August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Second Thinking

by dmastergames - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a fast paced permadeath puzzle game. Were yo have to get the cubes in there correct places

Gamemaker Pro 8.1 used for programing and art
Gimp used for art

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#353Theme3.37
#403Innovation3.17
#518Audio2.62
#655Fun2.80
#700Overall2.93
#791Humor1.86
#869Mood2.31
#908Graphics2.29

Comments

ben says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:19am

Cool idea, was real hard. You might want to consider adding some easier levels at the start to get the player used to whats goin on.

Ravetcofx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:19am

I found a bug: No Linux Version

dmastergames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:54am

@Raventcofx I appreciate your concern but that isn't a bug it is infact that Gamemaker 8.1 doesn't support Linux ;) hehe

ethankennerly says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:39am

The simple squares and puzzle interested me and the music uplifted me! If you continue to develop this, have you considered simplifying the first few puzzles and the help to start?

TobiasW says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:13pm

Whew, it's a bit hard to get into this. Made it to level 7 so far - I might try it again later. I like the puzzle solving under stress, but I'm not sure if permadeath was a good choice. It's extremly easy to die, and I don't want to do the exactly same 6 puzzles again just to get to the 7th one. How many levels are there?

The game would've also benefitted from better feedback, for example a selection cursor around the current block or a sound effect when you click a block.

All in all pretty solid though. Good job! And congratulations on getting your first LD entry done!

dmastergames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:27pm

@ethankennerly I think I would have permadeath and level select but make them have separate levels :) and yeah I might make the first few levels easier and maybe I could add a training mode where you maybe have 15 seconds and the puzzles are easier plus I was going to make a tutorial mode but I ran out of time :) I think I might make this into a full game.

dmastergames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:29pm

@TobiasW Thank you :) there are around 40 levels and I agree with the better feedback. I think I make Pemadeath and a level select mode with different levels in them if I develop it into a full game which I think I will.

GreenyUk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:02pm

Great game man! Lots of fun. Had me smashing WASD like a nutter :D Good Job.

Friday says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:05pm

Annoying that you start over from the first level every time you fail.

agumaster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:05pm

hard to get, but fun

dmastergames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:32pm

@GreenyUK Thank you :)

dmastergames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:33pm

@Friday haha i think that just adds tension and pressure cause you don't want to die

dmastergames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:33pm

@agumaster thanks :)

Zccc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:34pm

I love how it is so fast paced, good game.

dmastergames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:06pm

@Zccc thank you very much :)

RobotParking says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:53pm

Disagree that you should have an "easier" mode. I like it when stuff like this doesn't pull its punches.

dmastergames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:27pm

@RobotParking I was think just a training mode with like 10 - 20 levels but I do like hard games as well and that why I made it hard :)

wally2069 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:01pm

First level was terribly vague and colors blurred together

dmastergames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:03pm

@Wally2069 did you read the controls?

Derbdale says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:03pm

The layout of the instructions made me just guess what they were instead of reading, but other than that it was really fun and challenging

dmastergames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:13pm

@Derbdale Thank you very much :) I was going to add a tutorial mode but didn't have time

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:22pm

This might be better if you had some levels at the beginning to introduce the mechanics, although I appreciate we were all short of time! I like the idea but I think I'm too thick to be good at games like this :(

dmastergames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:25pm

@tripleVisionGames It requires a lot of practice, I'm going to post a walk through for the first 20 levels

dmastergames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:40pm

btw if I come in the top 100 I will defintley make this into a full game. So send me requested improvements that you would want in the full game. A thing I have already made is portals. Thank you :)

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:53pm

The idea is good, but the permadeath part of the game made the first puzzles get old very fast. Too bad, because I quite liked the game.

dmastergames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:33pm

@Diogo Muller Thank you, If i do make a full game I will add a level select mode and permadeath but with different levels.

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:24am

Woah.. hard. But really a good job once I got into it!

dmastergames says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:45pm

@nathanhoffer Thank you very much

lalanl says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:21pm

I think the music fits the pacing of the game really well, and the puzzles you made are a good challenge.

I did have a bit of a hard time registering where all the moving parts were immediately though—something to more obviously distinguish the blocks from the block destinations would be helpful.

Nice game!

dmastergames says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:57pm

@lalanl thanks in the later levels the cubes are out of there places :)

Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:27am

Found this game very hard and confusing, I dont think I completely understood it. I featured it in my Ludum Dare 27 video compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GcXHrH6VSV0

Almax27 says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 7:00pm

Good puzzles, but very punishing to have to restart from start every time :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]