August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Red/Blue

by aaronj - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Made in about 12 hours. I wish I could have expanded on it a bit, but I don't have the time right now.

Each level has a ten second time limit. As the countdown progresses, the timeline at the top of the screen indicates when the red or blue blocks will solidify. Your goal is to reach the star pedestal before time runs out.

Press Up to jump.
Left/Right to move.
Press down while jumping to break cracked blocks.

You can collect stars for a bit of additional time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#92Fun3.60
#165Theme3.64
#184Graphics3.60
#246Overall3.40
#337Innovation3.28
#542Audio2.58
#652Humor2.07
#759Mood2.47
#1377Coolness41%

Comments

mrcdk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Wow, solid game you have there! Good graphics, good gameplay and good game mechanics, good job!

coeoliver says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:22pm

I like the game play but the audio and the hard ness let it down

ghostmaple says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:33am

Suggested polish: A little bit of "Ready?" warning time when a level starts/restarts and a way to restart a level immediately (in case you miss a jump). I dig the idea, nicely done. Get that out to the public, man.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:41am

Like the idea of this game, the audio is a bit harsh and the levels are sometimes really hard. I do like this game loads though and I featured this game in my compilation video of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/okyxuWBF5Yw

lalanl says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 2:49am

I love the graphics, especially the glow when you reach the star. The movement allowed for very little error, so I couldn't get very far into the game.

Ossi says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 2:54am

Cool game! Interesting use of the theme and I really liked the alternating of blocks on the timer. It got pretty tricky later on although I wish there was some way to ready up before a level starts. A lot of times I missed out on jumps cause I wasn't ready to move. Good sound effects although the switching of blocks sound was a bit too loud. Great job!

ghRibacki says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 3:03am

Lovely mechanics! Graphics are simple but very pretty!
I wish it had more levels, though, it has so much potential!
I'm in love with this one! =D

Binary Gambit says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 7:55am

I had a dll error on win8 64bit but once i spammed "close" enough the game started anyway. Nice game, enjoyed it! Just needed a reset button!

Marcellus says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 10:04am

very nice gameplay, stressful and active, require multiple tries to beat some levels and perfect execution which is kind of nice, good graphics, the sounds were a bit annoying but without them the game loose it's rhythm so it's still better to play with them. great overall job and theme using, congrats !

Sheep says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 10:26am

For a non-finished game this plays really well. Of course there are some things like no restart button, or the level not ending when you're at the star already. Besides that it's fun gameplay.

Sep 6, 2013 @ 12:13pm

Audio's a bit irritating but the gameplay itself is sound. Can see this being popular with a little polish. ^.^

AlexFili says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 2:56pm

Very innovative. I liked the sounds and the way the game worked. The difficulty does ramp up a bit by the end but overall it's a fun game with a lot of care taken to make sure it looks presentatable.

Empyrealhell says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 5:55am

I have to admit that after reading your description I had pretty low expectations, but aside from missing a real interface that was a pretty complete game. While it was very simple in terms of gameplay the controls were tight and it was actually fun.

EmptyFlash says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Got the "No OpenAL.dll" error a bunch, but after pressing okay a ton, I could play it. Pretty fun!

Oxygamer says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:07pm

My Game is much better than yours! OHOHOHOHO ! Russian Alien watching you .............

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]