August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Sleepnaut

by Cotton - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is one night from a Sleepnaut's life. He remembers Ten Seconds of every dream

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#235Graphics3.49
#309Humor2.70
#371Mood2.97
#389Theme3.34
#459Overall3.15
#470Innovation3.08
#626Fun2.83

Comments

gamepopper says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:06am

Neat idea, shame for the lack of audio though. I like how it was varied though.

stepvhen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:42pm

I have definitely had dreams like that before. Definitely.

HD408 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:57pm

Very short, but nice, and some good lo-fi pixel-art there.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:38pm

Ha ha, that was a strange and lovely little experience. :)

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Not bad for first game!

Catmoo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:18pm

Really enjoyed it, the art style works really well with the simplicity of the game :)

Plus incorporating dreams into a game is a nice idea.

As others have said it's a shame about the lack of audio, woulda been nice to have a faint snoring sound in, maybe even when you're trying to wake up :)

Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Nice art and interesting idea! :D

Marcellus says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Very good active story, I enjoyed playing this game more than a lot of others.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:25pm

cool concept
enjoyed the pixel art

Cotton says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Thanks for comments!:З

Catmoo, good idea!

Mironix says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:59pm

I hope someone will give you a good soundtrack for it - gives the all well known mcPixel vibe :) only a bit more psychodelic.

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:05pm

It was good, but moar audio please! Lovely game though!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Neat little game :D Keep experimenting with non-objective games!

Almax27 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:25pm

lol that was odd! Loved the pixel art and it was a cool concept. Really nice.

RoseNinja says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:29pm

interesting game liked the idea good job

Zammy says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:02pm

The "escaping from the bride" dream really made me laugh :D Nice one!

Bmanrules says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Very nice! Loved the graphics and the theme, shame it had no sound!

hbocao says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:18pm

Nice concept, but I think a little more of action or a clear goal would be great. Nice pixel art! It remind me of Bobby Is Going Home from Atari era (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oKm3JIv0iQ8).

Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:30am

Nice entry! Loved the mini-games and the graphics! But you should warn that it could harm people with epilepsy. Also, nowadays it's hard to convince someone to run an *.exe file, so maybe you should think about another version?

meszka says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 7:30pm

Some nice ideas. Has potential for a post-compo version if you come up with new scenes (maybe randomized for replayability) and some audio :)

naufr4g0 says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Really love the low-res graphics. It also needs more rooms and some music/sfx! :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]