August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Last Words to your Loved Ones

by syradinegames - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Last words is inspired by what would you tell your loved ones if you had 10 seconds left to live. Each key press (even the backspace) uses up the precious seconds, so think carefully what you write. There are various other events in the game that take 10 seconds if pay attention. There's an option to tweet your last words at the end if you choose (I'm very interested what people put in for their last words). Finally, there's a chance, you don't have to write your last words...

Hints for survival
If you want to see the survival event, do not ever try to send a text message or pick up the phone. The message I want to give: Don't Text and Skydive!!

*Note* I changed the Web link to be Gamejolt so you can quickly play, but the twitter button doesn't work. If you want to tweet out your last words, download the windows version.

*Note 2* The score table at the end is just a hint that some people lived and does not connect to any external datasource. It's a based on number of minutes since Ludum Dare started.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#70Theme3.84
#126Innovation3.67
#295Humor2.74
#465Mood2.84
#505Graphics2.96
#518Overall3.09
#777Fun2.67
#1377Coolness41%

Comments

Gremlin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:20am

Love the idea. The interface is a bit clunky (having to switch to the mouse to send the message is annoying).

Puzzlem00n says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:58am

Nice twitter integration and "cinematics." Very interesting. I wish I knew how to save myself!

BenWhi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:28pm

REALLY liked this one! What a cool idea!

jay griffin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:36am

Really enjoyed this one. I'll save myself yet!

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:27am

Theory behind it is cool :)
Nice game :D

-ENDESGA

ratalaika says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:08am

Great work :), but I couldn't figure out how to live D:

hypp says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:58am

Excellent idea, and well executed!

Ysty says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:26am

Great! Although I lived on my first go :P

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:26pm

WAT? I loved the text message before dying idea... then I noticed that SOME PEOPLE LIVED?! What's going on here then, hey?!

mutilator says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:42am

Its a cool idea, but I think there should be more too it than just typing a message before you die. The twitter thing was neat too. Good ideas.

lulzfish_4 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:48am

I like how it uses the theme without actually imposing a time limit.

When I realized the instructor was still talking, I wrote "hang on busy". Then as I was falling, "hide my porn."

The score table implies that your game uses the network without asking first, so I'm not going to rate it.

syradinegames says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:56am

Actually, the score table is fake. Just a random number based on days since Ludum Dare started. It's just there to give you a hint that some people lived.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:47am

liked it cool job!

d__adee says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:58am

Haha! I liked it, also I saved myself because of the hints.

xD

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]