August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Once upon a Night

by zanval - Jam Entry

NOTE: Sadly, Slick2Ds Wiki and Website were offline this weekend, so I had to learn the engine without any documentation... frustrating but possible.
This limited what we were able to do in the short time. :(

This is a small game I built together with a friend of mine.
We didn't have the time for any fancy art, but we liked the game idea.

Programming, Music, Concept: Zanval
Art, Concept: Akuhra

You are a ghost who is afraid of the dark.
You have 10 seconds of light, which you can use in each room.
Your goal is to find the sun in every room.
Evil shadows and ghosts haunt you and drain your light when they hit you :(

Controls: WASD for movement, SPACE for light

Requires Java 7.

Tested in Linux and Windows 7.
I have no clue about OS/X...
We also uploaded the generic Java jar, just in case.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#280Theme(Jam)3.10
#306Innovation(Jam)2.95
#341Audio(Jam)2.65
#386Mood(Jam)2.65
#471Fun(Jam)2.45
#478Graphics(Jam)2.60
#493Overall(Jam)2.65
#1452Coolness37%

Comments

SasoriDama says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:57pm

The idea is really great and the ghost is adorable. The music is also excellent for the setting I think. Downsides I see are that it would be nice if it were easier to tell if you are being hit by an enemy, maybe with a screen shake or something.

Jacic says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:55pm

Great mechanic and use of the theme. :)

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:00am

Interesting and enjoyable game, rated highly. :)

Tork says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:00am

Imagine the lvls are random, I got 3 levels in a row where I could see the door.
Nice idea.

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:26am

Cool game. Well implemented and the balancing was right on.

Acr1m says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:46am

Aww the ghost is so adorable >.< I love him! It makes me so sad when I see him crying like that... :'( Great job on the assets.

I really love the concept too, a ghost afraid of the dark. That's just a wonderful idea.

Only thing I would like to see to make it possible to avoid the monsters. Right now as a player, I just feel like it's something I have no control over.

Loved it though, cheers

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:34am

Great job! Arrow keys did not work (had to remap my keyboard because I am on azerty so WASD is hard :D), but after that smooth sailing!
I love the arcadey feeling of the game, it is paced just right, and I love the coherence of the graphic style (maybe the sun is a bit out of place, but then again it is easier to spot that way). The music felt also really appropriate. All in all, great job, and very cool idea that fits very well with the theme and scale of the game!

brodavi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Couldn't run this game: Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: gespenst/GespenstGame : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0

brodavi says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:53am

oh I see. yeah I still use Java 6

whiteravens says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:52am

The game does not run for me :( (Windows 7), I have Java. Nothing happens when I double click exe

Urfoex says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:26am

Runs good.
Very quick game.
Hard to avoid enemies when running that fast.
Even harder on level 7+ when there are enemies all around ^^

kibertoad says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:27pm

nice main character art.

MuciojadPL says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:57pm

Nice game, and idea somewhat similar to the idea of my game;) :D Good job.

Reyn says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Once apon a _disco_ night should come with an epilepsy warning ;) My highest level was 7. I wasn't sure if I made any progress, my guess is you randomize the background and increase the baddies, maybe one extra for each level. I once started on the sun. Thanks

gmaker says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 10:07am

greate little funny game =) i loved it =)

Sep 11, 2013 @ 4:09pm

I like the atmosphere, graphics and music. Gameplay is a little simplistic but it works. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]