August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Lost Pixel

by unitycoder_com - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Pixel. Lost.

Sounds using usfx > https://github.com/zeh/usfxr

Project sources: http://www.mediafire.com/download/e1bpyc6w243m9rf/LostPixel_ld27_unitycoder_com.unitypackage

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#67Fun3.70
#239Overall3.41
#412Innovation3.16
#465Audio2.71
#508Mood2.79
#529Graphics2.93
#529Theme3.21
#879Humor1.68

Comments

jihop says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:36pm

Nice. It's very addicting. It seems like you're doing something to make it easier to find the color -- I really like it actually. Gets pretty challenging once you have a large grid!

Katamori says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:47pm

Overall: minimalistic madness, with addicting gameplay.

Innovation: there are some "find-that-thing-quickly" games already, but now in an overflowing amount, so it may worth a 4.

Fun: CAN'T STOP PLAYING! *m*

Theme: well, you are stricted in 10 seconds...but nothing else. Decide whether if it's enough - for me, it's a 3.

Graphics: background is fancy. Random appearing colorful pixels are fancy. These fancy things works in this game perfectly. But on the other hand, it's still not more can the same colours, instead of any kind of textures.

Audio: few, but enough. 4, for the lack of music.

Humor: no humor. Damn, is this category to important?!

Mood: I'm in space. *m*

Skully says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Nice little game, I like the increasing difficulty :)

GrimGary says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:50pm

Not conducive to my color blindness, but I still managed to make it to level 9. Couldn't make it past that after several tries ;) Like it, despite my disability to play it normally. =)

Todnut says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:50pm

Great art and sound for being so minimalistic. The matching was fun.

Webravenz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:50pm

very fun, I reached lvl 19 !

some colors are easier than others to find

Obscuremoon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:51pm

I've lost count of how many times I've reset this game to try to beat my score :)

Excellent work! Brilliant game.

redo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:56pm

Nice game! I think I will have to see my eye doctor because I did it terrible.

bufbot says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:07pm

Addictive !

plancien says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:41pm

funny idea. It's pretty hard ;-)

tinfoilboy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:27pm

I like this game, the concept is there and working which is nice, not much music on this but the timer beep helps, the graphics were okay, really only colored quads. It was fun to play, not much humor in it but, who really cares about humor? And it had a nice mood. Overall good job.

Oana says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Cute. I love the falling particles, +graphics for that. I got to level 7! :)

psychomonster says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:09am

Nice search the color game with the pressure of time. passed level 18 so i can't be so bad :D Like the concept.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:46am

Really nice game, simple but well done. I really enjoyed playing it and found it very addicting. I included it in my compilation video of LD27 games, if you wanna check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rhxp6zWGaGM

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:47am

Got to Level 30! Surprisingly fun and addictive! Falling particles are a nice touch.

I do think the difficulty curve could use a little tweaking. Played maybe 7 or 8 times and couldn't get past level 7. Then, my next try, I got to level 30. I suddenly felt like I had tons of time. I think I had something like 25 seconds when I got to level 30. But I burned it all on that one level and could never find the pixel.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:42pm

@Jupiter_Hadley thanks alot!

@Jarcas Studios never got over 2x myself Oo and yes, currently it simply calculates the extra time based on levels, so at higher levels it starts to add quite a lot..

esayitch says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:47pm

Arf... level 8 and no more xD

Pretty minimalistic and addicting game that fits the theme like a snug glove... good job!

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:46am

Fun and addictive idea!

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:41pm

That was really fun! Great idea and use of the theme.

xrm0 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:16pm

Nice game!

xhunterko says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:43am

Very good. Although the color blind may not like it much. Consider adding shapes or patters or icons to the squares. They were a bit difficult to single out. Plus some of the color choices were harsh on the eyes. Great concept though!

Super Hamster says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:29pm

Cool game but I don't know why you have to be so evil to me. (I'm slightly colorblind) And I found a bug if your interested, I had to look for a white square and there were no white squares on the board. I failed twice looking for that white square and since it is white it doesn't have to do with me being colorblind. Anyways, good job! :D

darkshadow says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:29pm

Got to lvl 27, amazed how I was able to almost instantly spot the odd pixel! Nice audio and good clean visuals.

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:46pm

Simple but effective.
I went to level 15 and get 4 shades of blue, I get lost.

Zerkruemler says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:38pm

Cool idea, very nice implementation. Has everything it needs

Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Simple but addictive. I did find that I did much better when I got a good run of bright colours.

tchem says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:15pm

great work !!!! awesome...

graytest says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Fun game. Would probably play often if I had it on my phone.

Dir3kt says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:17pm

At first I was puzzled. Trying to click on the small pixels lol ^^

Once I got it, it was quite fun and hectic. Nice one!

Erhune says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:21am

Simple but VERY addictive!

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 11:30pm

Really simple, but fun. :) Got to level 15.

cwkx says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Awesome idea, I liked the way the difficulty increased, and pixel graphics rock :)

LTyrosine says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Very nice idea. Funny as how this game would fit minimalism and 10 seconds theme =)

Liked it a lot. Congrats.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]