August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Tehurn

by Choupom - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Tehurn is an autoscroller RPG.
The goal is to go as far as possible, without dying of course.
Every few steps, an event will occur, which can be a battle, a chest, a shop, a weapon/armor upgrade, etc.
Your character will attack the enemy monsters automatically, but you have to use the items you bought by yourself whenever you fell like.
On the top of that, your character will start exhausting after 10 seconds and will constantly lose health. To prevent this, you should buy 10 extra seconds in the shop before you run out of time. Always remember to look at the timer at the top of the screen!

Controls:
- S to use top item
- D to use middle item
- F to use bottom item
- Left-click to buy the item featured at the shop
- P to pause/resume the game
- Escape to quit

Screen explanation:
The game is at the first person, so you don't see your character. The monsters will appear at the middle of screen, on the road.
Your health bar is displayed at the bottom of the screen.
Your items are on the left, and the keys to use them are displayed just on the side.
On the top right of the screen is the next events queue (the one at the bottom of the queue is the next event).
Finally, your character statistics (score, strength, armor, diamonds, gold) are listed at the bottom left.
Oh, and the very important timer is at the top of the screen!

Development:
The game is coded in C++, using SDL and OpenGL for graphics.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#647Innovation2.83
#890Fun2.50
#981Overall2.58
#1051Graphics2.00
#1081Theme2.38
#1377Coolness41%

Comments

GNecro1 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:25am

Cool game but graphics are not to good and there is no sound :/

Jhelle says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:30am

It looks fun, but somehow its playing in warpspeed. Instead of 10 seconds it only takes 1 second to go gameover so I can't really play it.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:40am

Interesting seeing an RPG playing out this way. I like the concept. Needs some balancing obviously but for a two day game it's great. Nice work.

Delca says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:56am

I cannot rate the audio part if there is no audio :)

Delca says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:00pm

I cannot rate the audio part if there is no audio :)
BUT. The game was interesting ! I liked the way it played.
About the graphics, I think your mistake was mixing good pixel art (the potion, timer, shield, sword, etc) with paint-like graphics (the road, the sun, etc).
Either way, I enjoyed it, and would like to see what it could become post-compo !

Delca says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:01pm

BUT. The game was interesting ! I liked the way it played.
About the graphics, I think your mistake was mixing good pixel art (the potion, timer, shield, sword, etc) with paint-like graphics (the road, the sun, etc).
Either way, I enjoyed it, and would like to see what it could become post-compo !

pighead10 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Soome audio would be nice. A good game, but the randomness of the shop items can mean that you cannot plan ahead very well.

HippyJonYo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:35pm

I really liked the concept, I haven't seen anything like that before.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Cool concept, something like this would actually be pretty fun as a fleshed out game. The graphics reminded me of the old Castle of the Winds games a little bit.

TomboFry says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:04pm

tehurn.com?
Good game, but needs balancing

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Sound would give the game some life (music would rock it) ;) Nice work!

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:12am

There seems to be not much you can control in this game, the battles fight themselves and the only thing you can do it determine when to use potions and what to buy. Most of the time you will die without having had any chance to prevent it. It seems like it could be fun with some rebalancing.

Thermite says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Very weird, but a novel idea. Good work!

rejome says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:37pm

Big bug: Lightning speed for me too :( Less than one second after launching the game, I get GAME OVER.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:19pm

Great idea, but the game is a bit faster than it should be, for me. :)

Diptoman says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:03pm

Quite the interesting concept you put in there, I didn't know how to use the shop at first but once I found out those items could be bought, I had loads of fun with this. The theme was only mildly emphasized, though.

nicotr014 says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 2:53pm

Interesting. Never played an auto-scrolling rpg. I like the random encounters

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]