August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Time well spent

by T1 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A grim reaper has come for you and will reap you in 10 seconds. You are unsure of what awaits next.
However, one thing is certain: not even death can keep you away from all your fancy items and whatnot.
You must gather them all or you can't rest in peace. Can you cheat death long enough to do so?

Use your magic video control overlay to fight that which is timeless.

Controls:
Movement - A,W,S,D
Play/pause time - Spacebar or on screen button
Rewind/FastForward - Q,E or on screen seekbar
Restart level - R

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#235Innovation3.45
#243Theme3.50
#286Humor2.76
#531Fun2.95
#610Overall3.00
#686Mood2.56
#846Graphics2.40
#1528Coolness33%

Comments

ghostonline says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:51am

Interesting take on rewind and fast forward. Took a while to get the hang of tricking the reaper, but that did not spoil the fun.

NMcCoy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:52am

A neat idea, and a pretty decent execution of it to boot. Good work. :)

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Crazy mechanic! I enjoyed that :)

mitkus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Original and funny game. Second-to-last level really got me thinking. Does a very good job of teaching player how to play without any text. I have one minor nitpick as a left-handed person - arrow keys should be supported alongside wasd. One of the best applications of the theme I've seen so far!

doonay21 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:37pm

I always loved "time bending" games :) Thanks for the fun ;)

Joxno says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Absolutely brilliant, the concept is just brilliant, really really liked it

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Melts my brain. Really good!

nikkesen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Death stalks you at every turn. There it is. DEEAAAAAAAAAAAAATTTTTHHHH!!

lalanl says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:21am

I got stuck a few times trying to round a corner, and sometimes Death went faster after I'd rewind for a little bit and I didn't understand why.

BUT all the << || >> was well done, and I wish this had been longer so I could have more time to explore and develop time -related techniques. Great job!

Arrow-x says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:18am

takes a while to get the hang of it but once u done it is crazy fun

manabreak says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:20am

Sounds didn't work for me (I take from OpenAL32.dll that there is sounds?). Nevertheless, 5/5 in innovation!

euske says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:22pm

Reminds me of Braid.

T1 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:28pm

Thanks for all the feedback! I'm happy to hear people like it :)

@lalanl
The idea was that death should always reach you at the 10th second. So if you increase the distance, it's speed will adjust accordingly, so that it can catch up to you in time.

@manabreak
I had plans for sound, but in the end i didn't have enough time to add any. The .dll is there just in case some leftover code might be including something.

Gazok says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:08pm

I loved the ":D"

nicotr014 says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 2:51pm

I like the time limit limitation. But it was really hard! Is the second level beatable?

T1 says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 4:39pm

@nicotr014

Yes, all levels are beatable :) If you're having trouble in the second level, I'm guessing the mechanics might be a bit unintuitive and hard to figure out. The idea in most levels is that you don't have enough time to get all the items in one go, so you must rewind to get the other items (you don't lose items you already picked up during the rewind). Also use the fact that death doesn't move during the rewind to your advantage. Basically most of the levels can be beat this way, apart from a few which use a bit different mechanics.

jomomomo says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Can't play windows games :-(

T1 says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 8:21pm

@jomomomo

:C

Since it's opengl I guess i could try rewriting the main file that handles window creation and user input specifically for linux and try compiling something. Can't promise anything though, me no sudo long time.
If you're on a mac however, i can't do anything at the moment :D

infernet89 says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Woha, really interesting use of time manipulation "magic". Took a while to understand how it works, maybe some "tutorial" levels to teach the mechanic to the player can be a good addition!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]