August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Amazing Abs in just 10 seconds

by vvolis - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first LD entry.
Try the Web version if possible, as I haven't throghouly tested the standalones.
Get Amazing Abs in just 10 seconds with one simple tip. The doctors will hate you after this for just 9.99$!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#51Humor3.75
#476Fun3.00
#479Mood2.82
#558Theme3.18
#571Graphics2.86
#573Audio2.52
#758Overall2.86
#769Innovation2.69

Comments

Rave Radbury says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:16am

Fantastic title card!

The gameplay seemed a bit jumpy as the game switched between tasks, and the effect being applied to the HUD was kind of eye-burning.

Would have appreciated some sort of feedback on just how buffed and successful my mad abs had become due to this one simple workout.

PTSnoop says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:17am

For such a simple game, actually surprisingly addictive. I'd have liked to have seen a Linux build, though - the Unity web player doesn't work on Linux.

vvolis says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:19am

@Rave Radbury I had intended to implement the end screen with muscle growing according to your score, but my gf showed up with some alcochol and I had to wrap it up. Thanks for the feedback :)

Zekyon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:06pm

Hahaha, really cool title, a good game for fitness people

CustomPhase says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Hah, nice little game! Maybe adding some other ways to control activities (and more activities), instead of just mashing button, would be good.

andwhatnot says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:31pm

Hilarious send-up of the fitness industry and those damn ads.

Zelun says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:32pm

Very funny. INEEDTHOSEABS

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:31pm

Nice game! Really worked the theme well and it makes for a fun short mini game. a little music would probably help, but that can be tough to make in the short period of time. The graphics are very fitting too!

Alex Rose says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:13am

I managed to get 63!

I burst out laughing as soon as I saw the screenshot of this game, absolutely classic. It's so true.

CoderDozer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:02pm

I can feel the burn already, nice work.

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:17pm

Was confused at the start then I figured it out and was trying to beat my score over and over. Very addictive game, I could see this getting more and more levels keeping the same idea I likes this alot!

lekochen says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:58pm

Best score: 40. My fingers are stronger now.

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:42pm

I don't know if my abs are mad now, but I'm sure I can drill holes in wood with my fingers.
Really nice combo animation + sfx, it gives the game a great touch.

dudsen says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Haha, feel certainly stronger! being precise, 60 times stronger as before :D Need another workout rrrright noooow *flexingvirtualmuscles*

superfoonly says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:01pm

I laughed hard at the sit up sound effect. the sounds really make this game fun. Also, the title screen is hilarious!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]