August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

High Jumper

by GVmakesGames - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The game was made in about 12 Hours. It's not a masterpiece, but I enjoy playing with it.

How much blocks do you jump? I did jump 11 Blocks high, even 12, but I didn't save the screenshot :P

Records:
17 - Tegu
14 - Fanvadar
13 - GVmG

((post a screenshot with your record to appear here!))

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#432Mood2.88
#499Audio2.65
#535Graphics2.92
#702Fun2.75
#714Innovation2.76
#773Theme2.92
#915Overall2.67
#1156Coolness48%

Comments

Fanvadar says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:25am

is 12 the max?
pretty cool btw

Fanvadar says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:29am

clearly not because i just got 13 XD

Fanvadar says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:34am

14!!!

GVmakesGames says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 1:25pm

You're good guys, I got to 12 and I just ragequitted... my own game xD

GVmakesGames says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Well, the max is 100. You'll marry the ten girls/boys of your life legally if you get to 100 ;) jk

mactinite says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:35am

I made it to 12. Barely lol I like the music. :)

Ciaran54 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:59am

Nice! I like the glowing graphics and the music ;)

GVmakesGames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:10pm

Thanks! The music is generated with cgMusic, and converted in that 8 bit style with GXscc ;)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:28pm

"Failed to load 3D Mode" error when trying to restart

GVmakesGames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:37am

Try to update your drivers ;)

Kragnir says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Interesting and short game. The mouse sensitivity was too low for the kind of game it was, you should be able to look around you faster.

Endurion says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Looks and sound are nice, but the controls, urghh...
More than once I fell off although I was pressing Space to jump.

rejome says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:12pm

Nice minimalistic graphics, music and simple but working concept. Missing some easing (= acceleration and inertia) in movements though.

GVmakesGames says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:32am

Yeah, I was planning to add them, but I had problems, and was too late. So I have only this :C

Brejlounek says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:20pm

Meeeh... Graphics is a little glitchy, and jumping should be possible while holding down W key. It is very hard for me this way, got to 5th or so plane.

Tegu says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:28pm

Highly addictive game! Spent enormous amount of time trying to get higher and higher. At first the controls and plane collisions felt very weird and off, but after a while I got used to them and slowly learned how to get to plane 12 pretty much every time.

Then I wondered how it's even possible to get any further until I realized a nice little glitch with which I could get slightly higher. It needs some practicing and still requires perfect jumping and some luck with map generating. I just got sucked in to try to trickjump better and better.

The process reminded me a bit of learning how to strafejump etc in Quake and Warsow. It just is so addictive and learning feels so rewarding (well, maybe not so much in this game as in Warsow but still).

Anyhow, I finally managed to reach level 16 and ahh it feels good. Here's a shot: http://i.imgur.com/ediicAx.png Now I'm waiting for people to break that. :)

GVmakesGames says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:35pm

Tegu, is that the glitch when holding space and "touching" a platform next to the one you're on? It makes you jump again without having finished the previous jump, and it's like making two jumps in one ;) but yeah, you did 16? well done ;)

GVmakesGames says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Oh and I tweeted about it, that's a record ;) https://twitter.com/GVmakesGames

g_o says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:57pm

Srry dude couldn't give you a high score but pretty nice game for the 48 entry :D

zconnelly13 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:01pm

pretty good idea, pretty good execution, nice sound :p

overall: http://29.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_lltzgnHi5F1qzib3wo1_400.jpg

jomomomo says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:15pm

Can't play windows games. :-(

Tegu says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 10:07am

GVmakesGames: Yeah, exactly that glitch. And if the map is suitable, it's also possible to make more than a double jump. Also: http://i.imgur.com/a7JWAox.png (Tried to record with Fraps but the game kept crashing as soon as I started recording.)

GVmakesGames says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 12:00pm

I think it's some problem with how Game Maker draws in 3D. Using a normal projection the game can be recorded, but using an extended projection to change the fov (as I've done for this game) appears to crash it. And now, I'll add a classific :D

X-0r says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 11:10am

Oh man, my highest is only 10... no need to be proud of that, I assume.
Music is nice, but detuned too much for my taste and a bit too many rhythm issues.
As simple as they might seem, I like your neon platforms :P
Btw - is the player supposed to move faster diagonally? Maybe I only imagined it, but I could swear I could jump over a further distance that way ^_^
If you ever update/continue this.... maybe give a short overview of the map beforehand, rather than starting the game in the splitsecond you reach for the restart button ;)

Sep 10, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Nice little game I love it :)

galman says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Cool game with cool mechanics, graphics and sounds! The only "problem" is that the control are a bit hard and made me rage quit :P

GVmakesGames says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 12:18pm

I know, the controls are the "bad" of this game :P I'll try to make a fixed version, if I have enough free time, but I can't upload it to the compo: rules and sheez.

Linusson says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 4:36pm

As someone who always play with invert mouse I got quite confused playing this. :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]