August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Cutting Challenge

by Ken Ichi - Jam Entry

Done in 5 hours...

I want to put a environment but I dont have much time to 3d modelling things and coding at same time =x



*Added Post Compo*

- increased region of cut detection
- changed the perspective to isometric view
- created first object to cut: Tatami Omote
- background music added

Todo:
- environment
- user interface
- more to objects to cut
- improve the script to cut the same object 2 times or more

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#325Innovation(Jam)2.90
#377Fun(Jam)2.70
#425Theme(Jam)2.82
#460Audio(Jam)2.05
#466Overall(Jam)2.70
#483Graphics(Jam)2.58
#484Humor(Jam)1.50
#523Mood(Jam)2.12

Comments

LoneStranger says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:37am

Very interesting. I imagine it would be better on a touch device where you have more precise control over the cutter, but a mouse was adequate to show it off.

davisan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:24pm

Wow, incredible. Add more objects and cutting patterns and make a android version! :D

Ken Ichi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:11pm

thx guys... I will make an mobile version of this in the future =]

RoseNinja says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:21pm

nice game good job

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:06pm

Nice idea! Love how the cutting-mechanic is implemented / faked :P

bigbadwofl says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:57pm

Very nifty, well done.

zkenshin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Nice idea. :)

ChronusZ says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:43pm

This was very well implemented, nice job. If you made this into an iOS/Android game and fleshed it out a bit more, I'd buy it :)

Aske says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:43pm

I like it alot, it goes great with a bamboo pad ;)

Chinchilla says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Nice... its a shame the theme of this contest gets in the way of actually enjoying the game!

The controls probably need to be a bit more forgiving for mouse input than they would be for touchscreen. Could be a lot of fun with a longer play time, more objects to cut, combo multipliers etc.

Nicely done

Nerlin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:10pm

Some time addition could be awesome.
Fun game!

immanuela says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:12pm

You are getting 5 stars. Brilliant.

GarethIW says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:13pm

I agree with making it slightly more mouse-friendly at least, but the idea behind it was awesome.

darkshadow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:15pm

Nicely done, reminds me slightly of one of wii sport minigames. The mechanics feels very satisfy, to discourage waving about randomly you should cut the board in half regardless of if its done correctly or not, then the player will have to be more precise and careful.

jackdw31 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:25pm

Addictive and quite fun, but if you didn't get it straight across the line, it wouldn't cut. It was frustrating, which added to fun and addiction, but was really annoying.

mollymus says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:07pm

Like the others, I took think this would've made for a good mobile game! Well done, and good luck!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:36pm

Pretty fun, addictive game. I featured it in my Ludum Dare 27 video compilation series, if you'd like to check it out, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MGdyZZ8iT10

blackotus says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Cutting stuff up is always fun :)

Nice job on the sound effects, too.

Nice entry!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]