August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Decem Libros

by Hitonagashi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The Mages Guild has recently come into possession of ten sealed magical scrolls. We've taken copies of these scrolls, but we want to find out what they do as far from civilisation as possible. That, Wizard, is where you come in.

Descend into the Underdark, and fight off the hordes of monsters, while discovering what the scrolls do. We are watching your lifesigns, and will teleport you out before you get *seriously* harmed.

Good luck!

Instructions
To use a scroll, break the seal by clicking on the letter.
To enter move mode, press the "M" logo on the top row, then press where you want to move to.
You know the following spells:
Shield: Adds a magic shield that will absorb damage. Each incantation of Shield sets your shield directly to 50.
Heal Minor/Heal Major: Heals damage inflicted to you.
Missile, which should suffice to deal with pesky goblins (looks like an arrow).
Lightning Bolt: Fries anything in a straight line from where you target it. Some monsters might dodge the bolt...so be careful!
Fireball: A large fireball will roast your enemies. Simple!

The red figure is your health, the blue, your mana, and the green is your shield.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#735Innovation2.74
#976Humor1.27
#1043Mood1.83
#1075Graphics1.96
#1165Overall2.04
#1170Fun1.74
#1175Theme1.70
#1422Coolness39%

Comments

disdanes says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:40am

Took me a little bit to get the hang of, but some of the mechanics were neat. I think in the future I would make it possible to move with the keyboard or by clicking the tile you want to move to(instead of hitting M each time). Likewise with the attacks.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:23pm

Sound concept, a little tedious for my liking. I kept wanting to move the wizard more freely.

Fireblend says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:24pm

How is this related to the theme? Anyway, it took me while to understand what I was supposed to at first, but I eventually got it. It's a neat concept, but I'm not sure using seals for everything (such as moving) was a great idea.

BubbleTea says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:24pm

I couldnt actually move the character on playing the web build, though i accidentally started the game using all the scrolls. is this a bug?

hbocao says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:24pm

It was kinda tough to understand the mechanics and how to do stuff at first glance. Seems like there is a good idea behind the initial "weirdness".

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:27pm

I agree that having some keyboard controls would be nice, but I do like the idea of the finite "mystery arsenal".

reostra says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:20am

Couldn't move at all - Pressed M, clicked an area... nothing.

Senevri says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:24pm

Couldn't move, likewise

CustomPhase says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:31pm

I just cant get my head around it. What am i supposed to do? How am i supposed to do it?

Latcarf says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:03pm

Controls are very hard, there should be keyboard shortcuts for everything. Also there is rarely any feedback for actions. For instance sometimes I try to shoot a fireball, but I don't know if it worked but the enemies are too powerful, or if I didn't have enough mana, or if I didn't click hard enough on my mouse button.
The general idea of the game seems good, though.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:47pm

Did not really "get it", and it was difficult to play on my small-ish laptop screen. Seems that you do have a good idea though, just needs a way to convey it better.

Sestren says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 4:30am

It seemed like my mana regenerated far too slowly by the end, but I'm not sure if the game itself was slowing down or if I had just exhausted my mana supply somehow. I'm not a fan of the method of moving, but I do like your assortment of spells and that you have one-time use spells that do varying things.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]