33am

What a gorgeous game. I kept trying again to get just a bit farther, and see what was over the next hill. Loved the desert, but a lot of those paths were tricky to spot!

Thank you for sharing that. This is one of my favorite games of LD27.

Solifuge says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:35am

What a gorgeous game. I kept trying again to get just a bit farther, and see what was over the next hill. Loved the desert, but a lot of those paths were tricky to spot!

Thank you for sharing that. Even if flying through rings made me go into a cold sweat from memories of Superman64, this is easily one of my favorite games of LD27.

aschearer says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:38am

Great atmosphere. Controls hampered the experience though.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:21am

What gorgeous graphics! I wish I could just explore without having to worry about the time limit though.
Beautiful work!

kazukishida says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:33am

Terrific atmosphere, absolutely beautiful music, and humongous eye candy! Perfect mood for you man, great game! Reminded me somewhat of thatgamecompany's flower on the PS3. Better controls, UI, and collision detection would make this game perfect! :D

Capro says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:36am

Awesome art and interesting gameplay. Good work!

Venturelli says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:39pm

Love the mood in this. Really relaxing! My best score = 14

loxo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:33pm

I like this game very much! The relaxing music, sound effects and the simple graphics are great. Sadly I had a hard time to control the bird.

RoyBatty says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:37pm

I love the look and feel of this game; with the music, it's incredibly soothing. I could've straight up just flown around. I wouldn't have even cared about the theme. "Oh, the theme was 10 seconds? Whatever; I'm flying through the relaxation zone. Shut up."

ChronusZ says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:37pm

I really, really, really loved the environment you guys made and the artwork. Personally I think I would've preferred for this to be purely exploration, but I understand the need to fit the theme :)

ratalaika says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:44pm

good job

Amber says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:18am

Love the look and sound. I found the controls not as responsive as I would have liked, though, and of course it was little weird that I could fly right through the ground. Beautiful environment, though!

folmerkelly says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:37am

Fucking gorgeous.

team_cow says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:22pm

If you have troubles with the controls, could you tell us what resolution you're running. We have noticed that the controls are less responsive if you have a resolution that differs from what we ran in the editor which is somewhere around 1280x720.

Thanks!

Mironix says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:53pm

Very relaxing game! Not sure if outlines are needed but still pleasent style!

bitserum says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Great mood/graphics/audio, however the controls and lack of collision kinda ruin the fun of exploring

XaiZil says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Was a bit broken at times he'd just divebomb but it was really nice and chilled game

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 10:15pm

lovely graphics and atmosphere. I only wish controlling the bird was more responsive. :)

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 6:48pm

I like the wire frame look of the graphics, and also the way color change in respond to the rings.
Flying into the world is really nice since it seems endless.
I wish your game has a mouse configuration, I keep pointing up to go down.

rxi says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Looks brilliant from the screenshots -- I'd really appreciate a Linux build if that isn't too much hassle?

Zerkruemler says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Very cool graphics and sound. I like the idea of just exploring the world. I get confused when I fly through the walls and the game is usualy over then...

blackotus says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 7:57pm

The game is very pretty, I really like the bird model, and how far you can go in the scenery.

Nice entry :)

Soundless_dev says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Wow this is just beautiful. Fantastic artwork. So relaxing, and perfect music for the experience. I'ma keep this one. Good work

Will Edwards says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 5:28am

So super peaceful! Love the look and feel! Collision would make a lot of difference. And there were no instructions! The general 10 second thing really curtailed the enjoyment for me, and an 'unlimited' mode or explore mode would have perhaps made people stay longer?

Per says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 11:26am

Very beautiful!
The graphics and music was fantastic.
Well done!

urth says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 1:23am

How did you build this huge world in 72 hours.
Unless you have it from another project which is fine for the Jam rules.
Anyway! Loved it!

DreamTeam says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 9:07pm

HUUUUGE world with smooth controls, great audio, and a pleasing aesthetic. I was able to make it to 30 after a few tries, but I got lost. It would be nice to have some kind of speed boost every 10 rings that you could initiate. I ran out of time within inches of rings a few times. :(

GREAT ENTRY!

jwolf says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 5:31am

Very interesting and stylish exploration game. Quite impressive!

Antylum says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 8:58pm

Artstyle is amazing and music creates an unique,fairy atmosphere. Thank you for creating such inspiring things!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]