August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Goranha

by polskadot - Jam Entry

Badass Fish is in problems. Help him keep alive for as much as you can. It is simple, it gets faster each 10 seconds. Whatever you try, there will be blood. Search for no end, because it isn't there. You don't need it. Just tap Enter.

Made in 5 hours for the Compo, in which I couldn't put the game because of me staying away all weekend. Anyway I worked on it like I would have done to put it there so there is no change due to presenting it in the Jam. I worked solo, I worked sober.

The best development-time/quality ratio of all time.

_________

* The old version plays like the one at the first download. I uploaded both because of the issues that some user had with the former. Any other problem, please tell me.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness97%
#60Audio(Jam)3.65
#118Fun(Jam)3.37
#118Humor(Jam)3.12
#201Mood(Jam)3.16
#201Overall(Jam)3.31
#296Graphics(Jam)3.25
#406Innovation(Jam)2.68
#501Theme(Jam)2.60

Comments

stenol says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Cool little game. The music is good.

sgehlich says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:12pm

I like this! Nice little arcade game, very addictive :)

local minimum says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:13pm

I'm gonna believe that my 46 avoided is a good score. Really like the encouraging texts and the happy music to all that blood. You should add a high score system (though then I would know that my 46 was a really low number). Nice game.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:13pm

Fun little game, and the music´s awesome. I guess my main criticism would be that the text that pops up every now and again is a bit difficult to read while you´re playing.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Nice one! I really love the music :)

Jools64 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:15pm

Pretty fun and frantic. The avoided genre is not the most interesting one but the pacing on this felt really good. For being a 5 hour game, this is very impressive. It seemed quite polished and had good sound.

Well done!

choqaae says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Nice graphics and music.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Wow this music is amazing!

andreyin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Couldn't get it to run, got a GM error ):


___________________________________________
ERROR in
action number 1
of Create Event
for object objEsc:

Error defining an external function.

coreym1988 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:41pm

Really fun. I like the design of the piranhas and the music was great!

polskadot says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:30pm

At first thanks to everyone for the unexpected good critics.

@local minimum - I made the game as if I had only 6 hours left to put the game in the Compo so it turned to be really, really simple. If it gets more attention I could develop a further detailed version with highscore rankings or something. The score is pretty random. You can be the best but even with that you'll suffer if the game plays randomly hard on you.

@Doctor Broccoli - The idea was to put some messages to encourage the player to keep alive more and more while making him lose visibility and attention due to read the hand-drawn letters and attending to the crazy color changing. It's intended, lets say.

@andreyin - I've uploaded another version which includes all of the files needed to run the game properly. You may want to download it and try again. If that doesn't solve the problem please tell me so I can look for another solution.

Asar Dhandala says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:15pm

Addictive.

tigers says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:22pm

54 piranhas! Holy crêpes man, the music was great! The death animation was also satisfyingly fast and superb! ^_^

tony.pe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:34pm

84 piranhas aggggh best I could do

Really fun, nice job :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:40pm

173 avoided, yeah! A fun, well crafted lil game, I particularly enjoyed the music with this one :)

bitserum says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Very addictive, damn those pesky piranhas! It's very thrilling to play and those encouraging texts make you feel awesome.

DaGamesta says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:59pm

Fun little game. Too luck based for me to play it a lot, but it was fun nonetheless. Still rocks for a 5-hour game.

Optimus6128 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Simple yet effective. Fun!

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:14am

The game gets repetitive quickly. Nice graphics and music.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:59pm

this was an excellent game -- needs powerups!

polskadot says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:59pm

The only powerup I thought about was some kind of "press X to kill all piranhas on the screen" every 10 seconds but I was more inclined to add obstacles than could kill you than give you any kind of help...

kibertoad says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:43pm

very basic, but colorful and fun. loved the art.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:00pm

Fun gameplay and delicious music

namrog84 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:40am

Quite enjoyable!

I wouldn't have mind an 'ending' like you making it home to the reef eventually or something.

Overall awesome! The pirahanas sometimes seem to be a little jumpy/flickering? but overall quite awesome!

polskadot says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:47am

@namrog84 I recognize this probably could have been made in a more smooth way with the proper time but it was the first I could came up with for the compo. It was intentionally made that way to prevent the piranhas to be "linear and predictable", so they "jump" a random distance each time making the player be more cautious about skipping them and adding even more difficulty. If it hadn't been included all the piranhas would have had a really close speed and never changed their original direction, so this add a plus to the gameplay.

But about the jumps, you're definitely right. It was the easiest way and could have been made better I guess.

In terms of the "ending", well, I think it would change the game concept. With an ending, you'll be playing to reach home and never play again. Without it, it turns into a never ending game where you have to beat yourself on and on, getting higher and higher points each time. You may reach the ending and say "damn, at last I get to the fucking home, I'm going to delete this crap for ever", while playing without the ending you may be playing more like "shit, what a bad luck I had, I'm sure I can get a better run this time" and so on.

Arrow-x says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:01pm

good music ... and addactive

gmaker says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:59pm

really cool game! =) loved little fish))) the music very impotant to me=) good job!

Diptoman says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:15pm

Haha, this was a lot of fun to play. The soundtrack was awesome! And I liked the hand-drawn gfx. It's amazing you made this in 5 hours!

jomomomo says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:59am

Can't play windows.. can I get a web ver?

Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:33am

Ahhh wow nice game :) Addictive gameplay, awesome music. I love it :D

MuciojadPL says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:23pm

Good game, is very hard ;) Fantastic music and funny idea! Dobra robota :)

Zerot says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:53pm

Well Done.

Sep 6, 2013 @ 1:38pm

48 avoided so far :P

PaperBlurt says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Kinda like a shump with fish! Great job!

nicotr014 says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Damn those pesky piranas. good job

01rafael says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 4:39pm

Nice game, but nothing about theme.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]