August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Thanksgiving Hero

by Amber - Jam Entry

Not only my first ever Ludum Dare, this is my first ever completed game (unless you count the one I made using a walk-through tutorial, which I don't.) I used RPG Maker VX Ace but did my best to create all my own assets even though this is just a jam entry. Everything I know about coding and spriting I learned in the past 48 hours, so go easy on me!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#214Humor(Jam)2.74
#351Mood(Jam)2.74
#389Audio(Jam)2.50
#438Theme(Jam)2.79
#453Graphics(Jam)2.69
#491Innovation(Jam)2.42
#530Overall(Jam)2.53
#544Fun(Jam)2.19

Comments

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:49pm

It says I need the RTP to run, could you include or give a download link to an distribuitable?

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:18pm

Downloaded the RTP to test it. Not bad for a first game, but I really don't see how it fits the theme.

Great game, anyway.

Amber says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:37pm

It's a little tricky, but it definitely fits... I don't want to give it away though so I'll let you think about it a bit. I will see if I can figure out how to include the RTP though, thanks for pointing that out!

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:02pm

I couldn't get past the squash. I tried everything and nothing worked :)

Amber says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Hmm, I will check it out as soon as I get home from work. Thank you for putting such effort into my dinky little game! :-)

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:37pm

No worries :) If it helps, it looks like the switches didn't reset after I lost the game. But only after I ate the squash, I think.

Amber says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:57am

Okay, in theory everything's fixed now. I mucked with what files are included so that downloading the RTP is unnecessary, and even managed to make it not include all the stock assets I'm not using so the filesize is reasonable.

The error with being unable to complete the game was not what I expected, but it should be sorted now. A whole lot of things which were supposed to reference global switches had reverted to my earlier code referencing self switches, which I think was caused by a bunch of copying and pasting of events I did while I was trying to fix tilesets and redraw maps.

Anyhow, it should be all set now!

Amber says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:06am

Except it's not. I don't know how you guys handle this stuff all the time!

Darien says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:39am

Welcome to game development. There's always one more bog to fix. :-)

Fun, silly munching game. PUNKIN PIE!

Amber says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:39am

Okay. I really think it's working this time. I'm going to leave it alone for a few hours and have dinner, anyway.

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:16am

But I wanted to eat the cactus! Sprites aren't bad for your first game, keep at it!

Mekuri says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:24am

Sweet little game. It took me a while to figure out how it fit the theme, but I got it! Nice thinking :P

The game itself isn't really that innovative, but for a first game ever, I think you should be proud. I was compelled enough to try until I got through all the food.
I really liked your graphics, and the music was good.

Typedeaf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:35am

The core gameplay is a regular old memory routine. Find the right sequence, repeat until you get it right. But the descriptions of the dishes, and the theme pun was great! It made you want to keep trying, to see what the next description would be. And even though I've never eaten any of these dishes, the game kind of made me hungry :B

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:44am

OH GOD, I got the theme now. Sorry, I'm kinda slow, hahaha. Nice interpretation :)

Downloading again.

Amber says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Thank you so much, everyone! I really appreciate the kind words.

ratking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:52pm

Hooray for your first game! Keep it going! Interesting what kind of ideas people have :D

spliter says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:01pm

It uses the theme perfectly, unfortunately the constant trial an error of the game isn't that fun.
I assume it would be a lot more fun if I actually knew the american dishes (since the clues are there) rather than having to go purely by guesswork on what i should eat next, and having to restart the sequence from the start each time I try the next item.

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:43am

The ominous music that plays when I fail at getting enough seconds is really hilarious to me.

manabreak says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:05am

Congrats on your first game! Really good job for a first timer, I must say. I love the walking hat character, really sympathetic. :)

gmaker says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:06am

not bad for first time! =) good job!

Arrow-x says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:25am

a new LD48er Like me good game frllow

namrog84 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:09am

Interesting game and idea

Intro dialogue was a bit too slow/long. Would have preferred spacebar to speed it up more than it did.

slightly Challenging game.

p.s. also really disliked the game extractor, would have preferred a zip instead of the exe expander thingy it had

Amber says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:33am

You prompted me to go see if there was a way to distribute the compressed game without the extractor, and lo and behold! There is. So I'll do that.

As regards the text speed, I agree with you, but changing the default settings for scrolling speed in RPG Maker, if it's even possible, is well beyond my current coding prowess. The next step up seemed way too fast so I picked the lesser evil. :-)

Zammy says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:21am

Great humor, mood and script! For a first game - you definitely should be proud!

X-0r says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Did you create the music yourself? I believe it fits quite well =)

The starting dialogue should be even faster forwardable, or moved to a seperate "how to play" area. I believe it's funny how you really tried to make sense with the "correct order" of eating food^^

Btw, your sprites are decent, good work!

SnoringFrog says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 2:05am

Absolutely loved this interpretation of the theme. It hit me about the time I figured out my 3rd dish. Definitely great work for a first game; a little boring, but I imagine your primary goal was to get something done and on the table (pun completely intended). Nice spriting as well. Hope to see you in future LD's!

hissssssssss says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 4:06pm

This was charming. I found the dramatic sound that plays when you lose both annoying and hilarious at the same time.

Amber says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 8:20pm

Thank you! I did do the music myself; I am a church musician by trade, so it's actually based on the melody of "We Gather Together," which is a traditional Thanksgiving hymn. I'm so glad people are digging the theme connection! I was really worried at first that no one would get it.

Thanks for all the encouragement! I'll definitely be doing more LDs in the future!

schnerble says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 11:06pm

Nice work - quite a unique idea, and well written :) Good work with the music too. It's a bit trickier for those of us not from the US to guess the order of the foods, but that's kind of unavoidable :)

Also good work on the staying power to get all those bits and pieces polished up! It's hardly the most fun part of LD, but very necessary.

Incidentally, I've been trying to encourage my other half to join LD too, but no success yet...

Oh - and I finally just got how your game fits the theme... interesting take! :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]