August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Seconds to escape

by FireZenk - Jam Entry

My first participation in the Ludum Dare!

The game is titled "10 Seconds to escape" the objective is to explore the map collecting all the gems and reaching "level key" before the end of the 10 seconds of time.

The game is available for Windows, Mac and Linux and the source code is shared on GitHub.
The engine I've used is Love2D

Video preview (version with more levels) http://youtu.be/YloPubWfw-c

Hope you like it! It may be the start of a game with a lot levels!

UPDATED: New levels added!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#294Theme(Jam)3.06
#310Audio(Jam)2.77
#317Graphics(Jam)3.17
#355Fun(Jam)2.77
#403Mood(Jam)2.59
#416Humor(Jam)1.90
#434Overall(Jam)2.77
#573Innovation(Jam)2.12

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:41am

Sadly, but this is can't be a Compo entry because of the graphics. You better apply for the Jam while it's not late!

REIN1 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:24am

Nice graphic but it's too hard~

FireZenk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:27am

But the graphics are free and are not meant for this particular game... are you sure SpiralCodeStudio?

FireZenk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:57am

Changed to Jam entry, thanks for all comments on: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/08/26/is-my-game-eligible-for-compo/#comments

josefnpat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:54am

I've restarted and I'm not on the right map anymore!

Nice looking game. I wasn't able to complete the level, but I can't imagine how if I only have 10 seconds!

yeradis says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:05am

having it available for multiple platforms is a great thing, maybe in those platforms 10 seconds are longer xD , i like this kind of games, those for a quick break and back to work

FireZenk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:29am

@josefnpat I assure you that is possible to finish it in only 10 seconds, but it must be hard having only one level ;)

@REIN1 @yeradis thanks :D

juaxix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:11pm

I made it , and I wanted more levels :)

juaxix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:12pm

Un diez que te doy sir

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Finished it first try somehow :D
Nice game, sadly there's only one level :(

autlos says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:37pm

0.028 seconds. Nice game.

I don't like that you have to constantly press the keys to move, would be much better a smoth movement ;)

Yaru says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:16pm

Cool game!

mrcdk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Good game, sadly only a level, but challenging so it's ok :)

BlackBulletIV says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Gameplay felt decent, but only having a single level is certainly a problem. Also I would've really liked it if you could just hold down the arrow keys to move.

FireZenk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:04pm

I'm working on new levels, see the video: http://youtu.be/YloPubWfw-c

FireZenk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:53pm

Sadly not enough time for me to solve a problem with creating the .love executable and upload it before time runs out... If I get it when the time is up, I can post about it on the blog and twitter.

Surrealix says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:50am

Glad you sorted out the compo/jam issue. For future reference the rules are here : http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/rules/ - even though it's long it's worth reading to know what cool stuff you *are* allowed to do (such as pre-writing frameworks and releasing the code before the compo starts), as well as the stuff you aren't.

Anyway, the game runs very smoothly. It would be cool if you captured more than one keystroke so I could hold down keys to move. I didn't realise you had to collect the gems, and made a heroic effort to run back and get them! (but failed). The second time through I made it with seconds to spare. Well done on a finished game.

stenol says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:13pm

Nice graphic. It's hard but it's a good game.

kristof says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:16pm

A short but nice little game. A few more levels would have been great.

Valerien says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:13pm

As far as the controls are concerned, I think it would've been nice to have continous movement. Otherwise it's a pretty classic game. It's clean anyway, so good job on that.

char68 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:28pm

I think the graphics and audio were great, although the controls were a bit lackluster. It felt a bit like if I knew the optimal path I would just need to follow that path and I would be done, but I'd like to see how the levels could add some challenge to the controls other than something to navigate around.

Meep says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:38am

Really love the graphics!

autlos says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:24am

So good you worked on more levels when you switched to jam entry.

It's difficult, but I can say it can be finished :P

Croze says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:27pm

Cool idea, but not very well made for the player. It felt like I never knew where the enemies were moving, an the key wouldn't pick up.

Typedeaf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:32pm

I made it! Weeeehu! But it would be fun with more lvls :) Cute graphics

FireZenk says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:53am

UPDATED: New levels added!!

Syawra says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:30am

Nice graphics and nice challenge, but I wish I could move without mashing the keys. Also, the game crashed at level 4 >:

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:37am

Not bad idea! I wish is too few maps :)But overall it's quite good.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:37pm

You're not allowed add new things to the game after release (such as levels). Or is it different for the jam?

FireZenk says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:27pm

@BlackBulletIV I was working on them in time of the Jam, but a bug prevented me update the new version.

Thanks all for your support! ^__^

Tegu says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:38pm

I think you should revert the original version and mark the updated one clearly as a post-compo version.

Tegu says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Also, you really should fix the huge memory leaks you have there. You are calling newFont multiple times per frame and that eats lots of memory. Fortunately it's pretty easy to fix: only call newFont once per font, store the results to variables and replace the rest of newFont calls with appropriate variables. I had to do this in order to even play the game without freezing.

And to the game: I can't really rate it because I don't have the original entry, but in this version the map 6 seems impossible for me. I watched the youtube video you linked in the description and fortunately it featured gameplay of that map. An interesting note was that in the video the timer actually lasts 23 seconds(from 0:44 to 1:07) instead of 10, so obviously you could nearly pass it. I could barely get half of the gems.
I timed it on my computer with a stopwatch and weirdly got slightly under 12 seconds after a few tries (used the stopwatch of my phone so had to start and stop it by hand so it's not very accurate, that's why the retries). Seems that system performance or something affects the timer pretty much.

Uff, sry for above rant. :D Keep on deving. :)

Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:41pm

Really good artwork and gameplay mechanics!

FireZenk says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:44am

@Tegu all versions here: http://www.mediafire.com/folder/2w3cb4cbx70y4/LD27
Thanks for the comment, I'll fix asap :)

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 7:07am

Reminds me of Chip's Challenge. Of note - Your timer is slower than real-time.

ZYXer says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 2:15pm

Good game concept and nice graphics! The controls are a bit fiddly though. And looking for the R or N key after each level kind of breaks the flow.

euske says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 3:35pm

I get a VC++ runtime error every time I died.

Livsk says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Nice Graphics! Good Luck.

Sep 16, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Really cute game though its a bit glitchy looking. I liked it :) I featured this game in my LD27 compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tvnhwc_j5Mo

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]