August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

"Save the comrades" - CAT_IN_THE_DARK_WOOD

by CAT_IN_THE_DARK_WOOD - Jam Entry

Game created using melonjs & html5. Wrote in sublime2 and tested in chromium.
Read dialogs - they are funny.
Each 10 seconds crazy general attacks you!! Your aim is to save as many comrades as possible. Attention: if you lose all comrades, except Sam, you defeat too - your aim is to save comrades!!! not only self )))

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#101Humor(Jam)3.25
#200Graphics(Jam)3.61
#226Audio(Jam)3.00
#319Theme(Jam)3.00
#346Mood(Jam)2.75
#366Innovation(Jam)2.78
#427Fun(Jam)2.57
#450Overall(Jam)2.74
#1698Coolness24%

Comments

Animated says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Interesting, but it gets a bit repetitive. Shrink the map size and decrease the number of missiles perhaps?

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:57pm

Very solid game. I enjoyed it.

sanojian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:59am

Nice dialog graphics. On firefox the screen kept jumping to the instructions on the bottom when I played.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:02pm

Nice work!! I really like the girl comments hehe.

Infin8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Interesting idea. Wonky AI and sound though.

nihilocrat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:57pm

Cool portraits, I'm not really sure why I keep losing even though I'm outrunning the crosshairs though.

pereubu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Hahahahahaha, I love the idea :D
Simple and funny, all it needed

dekart says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:32pm

I like the art! 5 points for it!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:11am

Nice idea!

folmerkelly says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:04am

Decent game, Love those portrait graphics.

someone says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:57pm

Haha, Excellent!

Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:36am

Awesome music and style.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:03am

Funny game and awesome music! I featured it in my Ludum Dare 27 compilation series if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=biBzDWmV3kc

Gabriel says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:23am

Very funny! The plot takes a completely unpredictable twist when the general decides to kill his own men, it's a totally crazy idea! hahaha

I found there are situations where it seems impossible to make some men cross the bridges, which makes some be left behind at each bridge.

Ah, GREAT music btw! Loved the funny military approach, very nice! Congrats!

asc3nsion says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:10am

I really like the art!

lucidlarva says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Being able to die from touching the missiles after they hit made it hard to be cheap and strafe to dodge, good choice.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]