August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Realities

by frameland - Jam Entry

This was our first LD (me: coder, friend: artist) and we really enjoyed it.

We originally set out to make a highscore game but flipped our concept upside down midway through. It was actually a good thing from my perspective, although I think the game might have a very small audience as a result.

Realities is a very experimental game dealing with a view, both of us felt was true and we think many would feel the same. We tried to express this view through the game.

There is very little interaction in the game and this is something I woud expand. Not much, just a little bit.

We would love to hear some feedback from you :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#30Mood(Jam)3.90
#54Graphics(Jam)4.25
#88Audio(Jam)3.52
#325Innovation(Jam)2.90
#450Overall(Jam)2.74
#507Theme(Jam)2.57
#593Fun(Jam)1.85
#1806Coolness17%

Comments

flod says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:20pm

just played through - I like the graphics and the sound.

skywing says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Relaxing! The game is very zen. Sort of feels like meditation. The art is very nice as well.

Velro says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Very polished!

tamirespp says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:44am

nice graphics! wasn`t really sure what the point was though. If you can, I would love some feedback on my submission too: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-27/?action=preview&uid=16988

jijaweb says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:30pm

Nice graphics. Very moodish.

zillix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:35am

stunningly beautiful. it was really relaxing to play this.

Thermite says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:20pm

Beautiful!

OkayHughes says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:08am

Fantastically elegant and beautiful game. Absolutely breathtaking. I just wish that there was a tiny bit more to do with interaction. The feel I got from the graphics and audio was an immersive ambient feel. The up-down interactions just made me feel a little disconnected from the scene. I'm not sure what I'd put in as well, it's just that the interaction as it is made me feel a little out of sync with the game. Beautiful entry none the less.

acro says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:50am

I really quite liked the way the feeling of loss/frustation creeps up on you as the control loss prevails. It struck a chord with me of 'trying to fly' or attempting something, but being unable to maintain it, and there's a vague sense of loss to it. But, sorry, there's very little else to latch onto and I don't feel it did anything meaningful with '10 seconds' or the black-out intervals. It's bold of you, but I feel maybe it should be marked as a 'not-game', as I was kind of misled by the initial expectation of more control/engagement. That may have been your intention to play on that; I'm not sure. It has made me think a bit, but for me it doesn't evoke anything particular beyond what I've said.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:11am

Great art and sound, but was there a game here? I just flew and moved around until the timer ran out?

gre says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Super parallax art and glowing touch.
Awesome sound.
But is it a game?

DiscoFish says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:48am

Nice mood!

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:44am

Loving the graphics, sound, and atmosphere. :)
But the camera that kept jittering.. or is that just me?

LTyrosine says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 7:23pm

I would like to see some more interaction for a LD entry, but is is really a beautiful experience.

g_o says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 6:53am

Hmmm this "game" doesn't have much in it, nor interactively and nor plotly... I just don't know what to say about it.
Though, it is very polished!

Zap says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 12:14pm

~* Congratulations on your first Ludum Dare! *~
I love that you took the more experimental approach. However, I didn't feel as though I had much agency over what has happening and the purpose of the blackouts was unclear. The loss of controls over time felt really powerful and meaningful, but unfortunately the message was lost on me. Very, very pretty though, with an interesting atmosphere.

hbocao says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 2:35am

Great graphics and sound. Very soothing. I think that hiding the timer could make a better experience. Awesome first entry!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]