August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

IMPETUS

by Dominik Johann - Jam Entry

Impetus has lost consciousness and her systems will fail in 10 seconds. Death is inevitable, but it can be delayed.
Sustain Impetus' life by pressing the button, which will reset the timer. Once it runs out, the game is over and can never be played again.

Switch on the game's sound in the upper right corner. Feel free to play one of the soundtracks provided on the site along with it.

A game by Dominik Johann (@zerstoerer), Jan Oelze (@JanOelze) and Jeremy Lonien (@Ludonaut), made in a couple of hours.

+++ UPDATE +++

After 89011 global timer resets and a lifespan of 42351 seconds, Impetus has perished and will never return.

I posted a post-mortem, check it out for details on the idea, making the game, how it became insanely successful and why it had to die. Also there's a gameplay video in there for everyone who didn't get a chance to play it.
Read it here: http://dominikjohann.tumblr.com/post/59611971605

Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#4Theme(Jam)4.17
#5Innovation(Jam)4.34
#60Mood(Jam)3.66
#152Overall(Jam)3.43
#226Graphics(Jam)3.52
#374Audio(Jam)2.56
#457Humor(Jam)1.69
#547Fun(Jam)2.18
#1613Coolness30%

Comments

Tork says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:30am

Background music: "youtube link" lol, loved the background pic and the idea of having her alive by everyone at the same time :D

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:35am

Really unique idea... rated this very highly. :)

kristof says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:37am

Very innovative and cool idea. A bit hard to judge though as there isn´t much of a game...

Raiyumi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:38am

This is a neat concept. Although, I think she died on me, but was reset on a refresh. Or maybe that was just me..

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:44am

@Raiyumi: Huh, that's weird, probably an AJAX / timestamp error. Once the timer runs out properly, it'll definitely show.

Meep says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:03am

Despite not really being a game, it's a really awesome concept. :) I like it a lot.

psychomonster says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:27am

social experiments? cool :D

Bobertmarsh says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:35am

I like it :3

BadgerPriest says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:48am

This is probably the most unique concept I've seen in this competition. Props to you.

Sestren says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:39am

Even if I do nothing, it seems like the counter resets after 5 seconds every time. I feel like I might understand the concept, but I'm not quite sure.

Travis Irby says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:42am

Love the idea! Nice job, fits the theme perfectly.

FlashDave says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:50am

Great idea, so simple and the concept fits with the theme so nicely. I'd like to feel like I'm playing with other people if that could worked in some how and perhaps a counter on how many times the game died could be nice but maybe that'd just spoil the fun? good job.

andrewkennedy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:16am

Brilliant idea!

RealMSHB says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:35am

wow
your idea is fanstatic

MidCry says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:50am

WOW

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:52am

Well this is a great idea.

Too bad not many people will be able to actually "play" it :(

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:58am

Update: IMPETUS is dead. Thanks to my web hosting service, which decided to block all access to the game's location, people were not able to sustain its life. Pretty sure that, with a stronger server, we could have kept this going for a while. Either way, what a ride! Thanks for playing!

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:34pm

Well, I got here far too late!
Sounds like it was a really cool idea, though. I'm surprised it lasted roughly 12 hours (if my math is right).

Jordo76 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:22am

I managed to "play" a bit before Impetus died, and it's a really fun experiment to wonder when someone is going to click on the button.

nicotuason says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:02am

What?! She's dead! I didn't even get to see her alive :c I feel so sad

sgehlich says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:24am

Amazing idea - didn't have a chance to play it, but I love the idea!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:36am

I don't know if you are already aware of this, but the german magazine Spiegel Online postet an article about this game: http://www.spiegel.de/netzwelt/games/online-spiel-impetus-klicken-gegen-den-weltraum-tod-a-918790.html

Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Sorry to all of you who have not been able to play IMPETUS. I just published a post-mortem that goes a bit further into detail about why the game died, how the idea came about, how many people played it etc. – there's also a gameplay video for all of those who missed it. Enjoy: http://dominikjohann.tumblr.com/post/59611971605

Xgor says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:02pm

Really cool idea... Wish I had the chance to look at it when it was active...

Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:36pm

It's sad, you should have done more advertising about the game because many people weren't aware to keep her alive.

Beavl says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:38pm

Interesting concept! Made us think of Glitchhiker: http://www.glitchhiker.com/ Congrats!

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:02pm

Brilliant, of course. Read about it via Hacker News.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:42pm

i wish i could have played it

Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:15am

Interesting but I can't play it now :(

rfgpfeiffer says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:39am

Was this 'the Cowpocalypse meets Curiosity'?

Zammy says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:30am

Hey @Dominik,
Please restart the experiment!
I know your idea was to have final death of the game, and never to be playable again. That puts precious value in it and on the "click to keep alive" button.
But consider this: the world didn't knew about your experiment! And obviously you put it on a weak server, with no preparation for huge amount of traffic!

A few suggestions what you may do now:
1. Explain the resurrection somehow: parallel universe, you found another space accident, etc.

2. Make thorough server preparation for insane amounts of traffic. Put it on a cloud, tier 1 servers, backbone. Prepare for insane results.

3. Contact the press BEFORE you launch! Set a date of the launch so everyone in the world know they should keep her alive! :)

4. Give time to the people. Tell the world like 1 month or something before you launch. Let them make communities around it :)

5. Use the power of the message for lightening people's conscience. Put some links around it with topics like Euthanasia, sustaining human life, organ donation, various medical conditions etc.

6. Make "resurrect her" website - where you'll count how many people press "resurrect" button, just to see how much is the attention to your project. I bet it'll be huge!

7. Make instances of it - depending on the people online, find other astronauts to be kept alive (or another theme more suitable for instances). So when you get in the website you may see "100 people kept alive" and you go to the "least attended one".

8. Put some numbers feedback for the keepers (players) to see how many of them are there.

Of course you may just ignore all of it and say "it was meant to be final". But I think you've find out great social phenomenon, and it would be a shame to not have larger reach.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:37am

Haven't played it directly BUT I feel we should be able to vote anyway based on all the indirect material. I'm in love with the concept. One of those games that makes you curse not thinking about it yourself. Well done!

01101101 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:26am

Really unique idea, I love it. Came there via your reddit post, so obviously the game had already ended but I really like the concept. Good job!

DuFF says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Beautiful.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:51am

R.I.P.

Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:06pm

AMAZING! Such a philosophical/art project

Sep 15, 2013 @ 1:24am

fantastic concept!!! Shame I didnt experiance it first hand but Im really impressed. 5 stars

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]