August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Inversion Boy

by chippers - Jam Entry

*****************Epileptic Seizure Warning*****************

A fast paced plat-former where you play a young boy running through a bizarre world, spreading darkness to everything you touch. Every 10 seconds Inversion Boy Inverts the world around him, changing it's environment.

Try to stay on platforms while avoiding spikes, and dealing with sudden changes in gravity.

Controls : Space to Jump.

Made by Team Almost

Edit:
Added a web version of the game, also added a mac version that's untested but should work, let us know if you're having issues with it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#339Fun(Jam)2.81
#341Overall(Jam)3.00
#346Mood(Jam)2.75
#356Graphics(Jam)3.00
#402Innovation(Jam)2.69
#463Humor(Jam)1.65
#513Audio(Jam)1.40
#520Theme(Jam)2.52
#1281Coolness45%

Comments

Alex Rose says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:06am

This was really cool. Felt a lot more immersive than most running games. The flipping upside down is awesome. It's well designed too, there are points where you can't see what's ahead, but you just instinctively know where to jump. Lovely style too. Nice one.

Vasileiadis says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:08am

Really liked what you did with art style!! And the map was pretty neatly designed (if it's randomly generated - nice one!) All it needed would be a catchy loop for the background and for the theme to play a more significant role :)

RetroEpic says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:11am

very cool mood. Must have post jump grace in platforming! otherwise very cool effect of the black and white, quite challenging when it flips, also felt the gravity could be tweaked to be heavier.

euvl says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:51am

Rather interesting idea, challenging game!

Nerlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:12am

Pretty interesting theme using. It was unexpected when my hero fly away to the opposite side of screen.

Great job!

necmelt2006 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:01pm

Nice, the animation when player jump is... weird XD. the inversion is good. I was falling then the gravity changed but then i falls into spikes XP

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:18pm

good game

Feffers says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:19pm

I liked the single button game-play and was pleasantly surprised when it flipped upside down. Good level flow.

bitserum says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Well executed idea. It sets the mood. Those spikes are annoying. Wish i had a bit more control over jump. But good job with the environment.

Bmanrules says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Very nice game! Fun runner, solid controls and fluid movement. Gravity seemed to invert longer than 10 seconds but the lightning and other features were nice

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:17pm

Good Job. The B&W art style played well with the simple but fun mechanic.

Supercannon says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Looks a lot like Limbo.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Nice concept ! I like the reverse gravity idea ! Really cool ! Thanks for the web version!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:50pm

The graphic style is a good idea, but the game seems to be more polished, and maybe increase with more features.

Andresh says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:02am

Loved the sudden gravity change. Noticed that as long as you jump on the last square there will always be a safe landing this is good when you don't show the next jump but would be better if we could control the height of the jump (thus the distance covered) by keeping space bar pressed.
The black and white change was nice too ^^
Would like to see the theme used in the gameplay but great job ^^ want to see this grow ^^

Sep 4, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Hmm that's a cool idea and I like the art style but lack of music and audio and... a title screen... makes it feel less impressive haha. But I know you probably didn't have time, so good job!

Sep 12, 2013 @ 1:38am

Neat game. I enjoyed it! The art was very pleasant, but it could have used some sound.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]