August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Streets of Rift

by wkerslake - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You have 10 seconds to walk across the street without getting hit by a car. Larger streets have a pickup to give you an extra 10 seconds if you make it half-way. 28 levels if you can make it.

-Designed to be used with Oculus Rift
-You can play without using the mouse to look left/right but you still have the double screen, and can't look up/down.

Video of gameplay:
Level5: http://youtu.be/QSvZCK0X-fY
Level8: http://youtu.be/JlApWIgRyfU
Level10: http://youtu.be/JkRFzohJKgc

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#54Innovation3.91
#131Fun3.53
#165Overall3.53
#186Mood3.30
#289Theme3.45
#300Graphics3.34
#302Humor2.73
#343Audio2.92

Comments

wbobeirne says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:02am

Wish I had a rift to try it out! Awesome work making an OR game though.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:03am

Went to lvl 12 and stopped, seemed to start repeating.
Don't have an Oculus but still pretty cool. I would love to get one though.
Would be nice if the intersection or cars had a littel more variety.

Nighttime was nnice. What about a sunset/morning where sun-glare is in eyes looking one way? Who knows, still pretty cool concept

superjoebob says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:09am

This is pretty damn cool, I got to level 11 before I gave up. Really makes me wonder what a first person driving game would feel like with the rift, it definitely simulates crossing the street pretty well :P.

wkerslake says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:11am

@Namrog the levels repeat on a cycle of 4, but each time the cars are faster and with less space between them. So it gets harder, but yes could use more variety.

BMacIntosh says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:20am

Clever use of the rift, I like it! I also like how the levels progress (night driving, parked truck in the way). I wanted to see what else you had done, but I got a bit dizzy by level 11 :(.

noom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:21am

Wish I had a rift D:
Was fun enough without one though.

RobotParking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:57pm

WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:07am

Rift-Game? Incredible :)

Optimus6128 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:01pm

Nice concept. I don't have a rift but tried it. At first I was like, how the heck am I supposed to look around? But then,. the head tracking of course. I am curious how this would be with the rift.

wkerslake says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:52am

You can look left/right with a mouse, but it's obviously not the same, experience.

Reyn says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:18am

Real life frogger :-) I like the simple untextured look. Only issue I had was that I was looking away from the sidewalk the first time I crossed the screen, so I didn't know to press space to go to the next level. Thanks

VeloSpectre says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:27am

I love the idea of using the rift. Even without it the game was pretty fun. you should have an expansion- Streets of Rift: J-Walker!

blackotus says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:32am

This is genius.

At first I didn't realize I could use the mouse to look around, so I just walked of and got squashed like a tomato. IT WAS VERY FUNNY!

I think this concept is great, must work great with a Rift!

A honking soudn effect would be cool!

Very nice job here :)

flarb says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:37am

GENIUS!

marccspro says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:12am

Funny game ! But it's weird without a rift but it gives a style to the game :D Good job !

codifeye says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:31am

I enjoyed that even without a rift, it was quite a shock to get run over when your back's turned!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:40pm

I don't have a Rift, but it still felt very cool. I could see this being a very fun Rift game taken to polish stages with art, sounds, etc. Could be very immersive. FPS Frogger :) Great 48hr effort and +++ points for Rift support.

davidwparker says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Dang- I don't have an Oculus Rift or Windows...

kibertoad says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 8:46am

please make a bonus round where I can get myself run over by trucks in the middle of the desert. or a cyberpunk city edition, like the quarantine games in reverse.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]