August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Space Hunt

by korfi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hello everyone!

This is my first ever entry in Ludum Dare, and actually my first ever game.
The game should run on both Windows, I haven't tried Mac though. To play, just extract the files from the zip and run the .exe file.

Controls:
Arrowkeys to move
Control to shoot

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#479Audio2.69
#647Fun2.81
#750Humor1.94
#789Mood2.44
#850Overall2.75
#857Graphics2.38
#954Theme2.67
#1167Innovation1.82

Comments

Miltage says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Thank goodness the ship's collision box is only that dot in the center or I would have died a lot more.

The pop-up box at the end of every level is kind of annoying, consider displaying text in-game instead.

Also, not being able to turn your ship makes moving up and down completely pointless. Overall, not too bad for your first game. Congrats!

Mandraw says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:40pm

as miltage says , the popup is a turn off :/
but good the rest is

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:04pm

It is almost impossible to get hit by the bombs.
I like the graphic style. These single colour sprites remind me of the 'good old days'

korfi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:33pm

@Miltage: The reason there is a popup instead of a screen in the game is because I had a hard time doing it any other way. The reason you are able to go up and down is because it is easier to dodge bullets and enemies. Thanks a lot for your feedback!

@Mandrew: Answered above. Thanks for your feedback!

@Zerkuemler: Almost every time I die in the game it is because of a collision with a bomb I didn't notice. Thanks for the feedback! :)

Laelien says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:17pm

Pretty neat and stuff, but I don't think enemies should be able to pop right at the bottom of the screen... Makes it kind of random.
Good otherwise :D

Zccc says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:46pm

I like it, but it seems impossible to figure out the enemy pattern, which makes it harder but more challenging and addictive :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:34pm

I love little shooter games, yet I am terrible at it. This game is a great entry :P I featured it in my compilation of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you want to check it out! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o8Polnsp4F8

korfi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:43pm

@Laelien: In my opinion it makes the game more challenging. It also gives the player a reason to move up on the screen instead of just staying at the bottom. Thanks for the feedback! :)

@Zccc: Thanks for playing :)

@Jupiter_Hadley: Thanks alot for including it in your video :)! There actually is a way to shoot, by pressing control, which also is included in the help section of the game.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:23pm

If this is your first game... CONGRATULATIONS! good work

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:34pm

really good just a little polishing and a great game will appear.

TheDreik says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:52pm

For first game this is has surprisingly playable gameplay! Good luck in next development!

Infin8 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:59pm

Simple and fun. Great work!

BenWhi says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:59pm

Fun little arcade game! Simple, nice progression. I like it!

korfi says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:08pm

Thanks everyone for the awesome feedback and thanks for playing! :)

kratorspore says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Nice work. The game controls feel nice and fluid. Any criticisms I have have already been mentioned by other reviewers.

berkano says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:49pm

Impressed this is your first ever game and LD - nice work!

senseidav says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:00pm

Funny, despite of all. An application of "10 secs." theme it would have been good. It only counts 10 secs. and level change..

The music and audio works. Keep on going.

Ciaran54 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:56pm

Nice and fun, with decent audio. Some things wre a bit awkward though, like the lack of any 'lives' or anything, and the popup in between levels. All in all though, it was a pretty fun game ;)

01rafael says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:47pm

my score was 200! )))

Jiggawatt says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:01pm

It's unintentionally humorous because of how shoddy it is. Can't tell the bullets from the background, a timer with a default font floating in the middle of space, popups, that music loop...

ZYXer says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Nice simple little game. Too bad you didn't integrate Mr. Falkinson more into the game, would have made for a fun character.

Almax27 says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Nice job for a first game :)

Jedi says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 5:13pm

I would have liked to see a moving starfield and larger bullets.

The music is really nice.

The gameplay is solid and addictive.
Congrats on your first entry and first game!

Koltiman says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Nice game, i liked it! Could have spent a little more time on the ship art though ;)

Croze says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 9:34pm

Pretty cool, popup box was annoying, and maybe add ship upgrades? The game felt way too straight-forward/linear.

zzForrest says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 4:13pm

Kind of boring, and the bullets were hard to see. I liked the falcon though and the music was a good touch.

infernet89 says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 10:44pm

Nice entry for a first game ever! I liked the talking eagle, even if is not really related to the game, and the music was very good! What have you used?

By the way, have to use the mouse to pass between each wave is kinda annoying, for a game with keyobard-only based controls. Next time use something like "press spacebar to continue", just a suggestion!

korfi says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 3:28pm

Thanks everyone for the support, I will take your advice into consideration for my next game.
Infernet89, I used Game Maker Studio. You can press enter to proceed to the next wave, which I forgot to mention in the popup.

Sep 15, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Hi Korfi, I would like to play and rate your game but when I execute it there is only this (https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/43382869/TEMP/SpaceHunt.PNG) and music is playing (that is all). I guess 512MB RAM is not enough? Any suggestion? OS: Windows XP Professional 2002 SP3, 32 bits

korfi says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 4:28pm

Oh wow, hmm. I honestly have no idea why it isn't working for you. I guess it might be the RAM, I tried doing a quick search for your problem but couldn't find anything. I'll look in to it and hopefully find a fix for it, if not for this Ludum Dare, then for the next one. Thanks for your comment!

antonijn says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 5:35pm

Good job for your first game! Especially since it was made in 48 hours!

Sep 16, 2013 @ 8:13pm

Hi Korfi, at the end I visited my friend this evening and played your game on his computer! Nice space game! Good job.

korfi says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 8:23pm

Thank you so much for your time and effort. I'm glad you enjoyed the game. Sadly I'm on a pc where I'm not allowed downloading any games/software, so I won't be able to try your game before the deadline of voting. I will gladly play it tomorrow though when I get access to my normal pc.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]