August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Top down zombie Runner

by supersammy7000 - Jam Entry

This game is a top down zombie running game. This is my first game so not very good but still hope you enjoy.

I did cut it close to the bead line so sorry i could not add me features.

Controls: Arrow Keys Escape Exits.
run Away from zombies for 10 seconds and then you get a green screen. If you touch a zombie then you get a red screen.

If red or green screen then escape to exit or space to restart.

twitter: https://twitter.com/jordan_lance

Edit: This edit is for the program i added a start and end menu other than that original.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#334Theme(Jam)2.98
#450Humor(Jam)1.72
#480Fun(Jam)2.43
#511Audio(Jam)1.42
#533Mood(Jam)2.00
#573Overall(Jam)2.36
#586Graphics(Jam)1.89
#591Innovation(Jam)1.93

Comments

MrBlade says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:04am

Nice job! I love seeing simple game like this! Straight to the point, held to the great to the theme! Keep it up. (:

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:41am

Nice and quirky, build upon it and stick to the style. I like it.

Drachlen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:30am

This game is really simple, but actually pretty fun. I like the use of the theme.

jay griffin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:30am

Congrats on your first game! Not bad for 4 hours' work.

Pixlexia says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:36am

Nice little game. You should make more levels, maybe increase the difficulty, add obstacles, etc etc. Not bad for a first game made in 4 hours. Also fits the theme well. Overall, great job!

Generalgore says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:43am

Great job, 4 hours! yeah like I said, good job.

Cthulhu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:12am

Great job for your first game!

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:18am

Pretty amusing, nice job

Erhune says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:30am

Simple, good, but definitely lacks some "disturbing" element to spice things up (like obstacles, or things to pick up). It's a bit too easier as it is now.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:38am

this is a very early alpha

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:44am

If this is really your first game that's not bad at all. Keep it up! I'm sure there's still lots you could add to this to make it more interesting.

manabreak says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:48am

congrats on your first game! Solid work, keep at it and you'll do wonders. :)

sittaman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:53am

Nice use of SDL library, keep learning and improving and you'll make it big soon!

sam1373 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:02am

You really should make some sort of screen before the level starts...

torvik88 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Not a good game but we all have to start somewhere don't we? I applaud the effort, commitment and execution. Keep at it and we will see wonderful games from yah mate :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:27pm

next update will be a help and start screen

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Congrats on your first game! Could have used some audio or something; you should look up SFXR for next time! It's a program that generates sound effects.

Beerman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Not bad at all for a first attempt. Could do with a little bit of a delay before the game starts though - my first game I got killed before I'd even spotted the game window...

Yell0w says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Almost like downhill skiing when that monster wants to eat you! Not bad for a first game!

motty says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Not bad at all for a first game. Pretty fun, good use of the theme. Mostly ran on Wine 1.4 under Linux - you could play a level but it then crashed at the ending, and I am 100% sure this is Wine's fault and not your fault. Reminded me very much of the ancient Unix game 'robots' - not a bad thing at all. Nice one. More please.

johnfn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:38pm

Congrats on your first game! May you have many more ahead of you! :) You could think about how to fix the fact that you can run off the screen.

murilo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:50pm

That was simple! It's a little fun but too easy! good first job!

dcolgan says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:47am

Keep up the great work supersammy! Excellent job on your first game ever. I wish you the best in your game making career!

ZYXer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:32am

Very simple, but games don't need to be complicated. Great job for a first game!

timothyolt says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:08pm

Great first game! tweak the background a bit and the graphics could work

Infin8 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:11pm

Interesting, though I noticed u were outputting and entering text files. Strange.

mrcdk says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Nice first game! I'm ashamed that I died twice before win :_ haha!

Kragnir says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:44am

Not bad for a first game, many things that can be improved. As the game is, imo the first thing it needs is a proper ending screen to make the player 100% certain that he actually won.

BrothersT says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:15pm

hehe, refreshing indeed to play one that just gets to the point! Good entry I say. Could use a little something something, but obviously it's meant to be very simple. Nice work.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:15pm

good job

gmaker says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 10:06am

really funny little game!=) i loved it!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]