August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Killer

by tchem - 48 Hour Compo Entry

killer is my first participation in ludumdare.
I am really happy about the Ludum Dare experience, would participate again in the future.

I hope you enjoy it.

Killer is done.
The game have 40 levels.
The idea is simple as well as the mechanics and graphics.
10 seconds are the essence of a killer. The actions of a killer are are unpredictable, methodical and fast, but always have a constant pattern.
In the game, the killer is the Screen. Our Screen.
The screen moves in all directions, turning into a thirsty killer.

Use ARROWS to move.
P to pause

* web version is unfinished.

any problem with the file game, please tell me.
OSX version soon...

andre teruya eichemberg
tchem_8@hotmail.com
facebook.com/particlethegame

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#141Fun3.51
#148Innovation3.63
#180Overall3.50
#420Theme3.31
#517Mood2.78
#864Humor1.71
#885Graphics2.34
#887Audio1.70

Comments

pyromatical says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:57am

I like the concept. Couldn't really get the web version to work with Firefox but the windows one worked fine. I think the difficulty and controls need some tuning though. Good start ;)

rylgh says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:44am

Really fun, got quite into it. It's neat how most levels are more of a puzzle than a twitch thing. Got stuck on 29.

Suese says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:45am

It reminds me of one of the very first games I ever made. Keep at it!

ben says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:45am

Nice idea, well executed! After dying several times it became more about being able to predict what was going to happen rather than actually getting better at the game. Would probably be more fun with a gamepad as well.

sparkleswirl says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:51am

Great game. Super simple, but with lots of variety and challenge.

kevinAlbs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:30am

Nice job! It's simple but looks polished. I really like the elasticity effects.

Ravetcofx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:31am

Its not my favorite, but I hope you had fun making it :)

Tork says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:33am

You crazy little dude/dudette, I stopped playing your game at lvl 15 because I should rate other games 5/5

Omar_q8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:39am

Great Game! got to lvl 15 before my face started melting, but good job!

ix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:41am

This somehow felt like an abstract Hotline Miami. I much enjoyed the music and the graphical style. The jiggling of the rectangles adds a spastic feel.

DaleP says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:09am

Unique and addictive. I played the web version up to level 25 and was surprised at how smooth it was.

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:42pm

REAL good gameplay.. addictive, but the theme I feel is missing..

PackSciences says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Very difficult maze.

Spit Tex says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:18pm

I have to say this is quiet a fun game. But the fact that the shots are homing and the screens seem to close in on you leaves the difficulty curve rising too quickly

Jayjay says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:26am

Gets aggressive/tough pretty fast! =]

Wertle says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:49am

Super hard but interesting. I think this game would be nice with some kind of analog input to make it easier to react to the fluid changes of the screen - something to keep in mind if you decide to keep working on it.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:15pm

Interesting concept! Original game with good music is exactly what we need ;)

crazyrems says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:26pm

Addictive ! Can't... stop... playing !
Well designed

zatyka says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:29pm

I enjoyed that quite a lot. I found the difficulty curve a bit high, but other than that, there isn't much to complain about. With a little more work, I could totally see this being an iphone or android app. Keep up the good work.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:56pm

Well done. The difficulty arc could have been toned down if there are 40 levels, but for as far as I got, this was fun. Good job!

Erkberg says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:05am

Really challenging, but I enjoyed it a lot. Nice idea!

ChronusZ says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:29pm

I don't know about the download version, but level 17 bugs out on the web version, which made me very sad because I enjoyed playing this very much :) The difficulty scaling is perfect, and the collisions were spot on, which is important in a game like this.

tchem says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:39pm

@ChronusZ: strange man,,, :(
I will see what can be happening... thanks

kristof says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Amazing! So simple and jet so addicting! Cool Idea! I got to level 31 ;)

immanuela says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:46pm

I love this game! Never ever come across this idea before, great work! Kudos for getting so many levels done!

immanuela says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:47pm

This worked for me in Firefox, by the way.:)

Kragnir says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:58am

Nice idea but too much screen shaking and erratic movement for me.

tchem says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:09am

Thanks everyone for the comments, ideas and criticism. I am very happy for the feedback and the positive reception of the game. I think in continue to work on it more, make it more balanced and more dynamic during the levels. Working also the issue of sounddesign and color palette during the progress.

Badrpas says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:44am

Good job! I've get addicted and finished it:
http://s11.postimg.org/chmvrt48z/OMG_I_HAVE_MADE_IT.png
Last level with blinding and this little squares... sooo hard.
I really enjoyed this game!
P.S. After level 20+ it's hard to see what is current stage is.

tigerj says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:04am

Oh man it's like my addiction to hexagon all over again!

Nice work. add some crazy beats to it!

zeh says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Great minimalist entry. Very well done.

zlowrance says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:35am

Interesting concept, and good gameplay. Keep it up! :D

crashbanito says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:39pm

Such a simple concept that performs beautifully in practice. Good job!

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 12:39am

Really great!! For a 1st entry it was really well done and I wasn't expecting so many levels, when I reached level 10 I was thinking "Sheesh! I don't know if I can take it much longer, It must be over soon" but then more 20 hair ripping levels followed "when will this masochist madness stop!?" Nevertheless I kept playing till the end, the game is really addictive but very frustrating sometimes, I enjoyed it a lot.

Andresh says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 2:22am

Great idea! Please turn it into a full game! Maybe improve the commands but still the concept is great! Loved the added enemies to avoid the player just standing in the middle of the screen.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]