August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Dollhouse Curse

by Saf - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Jam Theme: 10 seconds.

A spooky puzzle solving fun!

Explore the dungeons to find evil dolls, and link similar dolls to break the curse. Use lamps to maintain your vision in the darkness but be careful, the lamps last only 10 seconds!

Can you link all the pairs and break the curse forever?
Controls: Arrow keys.

NOTE: RUN ON CHROME FOR BEST PERFORMANCE, MY APOLOGIES IF YOU HAVE ISSUES..
Let me know if any link is broken.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#115Graphics3.82
#186Mood3.30
#492Innovation3.05
#497Overall3.11
#552Audio2.56
#693Humor2.00
#694Fun2.76
#1092Theme2.33

Comments

vikingpotato says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:32am

Please run it on a browser, preferably Chrome for best performance, Thanks.

mtrc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Really great idea! I love the art so much, the gameplay is pretty solid and cleverly tied in with the theme. Very nice!

crashbanito says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:58pm

This looks super interesting, but I can't seem to get it to run through chrome. Think you could put it up on a site like Newgrounds or Kongregate?

Unept says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:32am

Fun game. The lagginess really got in the way for me, even in Chrome. You've done well in implementing a simple "match a pair" mechanic and made it intriguing and fun. Nice. The "you got a match!" sound kept scaring me. :)

vikingpotato says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:43am

http://www.stencyl.com/game/play/21023

Hello party people!
Here is a link to the web hosted version; Play it here if you have performance issues.

vikingpotato says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:47am

Don't forget to vote if you like it :)
Thanks for playing all!

@Unept the sounds are recorded on an microphone, everything is my voice with, obviously edited using audacity :)

kantieno says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:55pm

I enjoyed it. I liked the atmosphere.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:58pm

Really enjoyed the art. Well done!

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:09pm

Idea is good.
But implementation terrible. Lag as hell (with my 4x CPU). Terrible sounds. No theme.
But good visuals and gameplay.

vikingpotato says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:13pm

@SaintHeiser: Did you try the web hosted link: http://www.stencyl.com/game/play/21023

rincewind_cz says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:15am

Nice idea, intro and overall atmosphere, but I didn't finished it due to lags :-(

fferro234 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:53am

Great mood. But I didn't really see the theme anywhere in the game. I assumed that the lights turned off after 10 seconds but that didn't really embrace the idea. The lighting effect was cool though and it ran fine for me on chrome

4xisblack says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:38am

This is a damn good looking game for a compo entry! I hadn't heard of Stencyl prior to checking out this project; it seems pretty cool as a high-level game maker thing, but something about this SWF it has made is causing maaaajor lag even though Flash is theoretically more than capable of drawing that stuff efficiently. Even on Chrome (and with a screaming fast processor) I'm getting quite a bit of lag.

I suspect it has to do with those torch light halo effects. Are they done with vector graphics?

The Evil Cult says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:05am

Nice one. Really polished for the 48 hours. Graphics were great, sounds added to the tone quite well. Gameplay was fun but I felt like it needed to be expanded a bit in later levels with some more mechanics. Overall, pretty good job :)

nicotr014 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:10am

I really like how you hide the tiles for limited candle vision

Chinchilla says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:58am

Nice clean art style, and I thought the match-two gameplay was pretty innovative. I lost a couple of times because I couldn't see which doll I was walking towards until it was too late, and I had an incorrect match. The fog of war and lighting effects are nice and add a lot. Good job!

jackyjjc says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 8:34am

Nice work finishing the game in 48 hours! However, it seems there are a few problems of this game. It seems that the lamp would last forever instead of go off in 10 seconds because I tested it and the lamp is still on after 30 seconds in my browser. Also the audio is kind creepy when the character touches those dolls ._.

DanteZack93 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 9:01am

I like the game, it's weel done and fun to play, but i feel you interpretation of the theme is a bit "weak", if the last only 10 seconds it's not a big deal in this game.

Sestren says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 9:33am

Great entry overall! The graphics were nice and the sound effects were excellent. It's a unique take on memory games, and the mood was great. The connection to the theme was a bit loose, but overall I really liked this one.

kratorspore says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Lovely graphics and atmosphere. I liked it.

vikingpotato says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:08pm

- i wanted to incorporate the 10-second theme in the gameplay mechanics rather than in the narrative. I understand its not the most direct way and most games have made a more obvious use of it, thanks for the tips..

- Some computers have reported performance issues, some work just fine. I should be able to fix the occasional frame-rate drops some of you face but i don't i am allowed to change the builds till the judging is over, so i should wait.

I hope you all are able to play and like the game :)

zconnelly13 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Truly fantastic game! The graphics look great and the sounds were amazing! I would have liked a little more versatility in the gameplay and it would have been nice if the tiles appearing / disappearing worked a little differently. Perhaps the tiles stay visible but your sight range is finite? I would love to play a more polished version. Very well done!

alts says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 8:29am

The game isn't exactly scary, but the audio is really unnerving. Even the success "sign" sound is creepy. Really well done there.

The matching mechanic would probably work better if I had less technical issues with the game (framerate). I'd often drop several frames and find myself up against a doll that I would have noticed had the framerate been smoother.

One touch I did want to specifically mention that I really enjoyed was that you can't "remember" what color doll you touched if it isn't lit by a lantern. I liked that a lot.

robertcalvert says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 7:03pm

This is a great idea and the intro is really nice. The art style is really good. I like it.

Sep 5, 2013 @ 7:00pm

Really nice game, I loved it. The intro is really cute too. I featured it in my LD27 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DZbxb_2pbIE

vikingpotato says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 6:17am

<3 Thanks Jumpcraft! I promise i to totally fix the framerate issues in post ludum release!

xndr says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 8:29am

very nice!

emveyh says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Cool game, great graphics :)

Sep 16, 2013 @ 8:58pm

oh this is lovely!! Thanks for making it! Very moody as well!

jay griffin says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:47am

This is great! Really distinctive art style, cute with just a slight edge of creepy to it, set off nicely by the sound design. Sets a really nice atmosphere for a simple but compelling central mechanic. Awesome stuff.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]