August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

I only need ten more seconds

by anserran - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"Time for the exam is over, and you only need ten more seconds to finish. The teacher goes to you, to take away your exam. Use your partners to distract her and get more time to get an A."

I used libgdx as render engine, and an A* Java implementation by Giuseppe Scrivano, to calculate trajectories for the teacher. The rest of the code is mine.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#91Humor3.44
#112Innovation3.72
#233Theme3.51
#341Mood3.03
#356Overall3.26
#455Graphics3.05
#476Fun3.00
#904Audio1.60

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:26am

Ha this is great. Feels very RTS-y :)

HeroesGrave says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:51am

Nice

stepvhen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:02am

This is way harder than I think it should be, but definitely a good one. Great job.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:58am

Really cool concept. The progress made by clicking might be a little too slow, and the teacher might be a bit too fast. But it's still a fun game! :)

Ludipe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:59am

Very original and hard. Well done!

Ooya says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:49am

Nice game. Simple, and effective (and hard ^^ ). Great job ! ;)

DiaboloHunter says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:50am

Nice! I really enjoyed it :)

Rave Radbury says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:56am

Nice take on a strategy game. Very intense, everything felt down to the wire. A lot of clicking though, I would have preferred being able to use the keyboard for grade improvement.

marbu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:18pm

It's a fun an original concept, though it's quite hard! I would suggest reducing the speed of the teacher, or prolonging the duration of the distractions.

Otherwise good job!

Also I was curious because you used libgdx and see that you have a web version of it... running out of dropbox! Can I ask how did you make the export? As far as I know libgdx html5 export is made via GWT and the generated app needs to run on a servlet container, but if you have it on dropbop it has to be pure html/javascript.

michail says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:51pm

Nice game, once I figured out that I don't need to click repeatedly to get better grade it was easy :) Too bad there's no audio.

anserran says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:09pm

@marbu The default configuration you obtain from the gdx-setup is enough to obtain pure HTML5 and Javascript.

The only requests the game makes to the server are to get assets, and those are merely http gets, and any server can handle that, even Dropbox.

libgdx is awesome. I coded and debugged all my game in desktop, and once was ready, I just made the GWT export and the game was 100% working in HTML5, without any change.

timtipgames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:09pm

Nice one! Had to find out that clicking repeatedly is the key to getting better grades. I like the difficulty and the graphic style fits the game very well. Wish there were some sounds though :)

plancien says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:09pm

I've lived this same situation ! But without my classmates helping me and being expelled ;-)

panurge says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:14pm

This is one of my favourites so far. Really creative mechanic and I loved the challenging difficulty level. It seems simple at first but there is actually a good deal of strategy below the surface. Great work!

infernet89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Really nice entry! The sprite of the teacher is very cool, i loved the cartoon-style.

aquilicoco says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Nice game!

UnixXNova says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:14pm

Awsome game with a great idea but a bit hard i got a b

Foxtacy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:47pm

This would be PERFECT with sound and music!!!! :)

Darien says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Super, super hard. Fun idea, though! I think it might be better if, instead of having to spam-click on the student to raise the grade, that took place automatically and the player could focus on distracting the teacher.

Mago says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Cool game, with cool concept, a little too hard and too bad there is no audio.

bvanschooten says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:59pm

I like the concept! Clever use of the theme.

rincewind_cz says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:28am

Nice idea, but bit hard for me with touchpad. Good job

Sink says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:50am

Super fun! Simple idea, yet challenging in practice.

mollymus says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:00am

Hah! Funny concept! Wasn't able to get an A, but I still quite enjoyed it! Glad to find another libgdx game using GWT!

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 11:31pm

Really nice concept! Fun game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]