August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 seconds to LAUNCH!!

by senseidav - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I have thought to make this game because simple games are always the most addictives.

My brother lend me a hand with code, but I have done all the process of making this game, even the sound xD

I hope you enjoy.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#380Humor2.59
#648Audio2.38
#870Theme2.80
#876Graphics2.35
#890Fun2.50
#959Mood2.13
#994Overall2.56
#1011Innovation2.26
#1281Coolness45%

Comments

juaxix says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 6:22pm

wow man, so cool!
:)

Gus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:17am

Mashing the buttons, is that the only option?
jk

Dude, your game is pretty simplistic, in a way I would say, you didn't put too much effort in that.
Ok, I can be wrong, my own game is pretty much minimalist too, and I had a hell of work to make that sh*t work properly on construct, but you could at least try to explore something different, srsly, it's pretty dumb, I don't know if you love rockets or anything, but if you do try to put some extra effort next time, even your game lasts 10-seconds or something xD

juaxix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:16pm

@Gus if you are trying to give efforts, you are failing, the first entry is always complicated...

juaxix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:17pm

You rock-et :)

senseidav says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Gus is taking his revengue, because of my comment before.
No problem juaxix.

About my game, It´s not only to push a button (like yours), you have to take advantage of that 10 seconds to refill energy, and just before 10 seconds finish, to lauch rocket with higher possible score..

I found it very funny, don´t you ?

imef says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Fun little game! ^^
A tad minimalistic but had fun playing it.

PS: I love the launch SFX! ;)

TobiasW says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:39pm

The sound effects are quite funny. The game itself is a bit on the simplistic side, but hey - everyone starts small.

A restart button when you fail would've been nice.

Congratulations on your first Ludum Dare game!

urth says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:28am

The Mac app did not work.

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:41am

pretty cool :)

-ENDESGA

senseidav says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Thank you TobiasW for your comments. I think to do two clicks, one for closing crack screen and another to start game its no so much work for user..

Urth im trying to solve the app problem, i think is because of the "score" file location.. Thank you for reporting.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:09pm

Cool! It is nice of you to distribute 32 and 64 bits versions!

Latcarf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:22pm

This is way too slow, I can't play it :-(

Laelien says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:22pm

Simple yet cool ! The little sound is very effective, even though I bet you must have felt pretty dumb recording it :P

senseidav says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:27pm

I must say truth, Laelien: I felt a dumb and a clown to equal parts.

The hardest part was to keep standed-up, doing the "launching Fx" 10 seconds with no laughts.

Now people call me "Last blowing hero" :D

murilo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:01am

Very simple game and a little fun, the graphics are nice and consistent! My grip was with having to wait so long to restart each time. Good first entry!

john_conder9 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:00pm

Took me a few tries before I figured out how the scoring works (I think I understand it now: the faster you launcher the rocket, the higher your score?) Other than that, it's a fun little game. If you keep developing on it, adding a few more mechanics or extras or something to give it some replay value, it'd be a great little casual app game IMO. Of course, if you ported it to something like android or ios you'd probably need to make it "tap this screen area" or something but, still, cool game.

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:01pm

I like! I think the simple ideas always are the best. Music maybe? This was my first every game dev comp ever too!

JD557 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Fun concept, although the game is a little bit too easy.

Almax27 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Nice game, unfortunately I'm bad at typing xD

kratorspore says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:09pm

Simple button mashing fun!

hissssssssss says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 4:48am

I loved the handmade rocket sound effect.

Sep 11, 2013 @ 3:09pm

Nice one, and cool graphics. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]