August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Finding Love

by smash ball - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Action RPG in which you and your brother set off to defeat a greedy king. 10 Seconds is incorporated into the battles.

EDIT: I added the standalone exe so you don't have to use an installer. They're the same.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#319Theme3.41
#531Humor2.26
#597Innovation2.90
#674Audio2.32
#719Graphics2.62
#726Mood2.50
#784Overall2.83
#925Fun2.45

Comments

jay griffin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:52am

Nicely done! An interesting use of the ten second mechanic, for sure. Is there any way to skip the intro?

smash ball says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:59pm

Thank you. I didn't make anything for skipping the intro. In fact, I didn't even do anything for when the player lost until five minutes before LD ended, so it was in a major time crunch.

onzephyr says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:20am

Done very well. and fun to play. good use of theme. it feels like the kind of game that could grow into something of a really great post compo game.

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:49am

Haha, like the implementation of 10 seconds, well done!

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:04am

Excellent use of Theme. Really liked the graphics. Good Job!

Tom 7 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:06am

I think the intro is much too slow... I need to be able to skip to the next line of text after I read it! :) Also, I think more people will play your game if it just comes in a zip rather than an installer. But! I did like the fight mechanic. It was pretty clever and I could see it being the basis of a big game!

ix says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:08am

I skipped most of the early battles, then found the late ones really hard, was that a leveling problem or am I just bad at the battle mechanics?

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:24am

Interesting use of the theme. Unfortunately, shortly after starting the game, I got hit with a random encounter with three enemies that countered nearly every attack and caused so much damage that I couldn't defeat them after about twelve attempts to no avail, I had to stop.

epiplon says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:41am

This would be a great multiplayer game!
Fun mechanics!
I just wonder why the so long intro and the pretty small characters.
Good job!

ghostmaple says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:50am

I dig the idea, I can't wait to see what'll come out of it when you get more than a weekend. Suggested polish: I'd throw a little bit of a pause in there to give you a chance for counters. Kind of a mini-slowdown.
For Tom 7's comment, when you create the executable in GM:S, choose the second file type option at the bottom. ("Single runtime executable (.exe)") No installer needed!

smash ball says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:30am

@ix: You really need to go through early battles to level up for later ones. A battle tip is to jump from far away and do the Jump attack, or to dash. On the other hand, I didn't thoroughly test the difficulty (only a handful of playthroughs for certain rooms). I also didn't have time for multiple difficulty options.

@dalbinblue: There is some weird glitch that I can't figure out that puts the player in a random battle against red guards. It only happens in the very beginning of the game too. If you jump behind them, then they can't counter.

@epiplon: I still need to practice some quicker character/animation spriting for 16X24 and 16X32. Though if I had the time, I should have done a 200% screen option.

@ghostmaple: Thank you so much! I'll change the game file so it's an exe (soon). I'm not new to GM, but this was the first time I compiled an exe for windows in GMS.

I accept all suggestions even if I don't acknowledge each specific one. In some cases, I've already thought of the suggestion (skip intro, major improvements on counter system, etc.) before you suggested it, so that's why I might not reference it.

team_cow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:23pm

If you added a skip cutscene/dialogue option and polished the visibility of which characters you are playing, I think you could go a long way with this. The "almost-turn-based-but-not-quite" mechanic is really innovative and fun (although I found it really hard!). Good work, best of luck in the competition!

Foxtacy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:14pm

Very interesting mechanics.

But please, DO NOT, make the player WAIT for the whole storytelling, or make it flow WHILE the player plays.

It's REALLY frustrating to have to WAIT for the introduction to end, in order to start playing. Don't ever do that. Speccially when submitting to events like LD where you must play and rate a lot of games, and people hardly have time to play each game for more than 5 minutes.

Asides from that, i really like everything about your game :) it's a very nice concept!

Supercannon says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:36pm

Almost lost all interest having to watch the intro. At least make the words switch out faster.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:52pm

i dont do installers -- make a exe build

Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Dear lord that intro was painful.

gmaker says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 10:05am

theme so good!!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]