August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Cubic Run

by SpiralCodeStudio - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Here is my first Ludum Dare submission
Cubic Run - an endless runner.

RUN UP TO THE STARS !!!

Your goal is to run from Cubester, but you don't have much time - 10 SECONDS. Collect power ups on your way to increase time and gain new abilities.
White power ups - +10 seconds, cyan power ups - gain abilities.
Abilities are random and you might need to get several cyan power ups before you get any effect.

Abilities are: leave a trail, make sparks, double and triple jump, gliding (hold to glide) and teleport (touch left side to quickly go down).

I hope you will like it. If you played Canabalt before - be sure to try my game! It is much more generous - it lets you climb up a platform even if you missed it.

The game gets harder after 1000 mark. And around 5000 it gets pretty challenging!

Primary target platforms - Android and iOS. But the game can be played on Windows and Mac, however you would have to install Corona SDK (http://coronalabs.com).

HOW TO RUN ON WINDOWS AND MAC OS:

First you need to run Corona SDK. For Mac it's an executable, for Win it's an installer
When you open Corona, go to "File" menu and select "Open" (Top Left corner). Choose the "CubicRunLD" directory from the archive and click "Open". Choose "main.lua" file and again click "Open".
You can change the resolution in "Window -> View as" menu. Best played in Ouya 1080p or 720p.

Also please install the font GlasnostDemibold.ttf, it is the directory with the game's source.

Sorry for inconvenience.

Made with Corona SDK.

MUSIC

I didn't make a music for it, but it sure plays much better with some groovy music!
I can't submit for Compo with music included, therefore if you want to play with music please visit my site:

http://spiralcodestudio.com/?page_id=38

Thank you guys!
You are awesome!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#359Graphics3.23
#418Fun3.09
#506Audio2.63
#569Overall3.04
#645Humor2.08
#721Mood2.51
#1011Innovation2.26
#1038Theme2.49

Comments

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:09am

Love the game, while being simplistic I find the color schemes to work well. The gameplay can get repetitive after a while but the little box seems so lively when it jumps.

Budda says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:05am

Very cool little game.

Adam says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:12am

Great reminds me of Bit.Trip which I loved.

Ravetcofx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:35am

I looks amazing, but there is no linux version for me to try it out with :(

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:35am

Lots of cool stuff in there for 48 hours. Good execution.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:36am

Should probably post this as a general question somewhere but I think even including stuff that's "not meant to be judged" is against the rules. By that logic, you could make a game with another artist's art & say "don't judge the art" but it would affect the overall impression of the game. /shrug

scriptorum says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:44am

1367. Works well. Hard to test the "left slam" on the simulator, but the glide and extra jumps were useful.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:44am

Dark Acre Jack, of course using crucial assets and saying "don't judge them" is against the rules. But music is just supplementary. My main version does not have the music included, so I think it's fair. It doesn't affect overall impression until you read the post to the end and specifically download version with music.

Anyway, if admins say it's against the rules - please edit my post and remove those additional links or just notify me.

pvwradtke says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:46am

Loved the monster character design, even if it's not a playable character. Fun game to play, but getting it to run was a lot harder than I'd expect. It's not intuitive that you have to open the simulator and search for a Lua source file.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:46am

In addition about the music - I did ask in the IRC channel, I got answer it's OK.

noom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:02am

I liked this a lot, very clever. Didn't really like needing to install the simulator to run it but it wasn't that bad in the end. The abilities were a great touch. Lots of fun!

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:48pm

Nice work!

pythong says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:03pm

IMO, Dark Acre Jack is right with what he said. LD's 48h spirit is for creating >everything< yourself, and please, don't play it down saying 'music does not affect the overall impression'. Since this is your first LD, you don't know yet, but just go play the games of the others. In fact, in does make a huge difference having music or not in your game (plus, 'good' music)

For fairness, you should enter this game as Jam version, since you used content not created by yourself (in the Jam version you are allowed to do so). For the LD48 though, you should remove the music and reupload that version accordingly :/

pighead10 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:23pm

Starts slowly. Really good graphics, I thought this was a jam entry at first.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:26pm

pythong, ok, I don't have to reupload anything since the main version does not have music from the beginning. However I moved links for versions with music further to my site.

I just want to let people enjoy my game, don't be too strict, please.

Reaperguy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:00pm

I only watched the video but it seems really cool, nice graphics and music!

josefnpat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:08pm

Nice job! Very clean, and straightforward.

Jhelle says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Game has some nice clean art. I liked the gameplay but don't really see the theme in this one. Good job

ps: for the weekend jam you can't use someone elses music

Szedouu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:43pm

very very nice game, I enjoyed it lot!

doonay21 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:12pm

I love the simplicity and minimalism in this one! Graphic design is catchy and music is nice for ears. What is more to ask for! Great work!

Zuige says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:12pm

A very simple canabalt clone. -1 overall for making it difficult to launch. Sound were quite horrible as well. :s

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:15pm

This game is a lot of fun! Nice job:)

local minimum says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:30pm

I like how one could stay on the bottom side of the blocks as well as on top of them. There should be some bonus if you manage that long enough. I think the difficulty progression could be worked on a bit, wanted it more challenging after a while. In all a nice game though!

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:38pm

love the visuals, nice graphics, very moody!

timtipgames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Plays very fluidly and I like that the periods don't expire but stack.

Tork says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:22pm

As promised I rate your app.
Well I loved the art, the physics are really nice, you made this game pretty good actually, all your graphic design and coding looks flawless.
What I didn't like: 5 seconds warning was too loud (at least for me) and some times even if you play perfect you wont find a 10 seconds power-up.

zlowrance says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:01am

Good job, I liked it :D

KevinWorkman says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:12pm

This is a great start and really well polished, but it's a little too simplistic and easy. Nice job for 48 hours though.

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:40am

Solid mobile runner. Also, the first Corona SDK game I've encountered in this Ludum Dare so far.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:03pm

Couldnt record this game for my ludum dare 27 video compilation series, but I found it really fun and cute :)

Afal says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:03pm

this game isn't really made for the ouya as the description says it is. Works better on mobile.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:34pm

Afal, the description is about window size. If you select "Ouya 720p" in Windows or Mac, the windows size will get bigger. To 1280x720.
I hope to publish for Ouya later.

Afal says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:59pm

Ah, that expains it (doh!). Look forward to seeing it on there :)

Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:13pm

With Mac and Android-builds? Awesome!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]