August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Cyber Viking

by PapaWhiskey - Jam Entry

In this game you take control of the Cyber Viking.

The goal is to connect as many nodes as possible. When you catch a node a new one will appear immediately.

You haveten seconds to collect each node. Missing a node results in failure.

Good luck!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1773Coolness20%

Comments

RobotParking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:02pm

HOLY SHIT CYBER VIKING IS MY FAVOURITE KIND OF VIKING.

dom2d says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:14pm

Can't run. Says it can't start because MSVCR110.dll is missing. Dunno if it's because of the game or my PC though!

PapaWhiskey says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:47pm

That should be fixed now.

You might need the x86 version of this though:

http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=30679

Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:23pm

You had me on 'cyber viking'. I like the pastel coloured art style, very interesting. Simple but fun game. Are you allowed to use that music from Doom though?

Kohijin says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Nice oldschool FPS presentation, but I think it could do without the Doom music and hitting and getting hit didn't feel right to me.

davidwparker says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Dang- looks cool... add a web version please.

gene-z says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:35pm

Great game, but web version could be better

PapaWhiskey says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Since this is made with C++ and DX 11 we won't create a web version.

The music is gone though. It was a placeholder which we forgot to remove.

Zerot says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:19pm

"Error creating vertexshaders from memorypointer" then it crashes hard. I don't know what the deal is. :(

gmaker says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 10:12am

awesome sprites )))) i loved it =) good job!!

danhett says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 11:20am

This is bananas, I love it! Great job. :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]