August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hungry Knight

by wilbo_teamcherry - Jam Entry

Team Cherry's entry for the Ludum Dare Game Jam 27!

Team Cherry:
Rohan Fraser
Ari Gibson
William Pellen

The theme of this jam was 10 Seconds. So we present to you Hungry Knight, a determined little adventurer with a big appetite. Fight your way through a strange wasteland, keep yourself fed every ten seconds, and accomplish a miracle. Others may perish at your hand, but such is the remorselessness of this world.

A challenging action game. It's hard, but you can do it! Be brave.

Music is from here: http://incompetech.com/music/

-------CONTROLS-----------

Arrow Keys: Move
Z Key: Attack
X Key: Dash

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#20Mood(Jam)4.04
#25Graphics(Jam)4.52
#60Audio(Jam)3.65
#126Overall(Jam)3.48
#238Theme(Jam)3.22
#244Fun(Jam)3.04
#356Humor(Jam)2.16
#477Innovation(Jam)2.46
#1970Coolness0%

Comments

fishbrain says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:43pm

Nice!... Beautiful mood, easy to grasp concept. Technically: would have liked faster frame-rate, and seemed to be some z-order rendering issues. I look forward to and encourage further development. Cheers.

Capro says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:13pm

Nice atmosphere. But it's barely unplayable. Stencyl is like an old fat man: it's slow and makes things complicated without a real reason. Throw it away! ;)

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:13pm

Fantastic visuals! The big boss kept getting me but I cleared the island a few times otherwise...

blackotus says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:01am

I LOVE the visuals in this game.
The characters look cool and unique, and the statues in the scenery really add to the feel of the game.
Very nice work!

BNeutral says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:23pm

Lovely game. I got some pretty low FPS (around 17 or so) but it was still playable, you may want to check that out for future games.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:10am

this is really great. id love to see how the game would evolve if you kept working on it after the jam.

dom2d says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:56pm

Woah. Looks amazing.

MisterDerek2 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Fun game; cool concept and executed well with solid visuals. Would play again!

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:45pm

Great art, smooth animations :)

Fireblend says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:26am

Such a polished entry. Gameplay wise it's not terribly deep or fancy, but the animation makes both attacking and dashing so satisfying, this is still lots of fun. Brilliant job!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:22pm

Beautiful game with a great mood. It did run a bit slow on my computer. Very solid and polished entry otherwise :)

Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:07am

Fantastic art and audio. Was really looking forward to it but on OSX/Chrome it was far too slow to play or enjoy. Sorry.

Ithildin says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Love the artistic aspects (visuals, music), they're nice and really polished. Frame rate issues detract a bit from the fun, though. If you manage to solve that the game will improve dramatically. Despite this, great job!! =D

0beah says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:00am

loved the art, the music and the use of theme. However, I couldn't get to enjoy it completely due to slowness issues.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:21am

Awesome style. Reminds me of Shadow of the Colossus and SMB2.

Sep 4, 2013 @ 2:22pm

This game looks amazing, and I think it plays really well, however the framerate and performance issues kind of hindered my enjoyment. It looks so good that I kept playing anyways though!

Sep 6, 2013 @ 2:53am

Incredible and incredibly polished!
I just love the art style!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]