August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ten 2nd's

by Nights57 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Anybody can get first place in a race, but it takes a special hero to get second place! Become the all time 2nd best racer and win 10 races in second place. It's not a glamorous job, but somebody has to do it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#9Theme4.32
#47Humor3.78
#57Fun3.73
#73Innovation3.84
#131Overall3.59
#444Mood2.86
#718Audio2.23
#876Graphics2.35
#1229Coolness46%

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:54am

I lol'd at some points. Very fun, too.

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:59pm

The links seem to be broken (404)

Nights57 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:18pm

Thanks for the heads up, switched from Dropbox and rehosted it on Newgrounds

Vico says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Another good interpretation of the theme, indeed!

SneManden says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Very funny game. The graphics and sounds were quite poor, but what it lacked in those aspects, it had in fun and challenging gameplay. Quite humorous too - love it!

wally2069 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Neat little racing simulator =)

stephan_h says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:59pm

This game was way more fun than I expected.
And I am so dumb: It took a few seconds til I realized that you are spot on with the theme.

Bmanrules says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:00pm

Very nice! Loved the use of "10 2nds". I saw another game with athletes based on the same theme, not sure if it was independent or what, but still awesome! Visuals are fantastic!

Zuige says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:00pm

The last level laser things didn't seem to quite work as expected but the game was still beatable. Lovely!

SamC says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:00pm

awesome interpretation of the theme, good job

Latcarf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Very fun!
The Linux version doesn't work on ArchLinux (because of a version mismatch in libgtk-x11-2.0.so.0) but the web version does. Also you need to include the source.

Thepattybeast says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:08pm

awesome game and very very cool use of the theme got stuck on level 9.

michail says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Fun idea and very smart level design. The humor is also good :)

imef says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:14pm

I like the idea! It was quite fun to play!

fdevant says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Hard game! Clever scenes haha.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Great twist on the theme. The game is hard, but it's quite satisfying when you finally get the second place.

Nights57 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Thanks for all the nice comments guys! It's really gotten me into a great mood :D.

Thanks for letting me know about the linux mismatch (also that I forgot to up the source)!

flarb says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Hahaha--I love this game. The idea of getting 2nd place is genius. That could be a whole LD48 theme - "underachievement"

whiteravens says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:26am

LOL, we have the same interpretation of the theme. Unfortunately, I can't run your game, it crashes on my Windows, and Newgrounds say it's under review.

Try my game out here too:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-27/?action=preview&uid=23106

flyingbear says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:45am

There's a surprising amount of skill involved in getting 2nd place! Nicely done

dumasflo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:33pm

Nice interpretation of the theme :D Surprised me ! Good job ! :)

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:00pm

Very funny, but some levels are more luck than skill and I was not able to finish the last level since it sometimes does not react on my keypresses. Good ideas. Keep on creating such games

hbocao says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:52am

Good take on the theme, good graphics and nice sound (which remind me of Gran Prix of Atari era).

ravine says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 9:29pm

I really liked how you interpreted the theme!

JonathanG says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:34pm

Very innovative! It's a simple idea, but fun to play and keep trying at

dcolgan says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:53am

Haha this game is hilarious and a great alternate use of the theme.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]