August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Notes of a melody

by Zerkruemler - 48 Hour Compo Entry

When you don't hear the sound, try reloading the page. There is an issue with asynchronous sound loading



A 10 second music part was scrambled somehow. Find the correct sequence to play the correct tune.

A short musical game using HTML5 and Javascript. Runs in modern HTML5 browsers. (Internet Explorer does not work)

The bumpy sound comes from the HTML5 Audio implementation. I didn't have the time to find a workaround, but I wanted to finish the game instead.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#44Audio3.66
#88Innovation3.78
#392Overall3.22
#440Theme3.29
#508Fun2.98
#690Humor2.02
#748Mood2.48
#1143Graphics1.76

Comments

rezoner says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:23am

There is a nice idea behind these not really appealing aesthetics. With help of a musician and an artist it could be actually pretty fun.

sol_hsa says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Admit it - you did this just to show off your mad ukulele skillz. =)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Cool idea. The music samples can overlap which is cool in some cases but a little annoying if you advance the level. I'd have them cut off if the player advances.

Nice work.

dekart says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:47pm

Not sure how to pass the first level. Probably I didn't read the instruction carefully?

sanojian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:50pm

This game is nice and relaxing.

Latcarf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Very cool game :-)

fferro234 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:54pm

Good music game. Might be tough if someone is not familiar with some of these tunes though but I guess they are all pretty well recognizable.

PackSciences says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:31pm

A good musical game.

Larzan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:13pm

Eddie, that you? :p
Nice, like the audio idea, good choice :)

imef says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:17pm

A brilliant music idea!

Spiridios says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:20pm

Fun game! Not sure if this is a bug: you can make your arrangement, hit "play song" realize it's wrong, change the order, and if you do it before it's done playing the song, it'll count as a win. I like the mechanic to spend points to get hints. I didn't use it until I realized I should in order to judge the game, because even on the songs I didn't recognize, there's still enough musical and sound cues to get it right.

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:31pm

It's not a bug, it's a feature. No really, it is my first ludum dare and I know this is technically far from beeing perfect. But I had only about 12 Hours to spend and I wanted to have a running game no matter if it has some glitches. Thank you for playing and having fun.

sittaman says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Adorable! Brilliant idea, excelent concept and well implemented! It would make an great mobile game, you should try to move ahead with it :)

Nights57 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Awesome idea for a game! I could definitely see myself playing this on the train ride home on my ipod or something.

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:15am

Cute little puzzle game. It's great to use my ears for once in one of these entries. I like it!

Friday says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Nice! I liked this.

TheCze says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Very cool idea, could be even longer!

kratorspore says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:14pm

This is a fantastic little game, enjoyable and relaxing. Could see it expanded into something bigger.

davidwparker says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:50am

Nice little music game. It would be cool to expand this with matching graphics to each song, throw it on mobile, and let the kiddos play it.

NMcCoy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:05am

Neat game, and as someone else mentioned, I think there's potential to turn this into something bigger.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:24am

A very cool idea and an excellent game, congrats :)

CustomPhase says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:25am

As some1 said, nice little game for kids developing musical hearing. Not for me though.

vrld says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:29am

This is a really good idea, but the execution could be better, especially in player feedback, general "juiciness" and graphics. If you overcome these issues the game could indeed become something bigger!

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:08am

Neat music game, refreshing to see something different!

BadgerPriest says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:04am

I always love seeing a completely original idea.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:04pm

good job

XaiZil says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:36pm

This could be a cool learning tool, really sweet idea!

proc says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:11pm

I had no idea what the last song was and brute forced it haha but otherwise I really enjoyed it. Under the hood nice and simple js, only what was needed so you execution is good! Cool fun game.

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:39pm

Very cool! Haven't seen anything like it on here. Fun and simple.

Taiters says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Cool idea. I enjoyed this one, though after level 3ish I was struggling haha!

Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:07pm

If I had a kid I'll definitely let him play this game.
The more difficult songs are actually pretty nice puzzles. Relaxing and interesting game.
Great job!

bisk8s says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:37pm

Nice!

GagaPete says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:30pm

Very nice, only the short pauses between tracks disrupt a bit but very funny otherwise. Something different. I like it.

Super Hamster says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 2:57pm

I couldn't hear any audio on the web version.

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 9:28am

That bass intro is cool.
It was a nice way to implement the theme, and the game was fun. If you can do it, it could be a good thing to stop playing sounds when a new button is pressed to avoid multiple sounds.
Scored 87, I didn't know the last one.

manuq says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 10:56am

Nice music game :) It requires familiarity with the songs, but I think original music composed considering the game mechanic can work even better.

xrm0 says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 7:45pm

Seems interesting, but couldn't pass the first level!

joekinglake says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 6:39pm

I thought this was absolutely fantastic :) Great idea! A stop button for the current playing sound would be nice, but overall a fantastic game!

Sep 13, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Cool, but I had the hardest time with the last one even with all the hints (I didn't know the song at all). I guess the problem was that since each slice was made right between notes, they felt more or less interchangeable since I didn't know the melody. I like your hint system.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]