August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Seconds Before Flush

by Geeks-n-chicks - Jam Entry

We are proud to announce our first game for ludumdare.com!

You are a Fecalator from "Dogma" movie. Your goal is to reach an Exit from the sewer pipeline. It's not so easy! You need to go through 3 levels in 10 seconds each. You need to eat poos and avoid flowers and butterflies - your enemies.

Every poo gives you a second, every enemy - takes your 2 seconds.

We didn't add a lot of levels but we will do it tomorrow or a bit later :-)

Your win is to appear in the World. Let's start the game and good luck from 7bits team! Enjoy!

Technical details:
* Javascript, HTML5, melonjs engine
* For now, we support only for desktop recent versions of Firefox / Chrome.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#102Humor(Jam)3.22
#168Graphics(Jam)3.72
#269Audio(Jam)2.90
#325Overall(Jam)3.04
#346Mood(Jam)2.75
#349Fun(Jam)2.79
#396Theme(Jam)2.88
#477Innovation(Jam)2.46

Comments

Oana says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:34pm

That was interesting... It is very skill based, and I liked that.It feels a bit like the 3 lives system is a bit overdoing it... but I guess it just adds to the challenge

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Really nice graphics/art, the sound is OK too.

The levels seem... messed up? There's no way at all avoid the flowers on some levels. It was really odd. Also you say "kill em all!" in the description, but there's no attack...

bonsairobo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:38pm

I like the visual style. Not a big fan of poo, but at least it looks sharp. Cool backwards shooting mechanic.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:45pm

This is totally gross - I love it. Gravity feels wrong for the mechanics involved, but the sounds are so charming!

kristof says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Great graphics and music. The mechanics feel a bit clunky. I did not make it through as the game is quite tough, but is there only this one level with different amounts of enemies? But overall a nice game!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:46pm

@Sam, you poo on the flowers and butterflies to kill em all. There I said it, and feel so dirty now :D

lesterpig says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Hum what a lovely game !
Nice graphics, nice sound but.. disgusting background.

Beerman says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:48pm

This is easily the best giant poo-monster game I've ever played.

Dir3kt says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Oh shit! Nice game, the graphics and music are awesome.

plancien says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:53pm

wonderful graphics !

porglezomp says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:27pm

It seems too hard to avoid the obstacles.

Cryunreal says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:06am

Nice graphics!)

Lianne Booton says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:46am

As someone who makes generally vile games I love this. The graphics are lovely too. I won't nitpick the lack of animation, cos the cardboard cutout style works REALLY well here. Great work :)

immanuela says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:47am

I think this game is currently impossible to win! But toilet humor is always good :)

I think the speed on the fecalator is a bit slow. I couldn't get further than halfway across the screen in 10 seconds.

I also agree with the person who said it's quite hard to avoid the obstacles. The first flower in level 1 is pretty hard to avoid.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:00am

Mmmm, played this game while having dinner. I liked how you have to turn around to shoot. Controls are great, and the graphics really good.

Ariake81 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:25am

like it, love the character design!

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:31am

The game is not that easy to play and that is good. You could want more from the sounds but the graphics are not bad.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:08am

Fun but its pretty hillariously messed up playing as a poo hah.

carlsommer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:24am

Plenty of fun, especially having to turn around to shoot. It looks fantastic, too! Unfortunately, the game would always kill me three times on the third level, even if I didn't die at any point and cleared all the enemies in the level.

TomCooper3D says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:39am

I kept thinking the flowers were power ups. i should have known i want more poop on me. a little stiff controlling but i like the art good job!

gene-z says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:59am

Great Work,,, good sound , congratulations

Richard Matey says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:06am

Love the graphic design style of this game. I need to poop on more things in real life!

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:28am

Gross. Fun. Great graphics!!! Good job, all!

tamy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:26am

That was a very weird idea,but nicely done!

Dry Tree says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:24am

Great game. It took me a few goes at first because I didn't realise touching the flowers was costing me time - that could have been a little clearer. Overall a nice fun entry :)

kayupla says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:59am

a beat slow gameplay , but so fun and original .

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:24am

It was fun to play. A little bit short, i beat it for my 3rd try, but that's okay. Nicely done! :)

ratalaika says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:56am

Great work :)

RetroEpic says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:32am

The theme is pretty nasty, but the game is quite interesting and challenging. Reminds me of 90s era PC platformers.

Kept feeling that jump and fire keys were swapped though.

Nezzhil says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:32am

The graphics are very cool and the way to attack is original. The only downside is the level desing, they are very similar.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:08am

I really liked the style. Music and art is very good. Game itself isn't so great.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:35am

I loved the game XD Really funny, in a world full of poop. :P I included this game in my video compilation of LD27 games, if you wanna check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jQmE1DEkQd4

FireZenk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:46am

Good game, awesome graphics and fun idea!

RennFarnell says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:00pm

lol what?
5 starts for humor mood and humor ;)
made me laugh quite a bit GG!

BrothersT says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:19pm

Haha, very weird. I like it! :)

Pixlexia says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:44pm

For a game about shit. This one is actually fun. :D

Diptoman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:13pm

The graphics and music were lovely, but the gameplay was too hard. Obstacles were a real pain!

lcass says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:16pm

gameplay definatly to hard!

davidwparker says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:17pm

Sound was good, animation was smooth. Wish there was more to it... good start of something though. Less lives would be nice.

How did you like melonjs?

Jason says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:23pm

Lol, this game was fun! Nice graphics and I liked how you have to turn around to shoot. The whole poo is good, flowers and butterflies are bad, was clever :)

Its probably just me, but I kept wanting to press something else to jump instead of up. My fingers kept getting mixed up. The difficulty otherwise seemed right on for me. Would have enjoyed more levels!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Thanks for comments, friends, our team is really happy that you liked our game!
I'm sorry that gameplay sometimes is not very fast and not well tested, you know - it is hard to support all kinds browsers/platforms and keep everything stable.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:31pm

davidwparker, we had never used melonjs before, but it was very easy to start and learn. Library allows you to focus on the game features, and you shouldn't care much about low-level graphics and music implementation details… it brilliant for fast start!

Diptoman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:44pm

This game is shit! Literally! XD
I loved the art and the sound! But it seems to spike in difficulty. Maybe you should avoid the 3 lives concept and make it a "try till you decide to quit" structure.

Good job on the game!

kaype says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:06pm

Great work! LOVE the graphical style.

NachoDA says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:19pm

Not a lot of diversity but good music and awesom art. Well done!

Unept says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:26pm

I like the graphics, like the idea, definitely has potential! I'm not a HUGE fan of poop-based games, but at least you have a solid premise and goal, right? :) I would work on easing in on the difficulty, at least make it possible to jump the first flower without getting dinged. People like not dying right at the beginning. :)

Ritzblues783 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:06pm

I like the art style. It took me a while to understand that you have to shoot the obstacles to get past them. I like the enemy progression, but I wish that each level were designed differently than the last. Also, there didn't seem to be much use for crouching, as the only area you can access with it will trap you there.

hoqjed says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Great graphical and sound polish for a short amount of time. Facing backwards before shooting adds novelty, and POO!

Would be nice to control the height of the jump for tricky shots (like butterflies). I didn't know how to get out of the little crawl space with the poo on the first level, as I couldn't jump when crouched.

voltorben says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:05pm

Shiiite! (literally)
It was quite challenging at the start, but when i found out i had infinite poop shots, i got really easy (i thought i could only shoot the poop i had picked up- that might be an idea for better balance).
Could be cool with more levels :)
Lovely art and sound.
Great game, i enjoyed it :D

Meedoc says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:21pm

It lacks of diversity. It's sad that the 3rd level uses the same layout. Besides, the game is quite polished; even if collision are hard to guess.

designatius says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:28pm

I really love it. Brilliant graphics, cool music, different gameplay... and rude! Freaking awesome, congrats on the great work!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:32pm

A piece of shit - is wonderful! Never thought I'd say this someday)))Very cool, nice, exciting, ridiculous - fun! Butterflies are really evil! Shit, shit and shit again, shit forever, immortal shit!!!!

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:02pm

I never steered the fecalator yet ;)Nice game.

TeamBob says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:07pm

very funny! i really love it!!
great work!

killmonday says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:35pm

+5 for poo!

GagaPete says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:53pm

Very pretty but too static graphics/art. The sound is fine, the music a bit annoying after a while. The gameplay and mechanics are to frustrating for me.
All in all a very, very diry game :D

PeaCe says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Nice, but gets boring really fast !

Optimus6128 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:18pm

Nice and funny!!!

Valerien says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:45pm

Not bad there. The visual and the game feel polished overall, even though it's still blocky around the edges : the butterfly and flower placement are quite punitive considering that the bear jumps and falls quite fast and that they are quite small.

nitrocrime says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Gross yet fun

tigerj says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:14am

very interesting. very skill based and really impressive art. Not my taste but I have some friends i will share this too and it's right up their ally.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:48am

Interesting twist with some fantastic art :0) Great job!

Linusson says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:46pm

Epic win, yihaaa. :)

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:40pm

Really crisp and clean graphics. Gameplay had an oldschool platformer feel to it.

proc says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Nice tune and graphics. Shame it is so short with no new levels.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:37pm

fantastic graphic design you guys!!

dekart says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:22pm

The setting doesn't smell very well, but the implementation is definitely good

fferro234 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Very interesting concept. I'm glad you have to correctly turn around before you can fire to the right. The music was catchy.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]