August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Wordz

by Grafter - 48 Hour Compo Entry

First Submission into Ludum Dare, kept it simple with a word finder puzzle.
You have 10 seconds to select the letters to make a word, submit and if the word is verified gain additional time.
Aim of the game is to make as many words as possible and stop the timer form ending!
Letters do not need to be next to one another!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#516Fun2.97
#548Theme3.19
#647Overall2.97
#726Mood2.50
#763Graphics2.56
#807Audio2.00
#811Innovation2.63
#885Humor1.67

Comments

Aaants says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:09am

Whoop! Awesome :)

Red Mike says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:39am

Interesting. Took me a while to realise letters didn't have to be adjacent to one another. Should have looked at your screenshot first.

Zuige says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:39am

Very difficult! :) I like it though!

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:49pm

Great concept. REALLY difficult :-)

Typedeaf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:54pm

This was cool! BUT... difficult!

kebabskal says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Very hard, and not very touchpad friendly :)

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:02pm

Tough game!

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:30am

Interesting idea! And good training for awaking head :D

Skully says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Thought you got given the word to find initially. It's a nice take on it and well done. Quite addictive, like bejeweled

FlashRocks says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:09pm

It's awesome, but could've used another aspect to it, like score for power ups :)

Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Simple little word game, very challenging but great! I featured it in my Ludum Dare 27 video compilation, if you'd like to check it out :), http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7GZNeIKxvyg

Hayawi says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:16pm

nicely done! the theme is nicely fitted in and it's pretty interesting

01rafael says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 10:24pm

difficult for me! because I'm not english native speaker, but idea is great! galaxy of words in limited quantity of letters )))
I should try this method in russian, if you don't mind? ))

motty says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 11:32pm

Really cute game. One of a number of games this LD that are let down by the theme making it too hard - ten seconds is a really harsh initial timeout for this kind of thing. Nevertheless, a good idea and a fine implementation, and still a fun game.

RawBits says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Nice and clean.

Cryovat says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 9:03pm

These games are always incredibly addicting, and yours is no exception. :D

The hard time limit gives it that magical "just one more time and I'll hit 60" factor.

I just have two pieces of criticism. I and T are a bit on the similar side. Also, it would make it a bit easier if you could submit or reset with the keyboard (or if it auto-reset upon invalid words).

Minor niggles aside, a lot of fun, nice job. :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]