August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

CubePocalypse

by Theformand - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The gods are angry, and the cubepocalypse is upon us!

-Fiery meteors fall from the sky, wreaking terrible voxel destruction
-Worship the gods at the blue shrines before the countdown resets, or the gods will increase their wrath (You dont want that).
-Pick up shield powerups to survive the nasty meteor shower
-How long can you survive?

[EDIT] I guess the timer part isnt at all obvious. My bad. You basically have to find the shrine before 10 secs, or it disappears and the gods will punish you for being a heathen bastard :) Reach the shrine before the timer, and the gods will show lenience...for now.
After it resets, a new shrine appears somewhere else


This was pretty much just an excuse to check out a new plugin for Unity which can do Voxel terrain.

Tools used:

Unity
Cubiquity for Unity
Photoshop
Audacity

NO WEB OR MAC BUILD? WTF?!
-No, sorry the voxel terrain plugin currently only supports Windows builds

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#58Graphics4.07
#199Mood3.28
#217Overall3.44
#318Audio2.96
#366Fun3.15
#574Innovation2.93
#633Humor2.11
#828Theme2.85
#1229Coolness46%

Comments

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Beautiful game. There was one part where you get stuck because an underpass was too low to pass under. I couldn't explain where it was. Otherwise, I really enjoyed it.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Interesting idea, good execution.

0xc0dec says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Well, the plugin did the job =)

bonsairobo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:09pm

I like the visual effects of the cube meteors. I didn't really understand why the clock would hit 0 then just restart.

SmudgedCat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Great looking game. I was also puzzled about what was going on with the timer. It just seemed to reset all the time.

bvanschooten says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Looks and sounds very good, excellent work for 48 hours. I think the gameplay needs a little more work though. I couldn't figure out what the timer does, and being hit by a meteor seems random. Also, I found it rather hard to climb the hills.

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Nice concept ;)

Symmeteer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:38pm

Oh wow that was crazy. I did eventually see what the timer was about, but it wasn't obvious. Nice graphics.

Theformand says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:11pm

I guess the timer part isnt at all obvious. My bad. You basically have to find the shrine before 10 secs, or it disappears and the gods will punish you for being a heathen bastard :) After it resets, a new shrine appears somewhere

Clurect says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:59pm

This was really cool. One thing that I have to say is that it didn't work too well with two screens. The mouse kept going to the other screen.

Glockenspiel says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:36am

got stuck in a part in the map because i could jump high enough to get out and the way out of there was too low to get under. so then a particle hit my and i got pushed half ways under the map.

skywing says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:50pm

I like the use of voxels and the theme, but I'm not really sure what worshiping at the shrines does.

Ciaran54 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:53pm

nice terrain, and interesting mechanics ;) I thought gravity was a bit strong though ;)

Ninja says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:53pm

Awesome, I really like the meteor effects. A cool idea for a voxel game.

Travis Irby says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:39am

Wow lovee the look of the game! Saw this mentioned on the unity forum for the voxel plugin. Great work :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]