August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Second Bureaucrat

by nikkesen - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A text-adventure game composed in Twine.

You're a lowly bureaucrat. You live in a Class F Dwelling in South Vasilev.

What can happen in 10 seconds?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#252Mood3.17
#352Humor2.63
#527Audio2.60
#744Innovation2.73
#800Overall2.81
#879Fun2.52
#921Theme2.71
#1124Graphics1.83

Comments

Nizan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:52am

Really compelling, played it all the way through. Great writing - some really nice image systems in there, warmth cropped up a lot, really helped to build a mood. Will make a note to play through this a few more times to see the other endings! :)

ben says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Great to see a twine game! Funny idea for a narrative, this poor guy..

Holofire says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:55pm

Wow, that was pretty interesting. Great little game overall!

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:20pm

I like the setting, not that often you see that in a game.

RobotParking says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:09pm

Excellent writing. Really enjoyed this.

Liz England says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:06pm

If only I had been there 10 seconds earlier...

This was fun. Pretty much the perfect game to play at work. I love all the repetitive elements (music, "10 seconds", series of short events, etc.) with the bureaucrat theme.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:46pm

That music is lovely.

Tegu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:54pm

I was impressed by the length of the text. Some branches were surprisingly different which is nice. The technical implementation is pretty good and clicking around is very quick and easy. A lot easier than the paper stories where you have to always search the right page and paragraph. The funky music didn't irritate and was easy to listen to while reading. Didn't really expect to see this kind of game here but it's neat that you made one! :) The visual descriptions probably count as graphics btw. :D

vladimirdlc says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:12am

I knew that it had to be a trap those tempting offers! But I fell on it anyway... this had a great balance in presentation and narrative, it was really funny to see how you applied the theme.

withoutpillow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:42am

the music and writing really fits the theme. it's not often you see these jonah twine games either, and this was very well done.

Dew says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:36pm

You must be a writter!

nikkesen says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Thank you everyone for your feedback. :)

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:26am

I love text adventure, so I found this a delight to play.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:38am

Felt like there were some nods 1984 and Fight Club. Amusing writing, quirky music.
Really cool!

moomoo112 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:00pm

interesting game, I liked how decisions seemed to perpetuate through the rest of the story

Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:54am

Finally, not a story about love. I liked it, found it sort of bleak though... I featured it in my Ludum Dare compilation series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O6xfnRK2Anw

tryzor says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 1:32pm

This was a nice story ;) Furthermore a nice way to implement a text adventure.

Sep 7, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Nicely made (and with appropriate music!), and pretty immersive, even if the place where it immersed me wasn't one where I particularly wanted to be. That said, being depressing was probably the point. It will stick with me for quite some time.

The theme felt shoehorned in. The writing is very minimalistic, and it became a bit dull to read after a while, but some lines were very well written.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]