August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Bob Won't Be Late

by TeamBob - Jam Entry

THE GAME

Don't let your friend go out without you.
Even if you are always late, try to prepare in time!

Complete the list of things you have to do and exit before time ends.

With a little more time we should have completed the Arcade Machine and the attic :C

Hope you like it!

PS. Enjoy little things.



SOFTWARE

Engine: Unity 3D Free
Music & Sounds: Musagi and Sxfr
3D Modelling: Blender

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#99Graphics(Jam)4.02
#125Theme(Jam)3.47
#181Humor(Jam)2.85
#280Innovation(Jam)3.00
#317Mood(Jam)2.86
#357Audio(Jam)2.60
#414Overall(Jam)2.83
#506Fun(Jam)2.33
#1640Coolness28%

Comments

Cryunreal says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:20am

very cool style! But bad control)
But style realy nice)))!

Lianne Booton says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:50am

I really like the style of the game and the take on the theme buuuut the controls feel really really off, like the directions don't quite match up with how an isometric character would move. That's really my only criticism, but unfortunately it does bring my rating down a bit.

Jerimiah40 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:20am

Interesting idea, but right clicking didn't rotate the view so there was no way I could finish it!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:23am

The downloaded version of this game wont open

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:46am

Like your graphics only =(

monkimkey says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:12am

Doesn't look bad, but too hard to play

nicotuason says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:16am

Great job with the art, but like people said the game suffers from the controls. I think clicking to go somewhere would make the game much more playable.

Chimera says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:59am

The graphics are pretty nice. I managed to get the hang of the controls by using the arrows with my right hand (I'm right handed, which usually means movement with left hand, but not in this game..) but I still couldn't manage to do much other than putting on my shoes. Good job nonetheless.

Alex Rose says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:03am

Really cool take on the theme. I couldn't work out how to shower or wash my hands or face or go to the toilet or whatever hygiene was, or find my pants either. Any hints?

kazukishida says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:15am

Graphics were good, concept was also good, but I really had a hard time controlling the character :O The fact that it starts immediately without warning contributed to the negative feeling of being a bit /too/ rushed in learning the controls. Also, right clicking didn't work for me as well, since it's the web player. D: Still, I'd like to see what happens to this game in the future, as it can be a quick, entertaining game if executed well. :D

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:51am

Awesome graphics! The style is just perfect.
...now I know how to be in office just in time)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:41am

The controls are very clunky, and you should've turn off the right click option in the web player. The idea is really neat and i like isometric games too, but i only managed to get my shoes, a phone and do some hygiene actions in my best run.

FireZenk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:52am

Love the style, but too hard, funny anyway :)

Typedeaf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:02am

Very hard, very fiddly controls, a lot of things to do in too small a time. Then you put all this in a very neat package and suddenly I want to play it anyway! I want to conquer the controls, I want to make the taxi! No, fuck YOU, rude taxi driver! I'm gonna get my shoes, my phone, that thing on the table, and do my toilet business and god damnit, no non-euclidean geometry is going to stand in my way!

Sadly, I didn't make it, the strange geometry thwarted my every effort. But it was a good experience, I'll remember it!

RetroEpic says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:18am

I think the controls are really hard, the isometric doesn't lend itself well to the time pressure. That being said the graphical style is awesome.

TeamBob says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:55am

Hi Guys!

This is our first game, now we've disabled the menu when you press the rotate key in the web player!!

But for the movement we don't know already how to do, we'll learn it with time.

By the waaay, thank you very much for everything!


PS. Try to click everywhere..

Nezzhil says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:41am

A curious game with a great style. The game is hard until I discovered that the shower give you lot of extra time.

The controls are a bit stiff, sadly :(

Surrealix says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:04am

I caught the taxi!!!. I figure that needs three exclamation marks because it took me at least 30 attempts and longer than I want to admit. I couldn't find the pants, and then eating the cake didn't fulfil my huger (spelling, btw) needs.

But I perservered. The graphic style grew on me, although the controls are fiddly and it's too easy to get stuck in corners and loose your orientation when the view flips. A smooth (yet still quick) transition between angles would help. Overall a fun game.

Nerlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:06am

Cool game style, like your graphics.
But isometric controls are wrong. It could be better but still , great game.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:38am

Really nice, but I would never have time to grab all the items I need for work. 10 seconds is just not enough time. I love the look of the game though, and I included this game in my video compilation of LD27 games, if you wanna check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jQmE1DEkQd4

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:38am

Love the visuals. I had a hard time with the controls as well, but managed to do a few things before getting yelled at. Is it actually possible to get out on time? I'd love to see a video showing a playthrough :)

TeamBob says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:41am

@Surrealix the cake is a quote from portal and don't have to complete the hunger need.. infact it says "the cake is a lie"

Sense says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:11pm

Graphics are very cute, but only rotate works, can't pickup anything.

RennFarnell says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:18pm

liked the story :P and the graphics were great, i couldnt complete it thought the camera and the controls were really difficult, and you have 10 seconds to learn em at a time, epic learning curve, but still cool entry :D

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:19pm

Interesting concept and it worked well with the theme. I feel like it could have been improved with easier movement controls and maybe more forgiving area to use when clicking on objects, if I didn't click perfectly in the center of the shoes for example it wouldn't register as me picking it up. So I guess bigger hitboxes is the word I'm looking for. Since there is a short time limit, the ease of being able to do what I want and pick up what I see as fast as possible is important. The game looks really good though! Although the pickup sound was a bit high pitched.

Gremlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:46pm

The time limit and the floaty controls make for a really hard game. I love the art style, though.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:19pm

As others are saying... Great art style but the controls and the time limit make it quite difficult to play.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Fun idea, crippled by controls and a difficulty curve that's more like a brick wall. Would have preferred something like this but with multiple levels - each day having more and more things to collect from around the house. Could also have done with more generous hotspots...!

DalsGames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Nice game, but very strange controls :/

hoqjed says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Great visual style. Minimal, and the colors pop.

It would be REALLY nice for the controls to move relative to the camera view. The objectibes are also a bit hard to read, what with grey text on a grey background.

TeamBob says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:05pm

Thank you very much guys, we are improving the game, we changed controls!
we added some things and fixed others.
we'll add levels and let you see our work!

ObscenelyTrue says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:22pm

The game is difficult due to bad control... but the graphics are really impressive!

blackotus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:50pm

I really like the premisse, and the graphics are really nice!

I just wish we could change the control scheme, getting used to the controls was very hard for me.

ChronusZ says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Controls definitely messed with my brain. Very difficult, but a quirky fun little game :)

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:50pm

Too hard for my fingers, but solid idea. A good polishing will make this quite a fun quick game.

Kohijin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Supberb visual design! But pixelhunting with the mouse while sliding around the house doesn't really suit the fast paced gameplay... could easily image this to be very fun with more streamlined controls.

Josh Riley says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:04pm

I think this was really great, but the controls make it kind of difficult to get into. I will say I laughed out loud the first time I lost, which is always a good sign.

Catmoo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:31pm

Great little game, was quite hard to play though. Although visually it was lovely and fit the style of the game really well, it might have helped to be zoomed in on the view a little more so the objects weren't so tiny.

The music worked really well with it as it was very addictive and the game is a great challenge to try and accomplish.

udo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:15am

I love the art, the concept, and that Bob is a box! However, despite trying very hard for quite some time I didn't even come close to working the entire list in 10 seconds. Maybe I missed something or it's just not possible (for slow people like myself). Great work though.

Ithildin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:27am

The idea is cool and graphics made me want to explore the whole house, but as several have already said, the experience is crippled by the controls.

If you get to fix that, the game will really shine. Congrats anyway, and keep up with the work! :)

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:39am

Strangely addictive. Pretty tough too.

sgehlich says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:58am

A Linux version could be great :)

withoutpillow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:08am

i little too hard, and the controls are bad, but the visuals are great and i like the idea. maybe if you could control the camera by holding down the right mouse click instead of it just changing to a different angle, as all the available angles where kinda frustrating to navigate through.

TeamBob says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:13pm

added also OS/X and linux versions

Miltage says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:38pm

I think this game is slightly prophetic because my name is Robert and this happened to me this morning. Overslept for an hour and only awoke when my ride was outside.

Good game, I loved the pixel art.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:56am

Like the concept and coupled with some great art! Good job.

Linusson says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:03pm

It was an interesting idea. :) A bit easier and some tweaking on the controls and the camera angle would be nice though. :) I liked the graphics style. :)

tigerj says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:08am

style is amazing. I had a hard time adjusting to the controls but once I did I had a lot of fun.

Nice game!

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Really nice graphical style. But the walls are really annoying at blocking my view.

XaiZil says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Took a few tries to work out what was happening, it seemed a little impossible to get any of the goals though

siat says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:22am

The game could use more in-game guidance about what you're supposed to do. 10 seconds is a very brief time to teach a lesson, but I feel like this doesn't go far enough towards that :)

gritfish says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:30pm

The isometric voxel graphic style looks really nice, but I found it pretty hard to actually click on things, and the character felt very slippery.

Exergy says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Really hard. Really nice style thouh!

mrspeaker says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:26pm

Crazy awesome style... I'd get rid of the "10 seconds" aspects post-comp - it just feels forced. I'd love to see a bigger adventure-y/puzzle game built on this aesthetic: the graphics and sounds are sooo nice. I don't even mind the controls that much.

rincewind_cz says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:26pm

Linux version is not working for me :-/
It seems like data folder is missing inside the archive...

rujo says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:19am

i love the graphics but its too difficult! I know its the theme, but 10 seconds are way too little time to pick everything and get out! :)

Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:56pm

It's a bit hard to control the character, and do all that stuff in 10 seconds, but the game is well polished and the graphics are nice.

fferro234 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 10:27pm

Tough controls. I felt like every camera angle was against me in this game. Another game were the 10 seconds theme kind of hurts the game more than helps it. If I had like 30 seconds it would be more manageable.

ChrisGaudino says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Gameplay is a little rough around the edges, but the visual style is very nice!

TeamBob says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 11:02am

hey guys! we are making a version for the post-compo, thanks a lot for your tips!
hope you'll love it!

Sep 15, 2013 @ 3:32pm

Bob will always be late for me lol. I need a hint on the pants. Enjoyed this and good graphics 5 stars. Reminds me of too many mornings catching the bus! lol

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]