August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10" to rise

by canvapps - Jam Entry

10s to rise is a turn based game in which the objective is to colonize as many fields as the player can.
There is a 10 seconds cycle counter that defines how much time does it take to explore, harvest a forest, build a farm, a mine or docks, as well as destroying them.
When the docks are build it is possible to travel to a different user's world to colonize fields on it. To do so it may be necessary to destroy its buildings before edifying new ones.
There are four different civilization each of them provided with its own set of pictures. Maps are also generated with slightly different proportions of forest, mountain or sea.

There is an introductory tutorial that explains the dynamics and, once finished, provides the civilization's avatar. Notifications guide the player through the progress of the game. Stats show the amount of resources obtained as well as a final score. There is a 10 seconds cycle counter that indicates the evolution of turns, and the current action the player is performing. Only one action can be performed at a time.

There are many different actions:
Explore to unveil pieces of field.
Harvest trees and edify Buildings that provide different goods.
Build docks to unlock the hability to travel to diferent worlds.

There is also the possibility to play collaboratively with other players, planning group campaigns against other players.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#152Innovation(Jam)3.30
#334Theme(Jam)2.98
#417Overall(Jam)2.82
#451Humor(Jam)1.71
#470Mood(Jam)2.38
#488Audio(Jam)1.68
#498Graphics(Jam)2.52
#528Fun(Jam)2.25

Comments

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:21pm

This game is pretty cool! Ilike it, and I like how the map can grow and stuffs. I featured it in a compilation video on Ludum Dare 27 games, if you want to check it out, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y3_qdYR_Vsw

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:08am

Pretty nice, haven't seen a game like this in the jam yet. If there were a bit of audio maybe something to tell the player that the turn is over would be nice. Overall good work!

ivo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:00pm

There should be more games like this!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:03pm

It's a cool, original idea, not really my cup of tea though, but evidently crafted with care, and seems to have quite a bit of depth.

The instructions seems to be a little bugged, they sometimes don't update (especially after building my first dock).

Unept says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:03pm

Pretty unique take on the theme, and very unique type of game. I got kind of stuck after a bit, but assumed it was because I skipped any instructions, so I didn't blame the game. :)

Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:04pm

It's a cool, original idea, not really my cup of tea though, but evidently crafted with care, and seems to have quite a bit of depth.

The instructions seems to be a little bugged, they sometimes don't update (especially after building my first dock).

gre says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Good job! Original.

canvapps says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:33pm

Thanks for your feedback, we really appreciate your comments! The tutorial is missing a step (which is to go to another player's world in the ludumdare folder at canvapps.com/gallery, then build a building on one of their lands). We did not have enough time to include all the features we wanted to implement, but we will be adding a director's cut with how we pictured the game after the votation is over.

Many thanks again to you all for playing our ludum dare game!

Hayawi says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:44pm

pretty cool

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:54pm

Quite original game, but I wish I could skip the 10 seconds delay between each turn. Keeping a 10 seconds maximum for each turn + making the world change somehow each turn would be a good idea I think. I enjoyed it anyway, nice job.

Makio says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:31am

original, I really like the discovery of the map :)

Darien says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:56am

A bit Civilization-y; seems to be lacking a goal, though. You expand for a while, but then that's about it, yes?

tigerj says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:50pm

Very Unique and Original. I fun and enjoyable entry. Nice work.

jplur says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Very cool, also I like how you used your web app in progress as the platform, I bookmarked that so I can keep up with it in the future.

gmaker says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:53pm

good idea! veryvery cool! i loved it!

Gaspard_ says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:58pm

Go to someone, burn EVERYTHING!
That was defenetly the coolest feature!

fferro234 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:25pm

Interesting take on the theme. I wasn't really sure what I was trying to accomplish though.

ratalaika says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:29am

good job

cwkx says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:56am

Very innovative entry, not sure why the dock looks like a chicken drumstick but other than that good job! :)

Atridas says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:12pm

I really liked this game! You may want to try mine, as we approached the theme in a similar way ;-)

Valerien says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:14am

Pretty nice, and mostly the game feels original in its structure, at least as far as the ludum dare is concerned. It feels like it lacks some sense of challenge at the moment though.

dekart says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:06pm

Cool game, I like to play games of such kind. The only thing I didn't get yet - is there any kind of challenge in the game? Enemies?

deathray says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:48am

Congrats on making a multi-player game! Once I read how to go into other lands and I unlocked my avatar, I enjoyed it a little bit more. But it does seem to be too easy. No real decision points other than build, build, build, burn, build,...

Wertle says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 4:49am

Seems like this has good potential to grow into something really interesting. It wasn't clear what I was supposed to be doing with the resources (if anything). There are a few feedback things that might help out - having the status of what's going on be more apparent would help, it took me a bit to notice it. Good work!

nthird says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 1:24am

Interesting take on the world building type of game. Just felt like it petered out at the end. Would be interesting to see where it goes from here. The multiplayer aspect of it was really well done though.

canvapps says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:54pm

Thank you guys for taking a look and trying our game! We really apreciate it, and we really hope you liked it :)

We forgot to update our comments for some time, but I want you to know that we have reviewed all of your games and we have enjoyed them as child.

We also want to tell you againt that we are working on our director's cut of 102 to rise. We hope it gets out of the oven in aproximately two weeks. Have a look at our posts to stay tuned with it

Thank you everyone! We will meet at following ludum dares!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]