August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Antivenom

by flamecow - 48 Hour Compo Entry

EDIT2: Fixed again. Added instructions, woo!
EDIT: Fixed version. No longer impossible.

You're America's #1 doctor and you have been assigned a patient. While giving him a diagnosis, you notice he is looking rather pale. Oh no, he has only ten seconds to live!

Instructions [PLEASE READ]: Listen to your assistant (maybe not, actually). There are 5 syringes on the table. Pick one up, careful of what your assistant says (or doesn't say), and inject the victi- err.. patient! If you picked up the wrong syringe, you may click on the disposal bin to put it down. When you have the syringe, click on the patient's arm to inject him.

PLEASE READ: The source code is included with the game. I'm sorry to whoever views the code, however, as it might be horrible.

Linux and OS/X users, the download(s) for Windows and Source come with a .love file, which you can use if you've installed the LOVE2D framework.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness98%
#149Humor3.20
#219Audio3.15
#281Theme3.46
#369Graphics3.21
#593Mood2.68
#744Innovation2.73
#811Overall2.80
#1027Fun2.26

Comments

ericdpitts says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:18am

Short, sweet little game, good job! I loved the music track. It was a little bit unclear of what I had to do to stick the needle in the arm, but I got it eventually.

nikkesen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:38am

It's very easy to kill the patient, not so easy to save.

flamecow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:40am

If you're having trouble saving the patient, make sure you read what the assistant says.

disdanes says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:40am

The drawings and the text were excellent. I don't think I was ever able to save the patient though :(

Infernal says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:41am

quick game. needs some guidance about the clicking options once the hand is raised with a needle in it.

madk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:44am

It wouldn't run for me. The game window pops up and is immediately followed by a popup saying the program isn't working. I'm on Windows 7.

flamecow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:46am

@Madk I'm not sure why that is. I'm running Windows 7 as well and it works fine for me. If you want to play, maybe you could try downloading the LOVE framework and running the .love file (included in the .zip)? Sorry for the inconvenience.

@Infernal & Ericdpitts
I've updated the instructions on this page so that this hopefully won't happen.

Josh Riley says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:14am

Love the EDIT at the top, haha. As far as the game goes, I really enjoyed the music and color commentary from the assistant.

It took me a minute to figure out what to do, but I got it. I see that the instructions were in the description, but you might consider putting them in game, since most people are like me and skip over the details :)

flamecow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:34am

Instructions are now in the game.

josefnpat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:56am

It's hard to tell which one is the right one and wich one is the wrong one. I know the text is supposed to help identify, but it doesn't do well as the text flashes too quickly

Good job on your game though! Nice art!

Xatulu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:19am

Fun, good graphics, but really hard on the time and hard to find the right syringe.

Clavus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:38am

Short and sweet. There's a bit of an information overload though. Managed to save the patient once.

vrld says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:31am

I won! Have no idea how, because I just randomly clicked syringes until the patient survived. I never read what the assitant said (until it was too late).

The graphics, sound and implementation of the theme are superb, but it's not too much fun since it's too hard to make out how to win the game.

With better visual feedback the game would be great, like this it is "only" very good. I think that's ok for a first ludum dare ;)

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:39pm

I like what you did! Nice work ;)

GreenyUk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:33pm

Great graphics, great music and cool take on the theme. Bit short tho :)

Latency says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:36pm

haha that was pretty cool, nice simple game, was pretty funny, I enjoyed that

Xgor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:42pm

I gotta say it feels more like luck than skill when you save the patient. Pretty cool idea though.

Acrimiens says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Realy haaard!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Really cool idea, I saved his life three times but I'm not entirely sure how! Great music, really liked it and it looks neat too.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:50pm

I'd want to play, sadly win only

recursor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Reading the description for this game made me laugh, so you get humor points for that. The assistant is funny too. It took me a minute to figure out how to discard a syringe if you didn't want to inject him with it, but once I got it, I got it.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:18am

Good music. A bit weird game though. Good effort :)

Cthulhu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Who hired this fucking useless assistant? :D
Nice job.

bitserum says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:15pm

It fits the theme nicely, but between lots of syringes, the assistant chattering and trying to decide I just felt pressured and annoyed due to so little time. Love the music though and the overall idea behind it.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Interesting idea and nice art!

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:40pm

The idea is pretty simple, but the final result is awesome. This game made me laugh. A lot. Probably the funniest game I've played here.

(And goddamn, time to find a better assistant.)

Kragnir says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:15am

Interesting idea. Don't know if there is anything more than luck though.

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Creative use and fun environment..

Kohijin says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Very original and funny setting, but the text is too fast and I loose a lot of time just waiting for my assistant.

Almax27 says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Really unusual idea, awesome!

Only gripe was the font choice and size was a bit small and tricky to read. Otherwise though, nice one!

MrBlade says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 4:39am

I can never seem to save him. The assistant doesn't tell me in time! Nice work, very sounds. Great art. 5/10.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]