August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Red Button

by GreenyUk - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Welcome To 'The Red Button'; a fast paced unforgiving platformer. You have 10 seconds to reach the red button or else. Simple ... Right?

There are a few obstacles standing in your way but with only 10 seconds on the clock speed is your only option. There are a total of 10 playable levels in my submission; I would have liked to add more but that would have meant less polishing! Your progress is saved as are your level times.

I've experimented with the graphics here and couldn't be happier; they seem to really compliment the fast paced gameplay. Don't take my word for it though, check it out!

For the best gameplay use a controller!

Everything was creating in under 48 hours. The music is a chip remix of a sample from Better Off Alone - Alice DJ that I created in this 48 hour time span.

If you like the game be sure to let me know @greeny_games! I had a lot of fun making this over the weekend and may carry on with it further down the line.

**FAQ**
Q. When I finish a level the timer seems off.
A. Once you have finished a level the timer switches to show you your completed time and is colour coded. Green = Fast | Orange = Ok | Red = Just in time.

Q. When I start the game i see 'xinput1_3.dll not found. Gamepad support disabled'.
A. All this means is you're mussing the .dll to use a gamepad (I advise using one it's much better). You can either download it or click ignore to just use the keyboard :)

Q. I'm stuck on a level!
A. All levels are totally doable. Believe me I've done each around 9,264,643 times. If you want to WIMP out here's a speedrun. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LJag1zeR0GU&feature=youtu.be

Q. There's a bug when changing levels
A. A few people have experienced a bug of some kind when changing levels. I can't recreate this so if you find it could you please tell me exactly what it is?! It's driving me nuts (I presume people don't mean the poor collision with the button; that's down to not enough polish time!)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#118Overall3.62
#136Theme3.69
#152Fun3.49
#261Audio3.06
#313Graphics3.31
#341Mood3.03
#352Humor2.63
#931Innovation2.43

Comments

sam1373 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:05pm

How do I get past level 1-5? I'm stuck.

GreenyUk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:16pm

Only 1 of the buttons at the end works. The other is a troll :D

Falcon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:43pm

Fun, but I couldn't figure out how to pass level 4.

GreenyUk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:48pm

Just jumping and timing! I aimed to make this pretty hard, kinda like meat boy, and seems i succeeded!

PackSciences says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:54pm

Good GMS game.

Kwrky says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Crashes after 2-9 for me, but up until was a BLAST. This was really good and you should make more levels.

Wukkopi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:58pm

Nice fast paced game, but couldn't get past 1-5 either. Couldn't find a way over that huge spikepit.

eolhing says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:01pm

Nice game, that wireframe graphics totally suit the gameplay. I'm stuck at 1-5 too but I'll try again later ;)

GreenyUk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:12pm

@Wukkopi @eolhing I've posted a Speedrun if you want to wimp out XD

GreenyUk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:13pm

@Kwrky Crashes? After 2-10 it takes you back to level select as all levels have been played. Could you send me crash log?

dmastergames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:58pm

Good Game but I got stuck on level 1 - 5 and the game crashes a lot accept from that brilliant

Sheep says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:02pm

The PC controls were terrible. Can't get past 1-5 either. Music is cool, but the movement was terrible for a game like this.

TomboFry says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:18pm

Saw your comment, thought I'd try your game. I love difficult games where you can quickly respawn, loads of fun, I got to level 8 before "giving up" (Don't you worry, I'll keep trying until I complete it!) and quickly deciding this was my favourite game so far :D
However, the music was kind of irritating after a while, and sounds VERY familiar to "Better Off Alone" by Alice Deejay... Hmmm...

GreenyUk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:19pm

@TomboFry The music is a chip remix of that song! Good ear :D

Thanks for the awesome comments. Seems your one of the first to get that far my man.

GreenyUk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:20pm

@Sheep Sorry you don't like the PC controls. Developed mainly using pad and then didn't have loads of time to polish ... 48 hours and all :)

Foxtacy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:37pm

That's one of the best ones i've seen so far! :)

Theres a few bugs on the stage changing logic that makes the game though :s

GreenyUk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:40pm

@Foxtacy Thanks :) Appreciate it.

Wukkopi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:02pm

GreenyUK: How you do that higher jump?

And:

FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of Keyboard Event for D-key Key
for object obj_keyboard:

Push :: Execution Error - Variable Get 17.playing(100003, 0)
at gml_Object_obj_keyboard_Keyboard_68 (line -1) - <unknown source line>

this pops up when i'm in level selection and using a or d instead of arrows.

Wukkopi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Edit: Oh you're supposed to press shift. okay, didn't read level instruction on previous level :D

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:05pm

Great fun, difficult and frustrating at parts, but they were overcame fairly quickly. Nicely done!

GreenyUk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:25am

@Wukkopi Thanks for that crash log my man. I'll get that fixed and glad you found the controls :)

GreenyUk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:26am

@MegaMasterX Thanks! Glad you enjoyed it :D

Joxno says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:15am

Really fun and really challenging, love it, and a very amazing chiptune remix song in the background

GreenyUk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:16am

@Joxno Glad you enjoyed it!

Animated says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:25am

Not that creative (run left to right) and timer seems to be off when you finish.

lekochen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:29am

Completed! Awesome game!

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:29am

Tight controls. Nice minimalist graphics. Gets the job done.

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:37am

That is fiendish.Good music. I didn't get annoyed at its looping. the tiny enemies are a neat mechanic, if infuriating

red enemies against a green background are not good for the colourblind. I gave up after 30 attempts of world 2-3.

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:53am

Good Gameplay, nice graphics, catchy tune too.

GreenyUk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:35am

Thanks for all the awesome comments and @Animated once you finish a level the timer switches to show you the time you did it in. Green = fast | Orange = okay | Red = just in time. Should have explained I've amended game description.

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:32pm

So there's no world 3? Damn, I was enjoying it a LOT!

hbocao says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:40am

I liked the sense of speed it gives!

Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Very cool graphic style, kinda hard to control on an AZERTY keyboard (WASD is awful on those), and did not know about Shift. The music was also quickly irritating, unfortunately. But all in all, good variety in the level design and good job!

Binary Gambit says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:28pm

Wow! incredible effort. I love the particle trails that make your character look like you are travelling really fast!

Sh1rogane says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 4:09pm

Great game, i think the difficulty was perfect, one thing i thought was that the red dot was too small. And the music i'm 99% sure i have heard that tune somewhere else.

Eelfroth says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:24pm

Really nice game. Difficulty is very well balanced.
I think some people get stuck on 1-5, because it is not so clear that you can highjump. Also, the keyboard controls are a bit tedious.
But I really enjoyed this game. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]