August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10x10 seconds

by Anton_D - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first time that i participated in Ludum Dare and I really learned a lot. The game is not 100 procent how I how i wanted it to be, but I think it's pretty decent for a first entry.
It is a zombie shooter game, which lasts 100 seconds and every 10 seconds you get an upgrade, but another zombie spawns.
There is currently no music and pretty bad art, but that's because I have no artistic talent.
I hope you enjoy it!

Note:(To get the source,open the .jar with an 7ZIP or winRAR)

IMPORTANT: I developed this on an azerty keyboard, so the controls are a bit messed up -> use the arrow keys instead.
+ please read the "Help" section -> the first 10 seconds of the game you can't move.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#883Theme2.77
#897Audio1.65
#1001Mood2.00
#1092Fun2.08
#1095Overall2.37
#1104Graphics1.88
#1114Innovation2.00
#1281Coolness45%

Comments

Tegu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:56am

Somehow it felt a bit buggy for me. Could be because of poor machine, but the bullets go through enemies without doing anything at times. And I coudn't move most of the time (tried pressing WASD but nothing happened except it seldom moved slightly and then stuck again). The player could also turn constantly when moving the mouse and not only when shooting. The spawn point could also vary slightly around each spawn as now you can just spawnkill every monster until the spawn changes again.

josefnpat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:41pm

The game was a bit glitchy, and I wasn't able to use the arrow keys. Also, the angle the player aims at should match where the mouse is, not when it clicks!

Nice job!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:05pm

Seems a bit buggy... :|

mort96 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Hit detection seems to be a bit off. Nice job though!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:44pm

Good job for the first contest, the design is neat.

The collision system needs a rework though, often my bullets just flew past the zombies and they got stuck randomly.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Kind of glitchy, nice idea with the 10 second upgrades, good attempt!

Sh1rogane says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:37pm

It is a bit buggy, but it is a good first attempt

antonijn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Very fun little game! Sucks that you uploaded the wrong build. Good job! Liked the style and was pretty fun to play, fit the theme very well.

manabreak says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:16am

Congrats on your first game! Good job for your first LD entry, and despite the game was somewhat glitchy, it was surprisingly fun. :)

I suggest you to go through the code and fix all the bugs you have there, you will learn a lot more in that as well. For example, the collision boxes were quite a bit off, sometimes the bullets went right through the zombies and sometimes the bullet didn't "visually" hit, but it still killed them. Also, they got stuck behind the spawn point a couple of times. Minor things and simple to fix these. :)

X-0r says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 10:30am

I couldn't move my character at all, not with arrows, not with WASD... Does anyone have a hint how to fix that? Also, a few enemies seem to ignore my shots. Assumption: If the enemy spawns after a shot bullet, it won't check for collision, maybe? In any case, great to see another newcomer around =)

Anton_D says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 4:38pm

@X-Or I'm sorry to hear about all the bugs that are in the game. The first 10 seconds all movement is blocked and after that you should be able to move around freely. The bullets go indeed go sometimes through the zombies, I forgot something in the collision detection method.

Koltiman says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Nice little game you got there! The collisions between the zombies and bullets seems a bit off, but otherwise, i enjoyed it!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]